Bitcoin Forum
August 15, 2018, 12:04:25 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How can I use a server power supply for mining?  (Read 1725 times)
iamnoobplzhelp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 17, 2017, 05:23:48 PM
 #1

I've built 3 rigs now using conventional power supplies and they all work great. Some friends have asked me to build some for them, so I am looking into other options.

Searching Newegg, I came across this power supply:
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA7GT5NK5071
I am curious as to how this would hook up. I currently use 2x 700W power supplies and use a 24-pin splitter, which signals the 2nd power supply to turn on when the first is turned on. How would this power supply know when to turn on? I don't see any way to connect it via the traditional 24-pin splitter.

Also, it looks like it fits into a server case.

I am intrigued by this user's build using a Rosewill server case.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1859472.0

Keeping it enclosed would certainly be beneficial, especially if I was helping someone else build a rig. It could keep the components protected.

Could I use a traditional ~400w power supply for motherboard + SSD and then use the above mentioned power supply for the mining cards? How would that work? Anyone have experience with those types of power supplies?
1534291465
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534291465

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534291465
Reply with quote  #2

1534291465
Report to moderator
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. Server-assisted clients like blockchain.info rely on centralized servers to do their network verification for them. Although the server can't steal the client's bitcoins directly, it can easily execute double-spending-style attacks against the client.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534291465
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534291465

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534291465
Reply with quote  #2

1534291465
Report to moderator
1534291465
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534291465

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534291465
Reply with quote  #2

1534291465
Report to moderator
1534291465
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534291465

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534291465
Reply with quote  #2

1534291465
Report to moderator
Elder III
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 268


View Profile
May 17, 2017, 05:54:43 PM
 #2

You would need to turn them on separately, when we had that setup we turned the atx psu on first and then the server psu after a few seconds. A better option (imo) would be an adapter like this --- http://www.add2psu.com/ --- for <$20 on Amazon or elsewhere on the web to link both PSUs together. You would need a custom cable for that, which can be made by a member on these forums (I have to look up the name). I think this adapter would work too, but I have not tried it, so get someone to verify that before using one... https://www.amazon.com/Pin-ATX-PCI-Express-Adapter/dp/B018B9ACA4 --- Wink



********* the user I was thinking of is Cryptowatch420, you can see the cables he made in order to use only a server PSU about halfway down the page on this thread ___ https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1806061.660
iamnoobplzhelp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 17, 2017, 08:26:32 PM
 #3

Thanks! I'll take a look at that. It's not an ideal solution, but the price is very tempting.

Would it be a bad idea to just leave that PSU on while the other one was rebooting?
toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 17, 2017, 09:06:08 PM
 #4

either buy one of these kits or peace one to gather by looking at the parts then search on ebay or Amazon . I never seem to have cash when they have them in stock  so i ll buy my own parts and put a kit to gather  and pally cost me less .


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1864539.0

For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
VoskCoin
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 490
Merit: 313


YouTube.com/VoskCoin


View Profile WWW
May 17, 2017, 10:08:24 PM
 #5

I'm interested as well, subbed for your results!

Check out my Crypto YouTube channel
https://www.youtube.com/VoskCoin
If you enjoy my content click Subscribe
jMEGA
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 18, 2017, 12:39:50 AM
 #6

I'm using that same power supply to power the cards in my rig. It is ok to leave it on while your system reboots.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!