Bitcoin Forum
April 27, 2024, 12:43:07 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Transactions stuck in wallet, not sure what to do  (Read 582 times)
bimmerdriver (OP)

Activity: 42
Merit: 0

View Profile
May 23, 2017, 05:09:41 PM

I've been using bitcoin for a few years for periodic transactions, never had any problems until now. I use blockchain.info as my wallet. I had no idea that their "dynamic fee calculator" is useless and recommends fees that are too low for transactions to be confirmed when the load is high, like now.

I'm hoping to receive some advice.

Here is the background:

On May 16, 12 AM, I sent bitcoin using the fee recommended by blockchain.info. The fee was 105.116 sat/B. This transaction was not confirmed after a long time, so on May 18, 9 PM, I sent again using a higher fee, 116.078 sat/B. (I would have gone with a higher fee, but it was warning me not to.)

On May 20 in the morning, I noticed that both transactions had disappeared from the record of my wallet, so at 8:45 AM, I sent again with a higher fee, 116.732 sat/B. By this time, I had learned that the fees recommended by blockchain.info are too low for transactions to be confirmed when the load is high. I intended to use the fee recommended by https://bitcoinfees.21.co/, but I used their median transaction size of 226 bytes, not realizing it was incorrect because there should have been two outputs, 257-258 bytes. Since this fee was also too low to get quickly confirmed, it got stuck.

On May 20, 2:10 PM, the original two transactions reappeared with a later date / time. The original was counted as a double spend with the newest. All three are still in the pool with 0/3 confirmations. The second transaction is not a double spend, but it's stuck.