Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 10:40:50 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Linux overclocking options?  (Read 1634 times)
gyzer
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 04:40:31 AM
 #1

I just wanted to make sure about this; the only way to ovetclock in Linux is either through aticinfig or its front end GUIs orby flashing the BIOS on the cards?

I was using windows before and I was getting my 5830sat around 290 to 300. I had to move to Linux cause of stability issues and now I'm running at 278 and 260.

If RBE or something similar is my only choice is the risk worth it? Are there any other options?
1480934450
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934450

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934450
Reply with quote  #2

1480934450
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480934450
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934450

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934450
Reply with quote  #2

1480934450
Report to moderator
1480934450
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934450

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934450
Reply with quote  #2

1480934450
Report to moderator
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
June 19, 2011, 05:08:54 AM
 #2

AMDOverdriveCtrl
gyzer
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 05:50:55 AM
 #3

From what I've seen that's just a front end GUI for aticonfig. I've been able to underclock the ram but my cards wont overclock the GPUs over 900 for my xfx 5830 and 875 for my sapphire 5830. Am I missing something here?
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
June 19, 2011, 06:04:20 AM
 #4

From what I've seen that's just a front end GUI for aticonfig. I've been able to underclock the ram but my cards wont overclock the GPUs over 900 for my xfx 5830 and 875 for my sapphire 5830. Am I missing something here?

No, AMDOverdriveCtrl is a front end for the AMD ADL library (which I suspect is the same one aticonfig uses). If your card bios is limited no tool in linux will help you. You need to flash the bios if you want to go further. And to do that you need to do it in windows. Once the card is flashed you can go back to linux.
hollajandro
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 06:06:04 AM
 #5

Does anyone know if you can edit the bios for the Sapphire Xtreme 5850 with different clock speeds and voltages? I think I remember reading that you couldn't do this. I can't recall though.
gyzer
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 05:06:06 PM
 #6

I have been told that it is very dangerous to flash the BIOS. Is that true? Is there anything I can do to take precautions in limiting the possibility of bricking a card?
gyzer
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 11:15:10 PM
 #7

I have been told that it is very dangerous to flash the BIOS. Is that true? Is there anything I can do to take precautions in limiting the possibility of bricking a card?

1. dump the BIOS! If something goes wrong you can just reflash it.

2. One card at a time! If something goes wrong here, use the dumped BIOS from 1. to bring it back to life.

Dump = Backup?

I'm looking to just allow the cards to be overclocked by aticonfig up to 995. I'm not looking to mess with voltage. I assume doing that will be safer then messing with voltage.
PC Surgeon
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 20, 2011, 12:30:40 AM
 #8

Yeah I tried to use Radeon BIOS Editor, ATIFlash on a DOS bootable flash drive but when I run the command "ATIFlash -p 0 bios0.rom" it states the file does not exist.  Undecided

Hmmm maybe I should be typing "ATIFlash -p 0 bios0.bin"?

Nope, I needed to drop the bin to win. Should read "ATIFlash -p 0 filename". Works perfectly fine now. Afterburner opens with correct clocks! Linux here I come!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!