Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 06:51:47 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: DiabloMiner on Dual 6990 + 64Bit Ubuntu, Second GPU not working. Advice?  (Read 1650 times)
SourceJ
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 08:32:02 PM
 #1

Hello All,

I am running dual 6990s on Ubuntu 10.10 Server 64bit with SDK 2.4 and Catalyst 11.5. I have issues with startx and running the GPU mining program. Currently I am only getting ~400MH/s when running an instance of Diablo miner, which supossudly is using both GPUs(Cayman 0 and 1). However, I do not think that the second GPU is operating correctly. I ssh into the rig as it is at a remote location.

Any configuration tips?
1480747907
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480747907

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480747907
Reply with quote  #2

1480747907
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480747907
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480747907

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480747907
Reply with quote  #2

1480747907
Report to moderator
mf
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 09:25:58 PM
 #2

DiabloMiner uses the -D option to specify which device it should use.

I do not have two GPUs so take my advice with a grain of salt... but,

Have you tried running *two* instances of the DiabloMiner, one with -D 1 (for the first GPU) and one with -D 2 (for the second GPU)?

Donations gladly accepted at 1QA1K3Ghz9AuJ8na6JKJVudEko3WKx1xC2
SourceJ
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 10:00:39 PM
 #3

When I specify -D 1 and -D 2, I only get 200Mh/s for each. I believe that the 1 and 2 for my devices refer to each of the two cores of the first GPU, because the numbers are just too low for them to be both running. When I run aticonfig --adapter=0,1 --od-gettemperature I get different temperatures, leading me to think otherwise.

I feel that if the 2nd GPU is enabled, then there should be 4 cores running, but only two are showing up. Is the khash/s calculation of DiabloMiner accurate?

I have tried installing different driver editions, and checked my xorg.conf file to make sure it is correct, but I just cannot get the speeds to increase. Dual 6990s should be running atleast at 800Mhash/s, but mine are half of that.

Any ideas? I can post any necessary print outs from my prompts.

I ssh into my machine btw, could it be an issue with the lack of a display?
SourceJ
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 11:19:50 PM
 #4

A quick lspci | grep ATI gave me this output, which I find odd.

05:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies INc Device 671d
05:00.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc Device aa80
06:00.1 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc Device 671d
06:00.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc Device aa80

Could my drivers be detecting my 2nd GPU as an audio device or something similar? I do not think that the 2nd 6990 is even being detected..
SourceJ
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 11:40:27 PM
 #5

Bump,

Someone please, help me out on this. I have been trying for 5 days to get this setup working. I'll send 1 BTC to whoever can give me some useful advice.
mf
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
June 20, 2011, 02:38:47 AM
 #6

I run my DiabloMiner inside a tmux session (same as screen, but better).
I have to always export DISPLAY=:0.0 before launching a new session if I create a new tmux window.

There is a fairly complete guide about DiabloMiner here: http://forum.bitcoin.org/?topic=3356.msg47489#msg47489

If you have Crossfire, you should allegedly turn that *off*: http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=7167.msg105782#msg105782

Check what the env var $COMPUTE is, as when that is set it supersedes $DISPLAY for ATI computation.

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison only lists other miners for the 6990, not DiabloMiner.

Hope anything above helped...

Donations gladly accepted at 1QA1K3Ghz9AuJ8na6JKJVudEko3WKx1xC2
Sottilde
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
June 20, 2011, 02:54:12 AM
 #7

I have heard a few success stories with GuiMiner for Windows - I know the hate for Windows but you should be getting ~375MH/s per GPU, so about 1500MH/s total - maybe it's enough to make a compromise.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!