Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 06:14:07 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 5970 or 6990??  (Read 2443 times)
goozman96
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700



View Profile
June 19, 2011, 10:19:06 PM
 #1

I started mining several days ago but unfortunately I have an NVIDIA BFG GeForce GTX 260 which averages me around 45 Mhash/s. I was looking into some ATI cards since they have much higher outputs. But I'm kind of confused. According to this chart, a 5970 could get me anywhere from 530 to 802. How is this possible? Are there different varieties of each card or what? And also a 6990 can get me anywhere from 670 to 835. How can I know what speeds I will get with each card with my current set up?

I should probably state that I use GUIMiner and I have Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit. Any additional specs (if needed) can be found here under the System Specs tab.

I actually live in an apartment while I am going to college and my rent includes electricity, so its of no concern to me.

Thanks in advance!

BTC: 19DKtsdGfQyFzNiEze9KuFQrWGiLDvg6F1 | LTC: LbV6UGyjYbVP49NvQFmuAnkADcaFYvNagK | NMC: NDCdMJmTmGH54Cezmo3CwSxAC7grAoZJbj
1481048047
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481048047

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481048047
Reply with quote  #2

1481048047
Report to moderator
1481048047
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481048047

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481048047
Reply with quote  #2

1481048047
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481048047
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481048047

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481048047
Reply with quote  #2

1481048047
Report to moderator
1481048047
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481048047

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481048047
Reply with quote  #2

1481048047
Report to moderator
1481048047
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481048047

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481048047
Reply with quote  #2

1481048047
Report to moderator
smoki
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 11:05:37 PM
 #2

A lot of factors can affect a card's hashing speed:
- gpu clock speed: this one is a no-brainer - hashrate scales almost perfectly linearly with gpu frequency
- video memory speed: this one is a bit trickier - most cards actually improve performance if you lower the memory speed. The sweet-spot can be anywhere between 160 and 400 MHz for 5xxx and 6xxx series cards. The impact on hashing speed isn't nearly as big as with gpu frequency, but gains up to 5% or so can be achieved
- APP SDK version: 2.1 is supposed to be the best for 5xxx series cards, giving ~10% higher performance than 2.4. Versions 2.2 and 2.3 are not recommended for several reasons (low performance and high cpu utilization). 6xxx series is not supported in 2.1 though.
- Catalyst version: from what I've read results seem to be all over the place, so I can't really recommend which version to use. I'm sticking with 11.5 for my combo of 5870 and 6870 cards.
- OS: again, different people report differently about whether Windows or Linux is faster, same for 64-bit vs. 32-bit
- miner used: phoenix's phatk kernel seems to be the fastest for most users, at least under Windows. Under linux, again, different users have different results with various miners. In my case it's pretty much a wash between phoenix (phatk) and poclbm under linux.

As for card choice... a 5970 is more power efficient and has better performance at a given gpu frequency. You can also use 2.1 APP SDK with it. It should also be cheaper to buy. It's probably just about impossible to get either new or used. It will also be harder to sell when you stop mining, or, if you keep it for gaming, will be a good deal slower than the 6990.

19Wsi1QNn7A9YHwbQsjXz4tWxdu72HQ8zM (just in case Smiley)
Basiley
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 11:07:12 PM
 #3

depend price.
also, not thats 6990 pack lot more heat/consumed power. in bigger scale than boost from increased shaders number.
generally im thing 6990 is OP and too big/fat/hot for 40nm waffer/transistors.
so, if you can find 5970 its okay enough, IMO.
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
June 20, 2011, 01:27:49 AM
 #4

I don't notice any difference between Phoenix and POCLBM using a 6990.

In fact Phoenix just makes it run too hot without noticeable speed benefits (using sdk 2.4).
Also core 0 is always about 5% slower than core 1 even though both have the same exact flags.

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
goozman96
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700



View Profile
June 20, 2011, 02:06:15 AM
 #5

I don't notice any difference between Phoenix and POCLBM using a 6990.

In fact Phoenix just makes it run too hot without noticeable speed benefits (using sdk 2.4).
Also core 0 is always about 5% slower than core 1 even though both have the same exact flags.
What speeds do you get?

BTC: 19DKtsdGfQyFzNiEze9KuFQrWGiLDvg6F1 | LTC: LbV6UGyjYbVP49NvQFmuAnkADcaFYvNagK | NMC: NDCdMJmTmGH54Cezmo3CwSxAC7grAoZJbj
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
June 20, 2011, 01:45:11 PM
 #6

I don't notice any difference between Phoenix and POCLBM using a 6990.

In fact Phoenix just makes it run too hot without noticeable speed benefits (using sdk 2.4).
Also core 0 is always about 5% slower than core 1 even though both have the same exact flags.
What speeds do you get?

351mhash/s on core 1, 339-342mhash/s on core 0. Also core 0 temperature is 92c constant, core 1 is 78-81.

Doesn't matter what flags I use or none at all; Core 0 always runs hotter and slower.

Nothing else is being used or run the card.

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
goozman96
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700



View Profile
June 20, 2011, 03:05:35 PM
 #7

So what would you have to do to get it to the theoretically possible 800+?
I assume it's not overclocked or anything, right?

BTC: 19DKtsdGfQyFzNiEze9KuFQrWGiLDvg6F1 | LTC: LbV6UGyjYbVP49NvQFmuAnkADcaFYvNagK | NMC: NDCdMJmTmGH54Cezmo3CwSxAC7grAoZJbj
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
June 20, 2011, 03:16:54 PM
 #8

You have to raise the voltage and OC to 950-990mhz which I'm not going to do, and wouldn't advise anyone else to do so either.
The card is already pushed to it's limits running practically two full 6970's if you switch to the normal OC mode (830 -> 880mhz plus increased memory clock)

I'd never run the cores at nearly 1ghz and over 100 celsius 24/7. Even with watercooling I think it's unsafe and stupid with a $800 card.

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
goozman96
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700



View Profile
June 20, 2011, 03:23:53 PM
 #9

Ah, I see. I think my graphics card already came OverClocked out of the box.
This is it: http://www.amazon.com/BFG-BFGEGTX260MC896OCE-GeForce-MAXCORE-Graphics/dp/B001G0MSMG

So there's not much I can do to increase my speeds with my current card?

BTC: 19DKtsdGfQyFzNiEze9KuFQrWGiLDvg6F1 | LTC: LbV6UGyjYbVP49NvQFmuAnkADcaFYvNagK | NMC: NDCdMJmTmGH54Cezmo3CwSxAC7grAoZJbj
newguy05
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 517


View Profile
June 20, 2011, 03:39:12 PM
 #10

Ah, I see. I think my graphics card already came OverClocked out of the box.
This is it: http://www.amazon.com/BFG-BFGEGTX260MC896OCE-GeForce-MAXCORE-Graphics/dp/B001G0MSMG

So there's not much I can do to increase my speeds with my current card?

why you running nvidia? it's a waste of money and time.
goozman96
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700



View Profile
June 20, 2011, 03:52:35 PM
 #11

I built my current rig about 3 years ago; way before I had a clue what BitCoin was - cuz it didn't exist yet!

BTC: 19DKtsdGfQyFzNiEze9KuFQrWGiLDvg6F1 | LTC: LbV6UGyjYbVP49NvQFmuAnkADcaFYvNagK | NMC: NDCdMJmTmGH54Cezmo3CwSxAC7grAoZJbj
jgraham
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


<Pretentious and poorly thought out latin phrase>


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 03:14:31 PM
 #12

I don't notice any difference between Phoenix and POCLBM using a 6990.

In fact Phoenix just makes it run too hot without noticeable speed benefits (using sdk 2.4).
Also core 0 is always about 5% slower than core 1 even though both have the same exact flags.

I think it stands to reason that if the choice of software is causing the card to run hotter then it's likely getting your card to do more work.   The MH/s in POCLBM might just be measuring/displalying the hashrate while hashing so without all the network overhead.

I'd try running a benchmark by looking at the number of shares done by each core over say a couple of days.

I'm doing this exact thing between phoenix/poclbm and phoenix/phatk+mod

I'm rather good with Linux.  If you're having problems with your mining rig I'll help you out remotely for 0.05.  You can also propose a flat-rate for some particular task.  PM me for details.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!