Bitcoin Forum
October 20, 2017, 04:06:01 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Looking for PSU - 1200W  (Read 484 times)
MrN1ce9uy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
May 30, 2017, 02:06:53 AM
 #1

What is a quality 1200W power supply for a 6 GPU (RX 400/500) setup and how much should they cost? What is good and what should be avoided? Hopefully there is one with a good value.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508472361
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508472361

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508472361
Reply with quote  #2

1508472361
Report to moderator
1508472361
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508472361

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508472361
Reply with quote  #2

1508472361
Report to moderator
1508472361
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508472361

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508472361
Reply with quote  #2

1508472361
Report to moderator
gwestcot
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224



View Profile
May 30, 2017, 02:10:23 AM
 #2

I usually use EVGA G2 1300W and you can sometimes find them in the $200-215 range. I have never had problems with any of them and thus I consider them extremely reliable. The other one I see people use are those 1200W corsairs but I don't have any experience with them myself. If you don't care about dual mining then you could also do the EVGA G2 1000W variety as well.

Bitcore airdrops - 3% every week!
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1883902.0
MrN1ce9uy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
May 30, 2017, 02:14:57 AM
 #3

So you are saying if I mine say ETH only I could use the 1000W G2?
gwestcot
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224



View Profile
May 30, 2017, 02:40:18 AM
 #4

Ya as long as you flash the bios of the gpus and do your settings with msiafterburner.

edit-There are many guides on here that can show you how to do this if you search for them.

Bitcore airdrops - 3% every week!
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1883902.0
Billz007
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
May 30, 2017, 03:12:53 AM
 #5

I use the Corsair HX1200i's and I love them.  They go on sale once in a while for a good price.

MCMK
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 189


View Profile
May 30, 2017, 03:30:26 AM
 #6

I use the Corsair HX1200i's and I love them.  They go on sale once in a while for a good price.



Have one of these and love it. Comes with a USB-USB Header to connect to the MOBO and with Corsair Link you can see the power usage without another device.
Nice feature.

QuintLeo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


View Profile
May 30, 2017, 12:05:16 PM
 #7

Seasonic X-1250 or EVGA G2 1300 would probably be overkill for a 6x RX 4xx/5xx rig - but I'm not sure the 1000 watt versions of those would be ENOUGH unless you undervolt and drop TDP, and even then it might be a little risky when you first boot up the machine and your undervolt/lower TDP software hasn't kicked in yet (undervolt via BIOS would not have that risk).

Vaccinus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
May 30, 2017, 12:55:20 PM
 #8

i recommend the 1200watt from corsair with corsair link, you cna check the wattage without the wattmenter, and it's a very nice psu with 95% efficiency, it's a little pricy but it's worth it imho

MrN1ce9uy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
May 30, 2017, 03:51:57 PM
 #9

The Corsair HX1200i sounds really nice, except it lacks a double-ball bearing fan. Is fluid dynamic worse than dual-ball bearing? *Plus it costs more than the EVGA 1300 G2 ?!?!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!