Bitcoin Forum
January 16, 2018, 05:57:11 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining on AM4 Platform  (Read 1325 times)
Euro_Bucks
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
May 13, 2017, 03:50:55 AM
 #1

Hello everyone.

I am new to bitcoin mining and probably invest on a mining rig very soon.
My plan is to start with a pair of RX 470. First choice for the motherboard
was an H81 Pro BTC from Asrock.


http://i196.photobucket.com/albums/aa74/moab999/18402686_10155169099635772_3764744818764606556_n_zpsg0ixpj6z.jpg

Then there's this newly released BIOSTAR TB350-BTC which is an AM4 platform.
I have no idea about the 3-A concept. Is there an[/img]y advantage having a new
AM4 platform and a Ryzen CPU on your mining rig? Thanks.
1516125431
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516125431

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516125431
Reply with quote  #2

1516125431
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1516125431
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516125431

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516125431
Reply with quote  #2

1516125431
Report to moderator
1516125431
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516125431

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516125431
Reply with quote  #2

1516125431
Report to moderator
1516125431
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516125431

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516125431
Reply with quote  #2

1516125431
Report to moderator
NiHaoMike
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile WWW
May 13, 2017, 04:55:03 AM
 #2

You'll only be able to "indirect mine" as in mine altcoins and convert to Bitcoin.

A Ryzen is overkill for a dedicated mining PC but it would make sense if you have other uses.

I use cryptocurrency and solar power to help my best friend Naomi Wu... And I'm proud of it!
Unacceptable
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212



View Profile
May 13, 2017, 05:31:02 AM
 #3

All that is needed is a dual core CPU (unless your going to mine with the CPU),4 gigs mediocre ram for the mobo,& a mobo with as many slots for vid cards as your planning to use.

I use old PCs with at least one 16x PCIE slot that I get for free,but usually have another 1x slot so I can get 2 cards mining for just the cost of new cards & new PSU.

And I also use old hard drives,about 40 gig or more is enough,if you going to hold coin wallets you'll need a 120 or bigger just in case.

You don't have to have a mobo with 6 or 7 card slots  Wink

"If you run into an asshole in the morning, you ran into an asshole. If you run into assholes all day long, you are the asshole."  -Raylan Givens
Got GOXXED ?? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KiqRpPiJAU&feature=youtu.be
"An ASIC being late is perfectly normal, predictable, and legal..."Hashfast & BFL slogan Smiley
R0mi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 214

What would BitCoin Jesus do?


View Profile WWW
July 23, 2017, 02:57:02 PM
 #4

You'll only be able to "indirect mine" as in mine altcoins and convert to Bitcoin.

A Ryzen is overkill for a dedicated mining PC but it would make sense if you have other uses.

I am not so sure.  I put together an X370 rig just to see.  With a Ryzen 7 you can mine Monero + your GPUs can mine away as well.

Two advantages:  using new cards like the 1080 Ti, I see better performance, more like 3.5 Sol/W than 3.x <lower> on an 1150 board using the exact same GPUs.  Nothing changed but the motherboard/CPU.

Also, there is a speed bump up that I notice when using the CPU to mine; that is, the GPU hash rates jumps up a little bit when mining Zcash.

And if you get the 65 watt Ryzen, when the motherboard is just idling (not mining) you'll see right away that the power draw is a bit less.

Biggest drawback to Ryzen is installing Windows 10.  If you get an old OEM disk with Win10 64-bit build 1507, for example, constant errors and freezes.  Ryzen does not become stable until Win10 build 1511 or higher.  But good luck using "Windows Update Manager" to get there.  I would say, get at least to 1511 or build 16xx, and then  stop there and mine.

Cereberus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 882



View Profile
July 23, 2017, 04:42:13 PM
 #5

The only advantage I see mining on a new platform like the AMD AM4 is, you will get a bit more hashrate than mining with the same devices in old generation motherboards. I have an example from myself, Mining with a 1050 ti on LGA 1150 board gave me barely 12 Mhash in Ethereum and mining with it on a LGA 1151 board gave me almost 15 Mhash.

███████████████████████▄▄▄
████████████████████████████▄
██████████████████████████████▄
████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████
█████████████▀▀███████████████████
█████████████    ▀▀███████████████▄
██████               ▀▀████████████
█                        ██████████
                     ▄▄████████████
         ████    ▄▄███████████████▀
      ███████▄▄███████████████████
     ████████████████████████████▀
    ████████████████████████████
   ████████████████████████████
   ████████████████████████████
   █████████████████████████████
   ██████████████████████████████
    ██████████████████████████████
     ██████████████████████████████

Refereum
███
███
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
███
███
███
███
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
███
███
R0mi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 214

What would BitCoin Jesus do?


View Profile WWW
July 24, 2017, 04:34:00 AM
 #6

The only advantage I see mining on a new platform like the AMD AM4 is, you will get a bit more hashrate than mining with the same devices in old generation motherboards. I have an example from myself, Mining with a 1050 ti on LGA 1150 board gave me barely 12 Mhash in Ethereum and mining with it on a LGA 1151 board gave me almost 15 Mhash.

You are correct.  1080 Ti's on my 1150, couldn't really do better than 3.0x Sol/w.  I am now getting 3.6+ Sol/w.

And the Ryzen is a decent CPU miner for the power it uses.  Not a huge difference, but enough to matter.

Set Ready Go
Member
**
Online Online

Activity: 65


View Profile
November 16, 2017, 05:39:06 PM
 #7

Bump.

I was thinking of getting a ASUS ROG Strix B350-F Gaming, Socket-AM4   for mining and a r5 1600 cpu.  Has any of you guys managed to get 6+ gpus to work with this motherboard,  "tank n spank"  or more complicated?
szafa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


★ Benebit ICO. Join NOW ★


View Profile
November 16, 2017, 05:56:32 PM
 #8

Ryzen is silent with new cpu cooler.I only have one gpu.


████████████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████████████
███_________ _██████___________________█████████
██_____________████_______________________██████
██_____________████________________________█████
███___________██████_________________________███
████████████████████████████████____________████
██████████████████████████████████________ _████
██████████████████████████████████________██████
█████████████████████████████████_________██████
███████████████████████████████__________███████
██████______██████_________________________█████
█████________████___________________________████
█████_______ ████____________________________███
██████______██████___________________________███
████████████████████████████████████________████
█████████████████████████████████████_______████
█████████████████████████████████████________███
█████████████████████████████████████________███
████████████████████████████████████________████
███████____________________________________█████
██████_____________________________________█████
██████____________________________________██████
████████████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████████████
Benebit
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
██████
ysakay
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238



View Profile
December 16, 2017, 06:34:33 PM
 #9

Bump.

I was thinking of getting a ASUS ROG Strix B350-F Gaming, Socket-AM4   for mining and a r5 1600 cpu.  Has any of you guys managed to get 6+ gpus to work with this motherboard,  "tank n spank"  or more complicated?

I have it too. It's a bad mobo for mining. I tried to five gpus. It worked but low hs. I disabled all usb,sata,hd audi etc but nothing changed.

Which card should i buy for mining with 5-6 gpus?

I have;
- Ryzen 7 1800x
- 5x Sapphire 580 Spec
- 8 Gb ram
- 1x Evga g3 750,1x thermaltake plat 1200
- and i use a nvme disk on m2 slot. Maybe it's a problem. I'll try on a hdd soon.

sundownz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


View Profile
December 16, 2017, 06:59:03 PM
 #10

Don't forget... Ryzen is a killer Cryptonight miner! I have a 1700X slightly overclocked in my home office PC and I get 600 H/S from it.
Branko
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


Tokens That Store Virtual Energy


View Profile
December 16, 2017, 07:28:25 PM
 #11

Also, there are AM4 CPUs like this one:

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=9SIA2F865U5101

■  RESTART ENERGY 
RED MWAT Token DEMOCRATIZING ENERGY
Facebook Twitter Telegram AnnouncementJoin our Token Sale
QuintLeo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
December 16, 2017, 09:44:18 PM
 #12

Ryzen FOR THE COST isn't all that great at Cryptonote (Monero) mining.

 I see 300+ hash out of my old FX 8320e CPUs that cost about a QUARTER of those Ryzen 1700X, and my 8370 pulls close to 400 hash at righr around a THIRD of the cost.
 Unfortunately, AM3/AM3+ motherboards that are viable for riser rigs seem to pretty much all have gone out of production and are hard to find any more....


Branko
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


Tokens That Store Virtual Energy


View Profile
December 16, 2017, 10:07:05 PM
 #13

Ryzen FOR THE COST isn't all that great at Cryptonote (Monero) mining.

 I see 300+ hash out of my old FX 8320e CPUs that cost about a QUARTER of those Ryzen 1700X, and my 8370 pulls close to 400 hash at righr around a THIRD of the cost.
 Unfortunately, AM3/AM3+ motherboards that are viable for riser rigs seem to pretty much all have gone out of production and are hard to find any more....





They also use 3 times more power so added bonus of 8370 is that it can heat your room, too

■  RESTART ENERGY 
RED MWAT Token DEMOCRATIZING ENERGY
Facebook Twitter Telegram AnnouncementJoin our Token Sale
QuintLeo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
December 17, 2017, 06:12:23 PM
 #14

Ryzen 1700x when mining Monero is going to use MORE power than the 8320e, though less than the 8370 - even if you believe AMD's "quite a bit lower than REAL usage" TDP ratings for the high-end Ryzen CPUs.

 My Ryzen 1700 (NO X) which is a "low power" model uses right about the SAME power as the 8320e - though it does push out 100 more hash or so for that power usage.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!