Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 09:00:27 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: how can you tell if a motherboard supports 2x gpu for mining?  (Read 1052 times)
newguy05
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 517


View Profile
June 18, 2011, 10:56:42 PM
 #1

Hi, what is the feature/things to look for in a motherboard to make sure it supports 2x 5950 card for mining without additional hardwarw/changes.  I want to get the cheapest you can buy but confused with all the spec pciex16 vs pciex8 etc...   

Basically if a motherboard has 2x pcie slot (doesnt matter if x16 or x8) it will support 2x 5950?   does they need to be certain distance apart?

thanks
1481360427
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481360427

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481360427
Reply with quote  #2

1481360427
Report to moderator
1481360427
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481360427

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481360427
Reply with quote  #2

1481360427
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481360427
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481360427

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481360427
Reply with quote  #2

1481360427
Report to moderator
1481360427
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481360427

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481360427
Reply with quote  #2

1481360427
Report to moderator
1481360427
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481360427

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481360427
Reply with quote  #2

1481360427
Report to moderator
newguy05
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 517


View Profile
June 18, 2011, 11:36:59 PM
 #2

I did some more research and this is what I come up with,  can someone please tell me if this will work or if there are more efficient setups? setting up 2x rigs.  I know memory/hdd etc..are missing i have those already.  Thanks

2  AMD Sempron 140 Sargas 2.7GHz Socket AM3 45W Single-Core Processor SDX140HBGQBOX    $75.98    ($37.99 each)
2   ASRock M3A770DE AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD Motherboard    $119.98    ($59.99 each)
4  XFX HD-695X-ZNFC Radeon HD 6950 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card with Eyefinity    $919.96    ($229.99 each)
2  Antec EarthWatts EA750 750W Continuous Power ATX12V version 2.3 SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC "compatible with Core i7/Core i5" Power Supply   $159.98   ($79.99 each)
RyNinDaCleM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Legen -wait for it- dary


View Profile
June 20, 2011, 07:05:46 AM
 #3

You can use ANY PCI-e slot (or PCI for that matter)! Wink You can get adapters here>http://www.cablesaurus.com/
That said, if you don't mind having dangling cards you could cut a CPU, MoBo, and both PSUs off.
Get one of these>http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817371039
And you'll be set for about $60 savings after MIR!


Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!