Bitcoin Forum
February 22, 2017, 06:25:59 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: GPU mining needs a new ATI card?  (Read 3445 times)
holgero
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile WWW
June 19, 2011, 11:58:40 PM
 #1

Hi,

if I understand what's on the wiki correctly, it is not possible to use an ATI "Radeon HD 3650" card for mining, right?

Best regards,
holgero.
1487744759
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1487744759

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1487744759
Reply with quote  #2

1487744759
Report to moderator
1487744759
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1487744759

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1487744759
Reply with quote  #2

1487744759
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1487744759
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1487744759

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1487744759
Reply with quote  #2

1487744759
Report to moderator
1487744759
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1487744759

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1487744759
Reply with quote  #2

1487744759
Report to moderator
1487744759
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1487744759

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1487744759
Reply with quote  #2

1487744759
Report to moderator
chippy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
June 20, 2011, 12:08:40 AM
 #2

That is correct, since that series (ATI HD 3000) does not support OpenCL at all.
Pick something from that "Mining hardware comparison" that has a big number in the Mhash/s column. Also look for a small number on the Watts column if you want to save electricity and CO2
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison
holgero
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile WWW
June 20, 2011, 12:24:01 AM
 #3

Thanks for the fast answer!  Cool
coran007
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
June 20, 2011, 01:26:56 AM
 #4

fyi newegg has a xfx 6950 for $230 and then a $30 rebate and 2 free games, not a bad deal.  the 6950 is doing about 320 Mhash/s at 810 MHz
gutschilla
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19



View Profile
September 21, 2011, 11:05:32 PM
 #5

if I understand what's on the wiki correctly, it is not possible to use an ATI "Radeon HD 3650" card for mining, right?

Yep. And buying a new one just for mining currently doesn't seem too profitable. See http://bitcoinx.com/profit/ to calculate costs and income.

My ~700MHash/s give me ~0.4BTC/day. This is currently less than 3$ per day. This is roughly the same amount of money my rig consumes in electricity. I am lucky not to pay for this electriciy but I cannot scale up as this "free" electricity is part of a "fair use" deal and I guess I am already stretching the deal a bit.
worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
September 22, 2011, 12:19:54 AM
 #6

Mine is running about 400 MHash/s each by just adding the flags -v -w128 -f0


if I understand what's on the wiki correctly, it is not possible to use an ATI "Radeon HD 3650" card for mining, right?

Yep. And buying a new one just for mining currently doesn't seem too profitable. See http://bitcoinx.com/profit/ to calculate costs and income.

My ~700MHash/s give me ~0.4BTC/day. This is currently less than 3$ per day. This is roughly the same amount of money my rig consumes in electricity. I am lucky not to pay for this electriciy but I cannot scale up as this "free" electricity is part of a "fair use" deal and I guess I am already stretching the deal a bit.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!