Bitcoin Forum
December 13, 2017, 12:26:05 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Guerilla mining farm help  (Read 553 times)
envaluecrypto
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
May 12, 2017, 09:17:51 AM
 #1

Hi all,
I need your help and opinion about a wild idea to create a mining farm from 10+ Dell Optiplex  PC's.
I have them in stock and I was wondering if I can just stick an GPU in them and connect a PSU for them independently ( used 7950's preferably, due to low price.)
Electricity is not a factor, so GPU's and PSU (if possible) is the only investment.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513124765
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513124765

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513124765
Reply with quote  #2

1513124765
Report to moderator
1513124765
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513124765

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513124765
Reply with quote  #2

1513124765
Report to moderator
antantti
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile
May 12, 2017, 09:52:32 AM
 #2

Risers help a lot, that way you only need to remove the sidepanel. I have seen old office desktops that mine happily with four gpu's.
envaluecrypto
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
May 12, 2017, 10:36:25 AM
 #3

Optiplexes don't have side panels, my question was:
1 PC - 1 GPU x 10
But with power supply being separete for the GPU's.
so i dont have to buy bigger PSU's per PC and just add one big one to power all 10 cards.
Vaccinus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
May 12, 2017, 10:50:21 AM
 #4

Optiplexes don't have side panels, my question was:
1 PC - 1 GPU x 10
But with power supply being separete for the GPU's.
so i dont have to buy bigger PSU's per PC and just add one big one to power all 10 cards.

what kind of gpu and cpu they have? if they don't have powerful gpu or cpu it's a waste of time and probably you will damage something, because with that case the cooling is not that good i think, more true now in summer

WarrEagle
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile
May 12, 2017, 11:42:34 AM
 #5

Optiplex has a top cover that slides off. Take it off, leave it off and mount a card and go to town. You can pickup up some server PSU's that will run 3 cards on 3 PC's. Make sure you only use the server PSU's for the 12V rails.

DELETED
WarrEagle
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile
May 12, 2017, 12:13:37 PM
 #6

That hot glue on the risers is a great idea. Going to have to incorporate that into my next rig build!

DELETED
envaluecrypto
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
May 17, 2017, 07:54:47 AM
 #7

Optiplex has a top cover that slides off. Take it off, leave it off and mount a card and go to town. You can pickup up some server PSU's that will run 3 cards on 3 PC's. Make sure you only use the server PSU's for the 12V rails.
Can you send me a link of example PSU? Have you tried mining like this?  Thanks for the reply, most useful one yet.
WarrEagle
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile
May 17, 2017, 11:30:29 AM
 #8

Optiplex has a top cover that slides off. Take it off, leave it off and mount a card and go to town. You can pickup up some server PSU's that will run 3 cards on 3 PC's. Make sure you only use the server PSU's for the 12V rails.
Can you send me a link of example PSU? Have you tried mining like this?  Thanks for the reply, most useful one yet.

Sure just search eBay. There are used server PSU's all over the place 1100 to 1400 watts for less than $50

here is an example http://www.ebay.com/itm/Cisco-UCSC-PSU2-1200-1200-Watt-AC-Pluggable-Power-Supply-Grade-B-Free-Shipping-/182534089563?hash=item2a7fe12b5b:g:fgYAAOSwJ7RYUxud

DELETED
envaluecrypto
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
May 17, 2017, 01:44:51 PM
 #9

Optiplex has a top cover that slides off. Take it off, leave it off and mount a card and go to town. You can pickup up some server PSU's that will run 3 cards on 3 PC's. Make sure you only use the server PSU's for the 12V rails.
Can you send me a link of example PSU? Have you tried mining like this?  Thanks for the reply, most useful one yet.

Sure just search eBay. There are used server PSU's all over the place 1100 to 1400 watts for less than $50

here is an example http://www.ebay.com/itm/Cisco-UCSC-PSU2-1200-1200-Watt-AC-Pluggable-Power-Supply-Grade-B-Free-Shipping-/182534089563?hash=item2a7fe12b5b:g:fgYAAOSwJ7RYUxud

Found only one 800W on local listing site (Customs are a b*tch in Serbia). Would that work? at least for 2-3 7950's or 280x's? And how do I power them, I see no 8pin cables lol.
Thanks WarrEagle, means a lot.
WarrEagle
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile
May 17, 2017, 05:48:02 PM
 #10

Optiplex has a top cover that slides off. Take it off, leave it off and mount a card and go to town. You can pickup up some server PSU's that will run 3 cards on 3 PC's. Make sure you only use the server PSU's for the 12V rails.
Can you send me a link of example PSU? Have you tried mining like this?  Thanks for the reply, most useful one yet.

Sure just search eBay. There are used server PSU's all over the place 1100 to 1400 watts for less than $50

here is an example http://www.ebay.com/itm/Cisco-UCSC-PSU2-1200-1200-Watt-AC-Pluggable-Power-Supply-Grade-B-Free-Shipping-/182534089563?hash=item2a7fe12b5b:g:fgYAAOSwJ7RYUxud

Found only one 800W on local listing site (Customs are a b*tch in Serbia). Would that work? at least for 2-3 7950's or 280x's? And how do I power them, I see no 8pin cables lol.
Thanks WarrEagle, means a lot.
you would need a break out board and cables. There is a guy on here that sells them, I can't remember his name. Being in Serbia is a challenge I would imagine.

DELETED
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!