Bitcoin Forum
September 21, 2018, 01:14:45 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining on AM4 Platform  (Read 1419 times)
Euro_Bucks
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 13, 2017, 03:50:55 AM
 #1

Hello everyone.

I am new to bitcoin mining and probably invest on a mining rig very soon.
My plan is to start with a pair of RX 470. First choice for the motherboard
was an H81 Pro BTC from Asrock.


http://i196.photobucket.com/albums/aa74/moab999/18402686_10155169099635772_3764744818764606556_n_zpsg0ixpj6z.jpg

Then there's this newly released BIOSTAR TB350-BTC which is an AM4 platform.
I have no idea about the 3-A concept. Is there an[/img]y advantage having a new
AM4 platform and a Ryzen CPU on your mining rig? Thanks.
1537492485
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537492485

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537492485
Reply with quote  #2

1537492485
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537492485
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537492485

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537492485
Reply with quote  #2

1537492485
Report to moderator
1537492485
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537492485

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537492485
Reply with quote  #2

1537492485
Report to moderator
1537492485
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537492485

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537492485
Reply with quote  #2

1537492485
Report to moderator
NiHaoMike
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
May 13, 2017, 04:55:03 AM
 #2

You'll only be able to "indirect mine" as in mine altcoins and convert to Bitcoin.

A Ryzen is overkill for a dedicated mining PC but it would make sense if you have other uses.

I use cryptocurrency and solar power to help my best friend Naomi Wu... And I'm proud of it!
Unacceptable
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212
Merit: 1001



View Profile
May 13, 2017, 05:31:02 AM
 #3

All that is needed is a dual core CPU (unless your going to mine with the CPU),4 gigs mediocre ram for the mobo,& a mobo with as many slots for vid cards as your planning to use.

I use old PCs with at least one 16x PCIE slot that I get for free,but usually have another 1x slot so I can get 2 cards mining for just the cost of new cards & new PSU.

And I also use old hard drives,about 40 gig or more is enough,if you going to hold coin wallets you'll need a 120 or bigger just in case.

You don't have to have a mobo with 6 or 7 card slots  Wink

"If you run into an asshole in the morning, you ran into an asshole. If you run into assholes all day long, you are the asshole."  -Raylan Givens
Got GOXXED ?? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KiqRpPiJAU&feature=youtu.be
"An ASIC being late is perfectly normal, predictable, and legal..."Hashfast & BFL slogan Smiley
R0mi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 305
Merit: 148

Theranos Coin - IoT + micro-blood arrays = Moon!


View Profile
July 23, 2017, 02:57:02 PM
 #4

You'll only be able to "indirect mine" as in mine altcoins and convert to Bitcoin.

A Ryzen is overkill for a dedicated mining PC but it would make sense if you have other uses.

I am not so sure.  I put together an X370 rig just to see.  With a Ryzen 7 you can mine Monero + your GPUs can mine away as well.

Two advantages:  using new cards like the 1080 Ti, I see better performance, more like 3.5 Sol/W than 3.x <lower> on an 1150 board using the exact same GPUs.  Nothing changed but the motherboard/CPU.

Also, there is a speed bump up that I notice when using the CPU to mine; that is, the GPU hash rates jumps up a little bit when mining Zcash.

And if you get the 65 watt Ryzen, when the motherboard is just idling (not mining) you'll see right away that the power draw is a bit less.

Biggest drawback to Ryzen is installing Windows 10.  If you get an old OEM disk with Win10 64-bit build 1507, for example, constant errors and freezes.  Ryzen does not become stable until Win10 build 1511 or higher.  But good luck using "Windows Update Manager" to get there.  I would say, get at least to 1511 or build 16xx, and then  stop there and mine.

Walton Chain CEO Mo' Bling: "Walton Chain will be the Qualcomm + Cisco in the blockchain industry, the ‘Google’ of the Blockchain."  It's December 1999, do you know how your shitcoin holdings are doing?  Magic 8 ball market analysis: www.doiownashitcoin.com
Cereberus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 23, 2017, 04:42:13 PM
 #5

The only advantage I see mining on a new platform like the AMD AM4 is, you will get a bit more hashrate than mining with the same devices in old generation motherboards. I have an example from myself, Mining with a 1050 ti on LGA 1150 board gave me barely 12 Mhash in Ethereum and mining with it on a LGA 1151 board gave me almost 15 Mhash.




    ██    ██    ██    ██
  ██    ██    ██    ██
██    ██    ██    ██
              ██    ██
            ██    ██
          ██    ██
        ██    ██
      ██    ██       
    ██    ██    ██    ██
  ██    ██    ██    ██
██    ██    ██    ██
TRADEPLAYZ
█ 
█ 
█     
█  █
█  █ 
█  █ 
█  █
    █  █
  █  █
  █  █
        █
    █
      █   
TOURNAMENT PVP SYSTEM
  FACEBOOK |  TWITTER  |  LINKEDIN  |  TELEGRAM  |  GITHUB  |  ANN  | INSTAGRAM 

█ 
█ 
█     
█  █
█  █ 
█  █ 
█  █
    █  █
  █  █
  █  █
        █
    █
      █   

                     █▄
                     ████▄
                     ██████▄
                     ████████▄
                     ██████████▄
                     ████████████▄
                     ██████████████▄
                     ███████████████
                     ██████████████▀
                     ████████████▀
                     ██████████▀
                     ████████▀
                     ██████▀
                     ████▀
                     █
█▀
GOOGLE PLAY

                            ▄█████████████▄
                            ███████████████
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            ██████▀▀▀██████
                             ▀████▄▄▄▄████▀
  APPSTORE
R0mi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 305
Merit: 148

Theranos Coin - IoT + micro-blood arrays = Moon!


View Profile
July 24, 2017, 04:34:00 AM
 #6

The only advantage I see mining on a new platform like the AMD AM4 is, you will get a bit more hashrate than mining with the same devices in old generation motherboards. I have an example from myself, Mining with a 1050 ti on LGA 1150 board gave me barely 12 Mhash in Ethereum and mining with it on a LGA 1151 board gave me almost 15 Mhash.

You are correct.  1080 Ti's on my 1150, couldn't really do better than 3.0x Sol/w.  I am now getting 3.6+ Sol/w.

And the Ryzen is a decent CPU miner for the power it uses.  Not a huge difference, but enough to matter.

Walton Chain CEO Mo' Bling: "Walton Chain will be the Qualcomm + Cisco in the blockchain industry, the ‘Google’ of the Blockchain."  It's December 1999, do you know how your shitcoin holdings are doing?  Magic 8 ball market analysis: www.doiownashitcoin.com
Set Ready Go
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 185
Merit: 13


View Profile
November 16, 2017, 05:39:06 PM
 #7

Bump.

I was thinking of getting a ASUS ROG Strix B350-F Gaming, Socket-AM4   for mining and a r5 1600 cpu.  Has any of you guys managed to get 6+ gpus to work with this motherboard,  "tank n spank"  or more complicated?
szafa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


View Profile
November 16, 2017, 05:56:32 PM
 #8

Ryzen is silent with new cpu cooler.I only have one gpu.
ysakay
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 259


View Profile WWW
December 16, 2017, 06:34:33 PM
 #9

Bump.

I was thinking of getting a ASUS ROG Strix B350-F Gaming, Socket-AM4   for mining and a r5 1600 cpu.  Has any of you guys managed to get 6+ gpus to work with this motherboard,  "tank n spank"  or more complicated?

I have it too. It's a bad mobo for mining. I tried to five gpus. It worked but low hs. I disabled all usb,sata,hd audi etc but nothing changed.

Which card should i buy for mining with 5-6 gpus?

I have;
- Ryzen 7 1800x
- 5x Sapphire 580 Spec
- 8 Gb ram
- 1x Evga g3 750,1x thermaltake plat 1200
- and i use a nvme disk on m2 slot. Maybe it's a problem. I'll try on a hdd soon.

█▌                     ▐█
██▌                   ▐██
█▐█▌                 ▐█▌█
█ ▐█▌               ▐█▌ █
█  ▐█▌             ▐█▌  █
█   ▐█▌           ▐█▌   █
█    ▐█▌         ▐█▌    █
█     ▐█▌       ▐█▌     █
█      ▐█▌     ▐█▌      █
▀███████████████████████▀
  ▀█▄   ▐█▌   ▐█▌   ▄█▀
    ▀█▄  ▐█▌ ▐█▌  ▄█▀
      ▀█▄ ▐█ █▌ ▄█▀
        ▀█▄▐█▌▄█▀
          ▀███▀
.
VOLENTIX
Decentralized Change
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬  ANN
.
                ▄█████▄▄   
█▄             ████████████▀
████▄         █████████████▀
▀████████▄▄   ████████████
▄▄████████████████████████
 █████████████████████████
 ▀███████████████████████
   █████████████████████
    ▀█████████████████▀
      ▄█████████████▀
▄▄███████████████▀
   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
.
                      ▄▄████
                ▄▄▄████████▌
          ▄▄▄███████▀▄█████
     ▄▄█████████▀▀ ▄██████▌
▄▄███████████▀  ▄█████████
 ▀▀▀█████▀    ▄██████████▌
       ██   █████████████
        █▄ █████████████▌
        ▐█▄███▀▀████████
         ███▀    ▀▀████▌
                    ▀▀█























▄▄███████████▄▄
▄█▀▀           ▀▀█▄
▄█    █       █    █▄
█▌    ██     ██    ▐█
█▌    █ █   █ █    ▐█
█▌    █  █ █  █    ▐█
█▌    ▀█▀▀█▀▀█▀    ▐█
▀█      ▀███▀      █▀
▀█▄▄           ▄▄█▀
▀▀███████████▀▀
.
BETA TESTER
Designed by Zpectrum
sundownz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 510


View Profile WWW
December 16, 2017, 06:59:03 PM
 #10

Don't forget... Ryzen is a killer Cryptonight miner! I have a 1700X slightly overclocked in my home office PC and I get 600 H/S from it.

For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
Branko
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 188


Join FlipNpik Telegram : t.me/flipnpikico


View Profile
December 16, 2017, 07:28:25 PM
 #11

Also, there are AM4 CPUs like this one:

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=9SIA2F865U5101

QuintLeo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1022


View Profile
December 16, 2017, 09:44:18 PM
 #12

Ryzen FOR THE COST isn't all that great at Cryptonote (Monero) mining.

 I see 300+ hash out of my old FX 8320e CPUs that cost about a QUARTER of those Ryzen 1700X, and my 8370 pulls close to 400 hash at righr around a THIRD of the cost.
 Unfortunately, AM3/AM3+ motherboards that are viable for riser rigs seem to pretty much all have gone out of production and are hard to find any more....



I'm no longer legendary just in my own mind!
Like something I said? Donations gratefully accepted. LYLnTKvLefz9izJFUvEGQEZzSkz34b3N6U (Litecoin)
1GYbjMTPdCuV7dci3iCUiaRrcNuaiQrVYY (Bitcoin)
Branko
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 188


Join FlipNpik Telegram : t.me/flipnpikico


View Profile
December 16, 2017, 10:07:05 PM
 #13

Ryzen FOR THE COST isn't all that great at Cryptonote (Monero) mining.

 I see 300+ hash out of my old FX 8320e CPUs that cost about a QUARTER of those Ryzen 1700X, and my 8370 pulls close to 400 hash at righr around a THIRD of the cost.
 Unfortunately, AM3/AM3+ motherboards that are viable for riser rigs seem to pretty much all have gone out of production and are hard to find any more....





They also use 3 times more power so added bonus of 8370 is that it can heat your room, too

QuintLeo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1022


View Profile
December 17, 2017, 06:12:23 PM
 #14

Ryzen 1700x when mining Monero is going to use MORE power than the 8320e, though less than the 8370 - even if you believe AMD's "quite a bit lower than REAL usage" TDP ratings for the high-end Ryzen CPUs.

 My Ryzen 1700 (NO X) which is a "low power" model uses right about the SAME power as the 8320e - though it does push out 100 more hash or so for that power usage.


I'm no longer legendary just in my own mind!
Like something I said? Donations gratefully accepted. LYLnTKvLefz9izJFUvEGQEZzSkz34b3N6U (Litecoin)
1GYbjMTPdCuV7dci3iCUiaRrcNuaiQrVYY (Bitcoin)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!