Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2017, 02:16:20 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Multiple GPU Configuration  (Read 320 times)
millz90
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
June 08, 2017, 02:17:07 PM
 #1

Ok so i set up a new rig and am running into an issue where the monitor wont work when the 4 cards are plugged into the mobo with risers.

First I am using the following:
Motherboard: MSI Z170A M5
Graphic Cards: 3 - Gigabyte Radeon RX 460's - 4gb
Graphic Cards: 1 - xfx Radeon RX 460's - 4gb
PSU: EVGA 650 PS2
Risers: Version 6

So i set everything up, mounted the cards on top, connected the risers to the graphics cards, ran the USB cable with the connector to each of the PCIE slots, plugged the monitor into the HDMI port in the mobo turned on the PC and everything starts up but the monitor.

So i unplugged a couple of the video cards, still no monitor.

Unplugged ALL of the riser connectors in the PCIE slots turned on the PC and i have a monitor?

The other test i did was plug one of the graphic cards directly into a PCIE slot plugged the monitor into that and it worked, BUT as soon as plugged the other 3 risers into the PCIE slots i have no monitor?

Any ideas why this would be happening?


1508768180
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508768180

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508768180
Reply with quote  #2

1508768180
Report to moderator
1508768180
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508768180

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508768180
Reply with quote  #2

1508768180
Report to moderator
1508768180
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508768180

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508768180
Reply with quote  #2

1508768180
Report to moderator
Remember that Bitcoin is still beta software. Don't put all of your money into BTC!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508768180
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508768180

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508768180
Reply with quote  #2

1508768180
Report to moderator
1508768180
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508768180

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508768180
Reply with quote  #2

1508768180
Report to moderator
fistfullofbtc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
June 08, 2017, 02:26:09 PM
 #2

i had a similar issue so plugged monitor into one of the gpus connected via the risers not mobo. weird thing was a few worked some didn't, never worked out as one displayed monitor.
millz90
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
June 08, 2017, 02:42:36 PM
 #3

i had a similar issue so plugged monitor into one of the gpus connected via the risers not mobo. weird thing was a few worked some didn't, never worked out as one displayed monitor.

Yeah i tried this as well and the monitor didn't work either? I didn't try all of them but the one i did try i didn't have a display. Ill try the other 3 maybe tonight and see if that makes a difference. I mean if i can get ANY of them to work so i can see whats going on and start mining that's fine with me. As long as all 4 cards are recognized by the system...lol
fistfullofbtc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
June 08, 2017, 05:34:01 PM
 #4

worth a try.
millz90
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
June 12, 2017, 02:38:09 PM
 #5

Any Ideas? No one has had this issue before?
fistfullofbtc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
June 12, 2017, 05:17:06 PM
 #6

is this the carbon mobo. have you updated the bios version. i followed this guide for my miner, maybe update the bios

https://forum.z.cash/t/msi-z170-7-gpu-bios-setting-step-by-step/14473

be careful though.
iamnoobplzhelp
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
June 12, 2017, 05:38:58 PM
 #7

Plug your monitor into the video card that's plugged into the first x16 PCIe port (the port where you would normally put your GPU). Don't use onboard graphics.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!