Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2020, 06:26:24 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Msi z270 pro 4g decoding enabled problem & 3/6 cards working when disabled  (Read 4778 times)
Aerial
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 24, 2017, 09:15:00 AM
Last edit: May 25, 2017, 09:20:39 AM by Aerial
 #1

Hi everyone,

I just bought 6x Sapphire Nitro RX580 4GB cards and I just can't seem to run them all when installing the latest AMD driver. After searching on the internet, I saw that someone copied files from 16.x.x to the latest 17.x version and it seemed that it worked for him. After trying it myself, I still could use only 3 of the 6. Please let me know if you have found a fix for this. I am running Windows 10 x64.

http://imgur.com/uWp4ihP
http://imgur.com/YtKueEt
http://imgur.com/p5jjKTg

Thanks!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Aerial
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 25, 2017, 07:41:16 AM
 #2

Could it be my motherboard? I changed the riser cables to see if it changes from GPUs and I saw that it made difference. GPU2 that was spinning earlier didn't spin anymore and GPU3 that did not spin now started spinning. So could it be that my motherboard needs more power?

This is my motherboard: MSI Z270-A PRO Intel Z270 and I bought it from this link:
https://www.mindfactory.de/product_info.php/MSI-Z270-A-PRO-Intel-Z270-So-1151-Dual-Channel-DDR-ATX-Retail_1136691.html

I know that my H81 BTC PRO R2.0 motherboard needed extra power using molex cables from 2 sides, but this motherboard doesn't has any. I really hope that someone can help me here, cause it's starting to frustrate me now.
Jamievs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 25, 2017, 07:44:54 AM
 #3

Could it be my motherboard? I changed the riser cables to see if it changes from GPUs and I saw that it made difference. GPU2 that was spinning earlier didn't spin anymore and GPU3 that did not spin now started spinning. So could it be that my motherboard needs more power?

This is my motherboard: MSI Z270-A PRO Intel Z270 and I bought it from this link:
https://www.mindfactory.de/product_info.php/MSI-Z270-A-PRO-Intel-Z270-So-1151-Dual-Channel-DDR-ATX-Retail_1136691.html

I know that my H81 BTC PRO R2.0 motherboard needed extra power using molex cables from 2 sides, but this motherboard doesn't has any. I really hope that someone can help me here, cause it's starting to frustrate me now.

You have to change bios settings with the Z*70 mobo's. Don't worry about the power. I use the H81 and I dont have the molex adapters attached (They get fueled trough the powered risers).


This is for the Z170, I am sure there is a guide like this for the Z270 but I cant seem to find it quickly; https://forum.z.cash/t/msi-z170-7-gpu-bios-setting-step-by-step/14473
Aerial
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 25, 2017, 07:52:23 AM
 #4

Could it be my motherboard? I changed the riser cables to see if it changes from GPUs and I saw that it made difference. GPU2 that was spinning earlier didn't spin anymore and GPU3 that did not spin now started spinning. So could it be that my motherboard needs more power?

This is my motherboard: MSI Z270-A PRO Intel Z270 and I bought it from this link:
https://www.mindfactory.de/product_info.php/MSI-Z270-A-PRO-Intel-Z270-So-1151-Dual-Channel-DDR-ATX-Retail_1136691.html

I know that my H81 BTC PRO R2.0 motherboard needed extra power using molex cables from 2 sides, but this motherboard doesn't has any. I really hope that someone can help me here, cause it's starting to frustrate me now.

You have to change bios settings with the Z*70 mobo's. Don't worry about the power. I use the H81 and I dont have the molex adapters attached (They get fueled trough the powered risers).


This is for the Z170, I am sure there is a guide like this for the Z270 but I cant seem to find it quickly; https://forum.z.cash/t/msi-z170-7-gpu-bios-setting-step-by-step/14473

Well, I have successfully flashed the latest bios mod for my mobo, but it seems that it didn't make any difference. I am going to try to change the settings and reboot the computer. Hopefully it will start working. I will keep you in touch and thanks!
Aerial
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 25, 2017, 09:08:41 AM
 #5

Ok, so I tried to change the PCI settings to enable 4 or more GPUs, but it seems that every time when I boot my computer, I get to see a blank screen after POST. No Windows logo and I also tried to reinstall Windows, but it somehow crashes I think... Any suggestions? Should I change my bios to an older version or did I miss something?

http://imgur.com/ACwmPpm


Edit:

Oh wow! I didn't know that multiple people have the same problem:
https://forum.z.cash/t/msi-z270-pro-4g-decoding-enabled-problem/15921

Is there no solution to this??
LMN0PY
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 25, 2017, 05:27:42 PM
 #6

Try this:
Essentially the 4g decoding enabled in BIOS refers to all drives, aka HDDs as well. Make sure your boot drive isn't MBR but formatted in GPT (UEIF). This will be more prevalent in older machines
No more black screen and quick boot up after changing to GPT.
vip2017
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 25, 2017, 06:26:46 PM
 #7

i have a asus prime Z270(with 7 GPUs) I also had the same problem.

try this:
must have windows 10 installed in UEFI Mode
update motherboards BIOS to the latest version and enabled 4G decoding.
if you already have windows 10 and drivers installed use DDU to uninstall AMD drivers.
now install any drivers 17.1.1 or any up to drivers 17.5.1.
Turn off your pc.

Install one video card at a time and Run atikmdag-patcher.exe.
Download the Patcher:  Pixel Clock patcher: https://www.monitortests.com/forum/Thread-AMD-ATI-Pixel-Clock-Patcher
If all limits are found, click "Yes" to patch and sign. If a limit is not found or if multiple matches are found, the patcher needs to be updated.
Reboot.

When you have done all the cards one by one, turn off your pc. and install all the cards.
Aerial
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 25, 2017, 11:12:09 PM
 #8

i have a asus prime Z270(with 7 GPUs) I also had the same problem.

try this:
must have windows 10 installed in UEFI Mode
update motherboards BIOS to the latest version and enabled 4G decoding.
if you already have windows 10 and drivers installed use DDU to uninstall AMD drivers.
now install any drivers 17.1.1 or any up to drivers 17.5.1.
Turn off your pc.

Install one video card at a time and Run atikmdag-patcher.exe.
Download the Patcher:  Pixel Clock patcher: https://www.monitortests.com/forum/Thread-AMD-ATI-Pixel-Clock-Patcher
If all limits are found, click "Yes" to patch and sign. If a limit is not found or if multiple matches are found, the patcher needs to be updated.
Reboot.

When you have done all the cards one by one, turn off your pc. and install all the cards.

Thank you so much man! I finally solved it!

What I did was:

1. Flashed my bios with the latest rom
2. changed bios settings (enable UEFI mode)
3. run a new windows setup (cleaned and converted ssd to gpt before the installation)
4. installed latest amd drivers (patch wasn't needed!)
5. went back to the bios settings and enabled 4G decoding and done!
dddrgonzooo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 26, 2017, 04:24:46 AM
 #9

i have a asus prime Z270(with 7 GPUs) I also had the same problem.

try this:
must have windows 10 installed in UEFI Mode
update motherboards BIOS to the latest version and enabled 4G decoding.
if you already have windows 10 and drivers installed use DDU to uninstall AMD drivers.
now install any drivers 17.1.1 or any up to drivers 17.5.1.
Turn off your pc.

Install one video card at a time and Run atikmdag-patcher.exe.
Download the Patcher:  Pixel Clock patcher: https://www.monitortests.com/forum/Thread-AMD-ATI-Pixel-Clock-Patcher
If all limits are found, click "Yes" to patch and sign. If a limit is not found or if multiple matches are found, the patcher needs to be updated.
Reboot.

When you have done all the cards one by one, turn off your pc. and install all the cards.

This worked perfectly for me with the 17.5.1 drivers and an asus prime z270-a. Thank for posting!
rockingpg0
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 04, 2017, 04:55:33 AM
 #10



Thank you so much man! I finally solved it!

What I did was:

1. Flashed my bios with the latest rom
2. changed bios settings (enable UEFI mode)
3. run a new windows setup (cleaned and converted ssd to gpt before the installation)
4. installed latest amd drivers (patch wasn't needed!)
5. went back to the bios settings and enabled 4G decoding and done!

hey buddy, I'm having the same issue with same cards and same mother... I tried your steps but it ends up with windows not load up and crashes when I use 6 cards at same time with 4g setting enable.. windows loads in 5 cards but still having that 5th card not working... 4 cards windows load and 4 cards working good.

I skipped the installing new windows step and converted my ssd to gpt then turning on UEFI mode... did I done something wrong? also which windows you are using.

will appreciate if you help me...
Eshtar123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 21, 2017, 12:08:50 AM
 #11

I'm using a MSI Z270 A Pro(latest bios installed) with a Celeron G3930, I can plug the cards individually with 4g encoding turned on and have no issues booting up then patching, however when all 6 cards are plugged in Windows will show a black screen when booting and eventually restart after 20 seconds.
I know that processor isn't the best for this but there have been comments stating that it does work with 6 GPUs.
Whoever can help me get all GPU's running and recognized in at least afterburner/claymore will get 0.2 ether as a reward.

Windows is installed in UEFI mode, I've also pretty much tried everything from searching through this forum the past couple days.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!