Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2017, 08:16:44 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can't Access Bitcoins?  (Read 343 times)
WheresMyCoins
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
May 30, 2017, 01:13:33 PM
 #1

Hi folks

Just a quick one, I've seen this before, but unsure of the answer.

I had to format my computer quite a while back, and lost my Bitcoin Wallet (Electrum). I have an 8 Word Seed (I'm sure it's Electrum wallet, despite this).

I still have the seed written down, and I know the address I sent the coins to (bought from localbitcoins).

I don't know what version of Electrum I would have had, except I bought the coins in Nov '13.

Can anyone help at all please, or have I lost them forever??

Thanks
1512980204
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512980204

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512980204
Reply with quote  #2

1512980204
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
HI-TEC99
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078



View Profile
May 30, 2017, 02:47:48 PM
 #2

Have you tried installing the latest version of electrum, and creating a wallet using your old seed yet? The github release notes suggest the latest wallets might support old-type seed phrases.

https://github.com/spesmilo/electrum/blob/master/RELEASE-NOTES

Quote
# Release 2.6.1 (bugfixes)
 * fix broadcast command (bug #1688)
 * fix tx dialog (bug #1690)
 * kivy: support old-type seed phrases in wizard
kolloh
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176


View Profile
May 30, 2017, 07:23:11 PM
 #3

As far as I know, Electrum never generated 8 word seeds. Back in 2013, seeds were generated with 12 words and always using multiples of 3. The only way that you would have had a 8 word seed, is if you had generated the seed yourself instead of allowing Electrum to generate it. Do you remember if you generated the seed yourself instead of using one created by Electrum?

I would first try restoring using the latest version of Electrum as recommended by HI-TEC99 and see if that works for you. If not, you may have to try other manual methods for restoring the seed to to the non-standard length.
WheresMyCoins
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
May 30, 2017, 09:01:32 PM
 #4

No luck, tried a number of newer versions with no joy. I can add the wallet addresses to watching only, so can see the BTC there, but no joy.
HI-TEC99
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078



View Profile
May 30, 2017, 09:10:07 PM
 #5

Did your old wallet consist of a bunch of .py files?

You can find the wallet releases made in 2013 at these links.

https://github.com/spesmilo/electrum/releases?after=1.6.0

https://github.com/spesmilo/electrum/releases?after=1.7.3

https://github.com/spesmilo/electrum/releases?after=1.9.5

https://github.com/spesmilo/electrum/releases?after=2.0b3

They don't have an executable installer like today's wallets. They are just some .py files. You could try downloading one from a likely date, running it, and trying to import your seed words into it.
WheresMyCoins
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
June 05, 2017, 07:38:14 PM
 #6

Thanks for the replies.

Still no joy. I wouldn't have had to compile it, I wouldn't have known how.  Grin

I _think_ I may have had a wallet set up on my old phone (android). Could this be how I've ended up with an 8 word seed, and is there anywhere I can download the old versions for android from?

So frustrating, I can see the BTC there, just can't access them!

edit> Thinking out loud here, but one version of Electrum, it would sort of 'accept' the 8 word Seed if I changed the BIP when restoring it. Dunno if that helps any?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!