Bitcoin Forum
December 13, 2017, 02:25:57 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Stuck at BIOS screen after adding more than 3 GPU's  (Read 413 times)
samir86
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 12:29:16 PM
 #1

Greetings,

I'm running into trouble while building a rig with this config :
- ASUS H270 Plus
- 1x nitro+ rx 470 8gb
- 3x amd radeon rx470 4gb
- 2x MSI radeon rx470 8gb
- 1200W corsair power supply
- 4gb DDR4 ram
-windows 10 pro *64

I have setup the PC installed 1st then 2nd then 3rd GPU no problem everything was running fine. Then when I tried to plug the 4th GPU onward my pc get stuck after BIOS screen (black screen with blinking cursor top left corner) after few seconds the PC restarts and keeps doing the same. Some times i get warning saying that no keyboard is detected. I have tried changing PCI slots, changing the risers, plug different GPU its always the same 3 runs with no problem once the 4th plugged the problem happens.
I have already updated the motherboard BIOS, enabled 4g decoding, tried to increase the ram to 8GB still the same.

Any ideas?

Thank you
1513131957
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513131957

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513131957
Reply with quote  #2

1513131957
Report to moderator
1513131957
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513131957

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513131957
Reply with quote  #2

1513131957
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513131957
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513131957

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513131957
Reply with quote  #2

1513131957
Report to moderator
RobertD
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 03:36:10 PM
 #2

Have you installed Windows in UEFI mode with GPT bootsector? If not erase the disk and reinstall drivers.

Have you tried different version of risers?  My latest batch of 006c risers have really crappy USB 3.0 cables and only work in some PCIE slots.
I've just build 4 MSI B250 PC mate rigs and all 4 only worked with 3 video cards. Two center PCIE slots needed older risers.
samir86
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 05:16:24 PM
 #3

Have you installed Windows in UEFI mode with GPT bootsector? If not erase the disk and reinstall drivers.
not really sure how to do that, but ill google it and try  Grin Grin


Have you tried different version of risers?  My latest batch of 006c risers have really crappy USB 3.0 cables and only work in some PCIE slots.
I've just build 4 MSI B250 PC mate rigs and all 4 only worked with 3 video cards. Two center PCIE slots needed older risers.

I have ordered new risers will try them once they arrive.


Thank you

oup59
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 07:17:02 PM
 #4

Have you installed Windows in UEFI mode with GPT bootsector? If not erase the disk and reinstall drivers.
not really sure how to do that, but ill google it and try  Grin Grin


Have you tried different version of risers?  My latest batch of 006c risers have really crappy USB 3.0 cables and only work in some PCIE slots.
I've just build 4 MSI B250 PC mate rigs and all 4 only worked with 3 video cards. Two center PCIE slots needed older risers.

I have ordered new risers will try them once they arrive.


Thank you



You may find something useful in this thread as we talked about a similar issue.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1936785.0

To check UEFI> Run msinfo32 (System Information) and look for `Bios Mode`. It says UEFI if Windows is installed in this way.
samir86
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
May 31, 2017, 02:21:24 AM
 #5




You may find something useful in this thread as we talked about a similar issue.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1936785.0

To check UEFI> Run msinfo32 (System Information) and look for `Bios Mode`. It says UEFI if Windows is installed in this way.

It says legacy, Do i need to reinstall it in UEFI mode?
Vann
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 448


View Profile
May 31, 2017, 02:52:47 AM
 #6

Yes. Select the CD UEFI boot from boot menu or create a boot flash drive with Rufus using the ISO. Make sure to select GPT for UEFI bios as the partition type in Rufus.
samir86
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
May 31, 2017, 12:29:57 PM
 #7

Yes. Select the CD UEFI boot from boot menu or create a boot flash drive with Rufus using the ISO. Make sure to select GPT for UEFI bios as the partition type in Rufus.

I have done that but still i get the same error when i add more than 3 GPUs, it say no keyboard detected then it ask's me to enter my dvd an repair windows.  Cry
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!