Bitcoin Forum
August 21, 2017, 04:08:03 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: GPU mining needs a new ATI card?  (Read 3651 times)
holgero
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile WWW
June 19, 2011, 11:58:40 PM
 #1

Hi,

if I understand what's on the wiki correctly, it is not possible to use an ATI "Radeon HD 3650" card for mining, right?

Best regards,
holgero.
1503331683
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503331683

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503331683
Reply with quote  #2

1503331683
Report to moderator
1503331683
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503331683

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503331683
Reply with quote  #2

1503331683
Report to moderator
1503331683
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503331683

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503331683
Reply with quote  #2

1503331683
Report to moderator
Once a transaction has 6 confirmations, it is extremely unlikely that an attacker without at least 50% of the network's computation power would be able to reverse it.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1503331683
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503331683

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503331683
Reply with quote  #2

1503331683
Report to moderator
1503331683
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503331683

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503331683
Reply with quote  #2

1503331683
Report to moderator
chippy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
June 20, 2011, 12:08:40 AM
 #2

That is correct, since that series (ATI HD 3000) does not support OpenCL at all.
Pick something from that "Mining hardware comparison" that has a big number in the Mhash/s column. Also look for a small number on the Watts column if you want to save electricity and CO2
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison
holgero
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile WWW
June 20, 2011, 12:24:01 AM
 #3

Thanks for the fast answer!  Cool
coran007
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
June 20, 2011, 01:26:56 AM
 #4

fyi newegg has a xfx 6950 for $230 and then a $30 rebate and 2 free games, not a bad deal.  the 6950 is doing about 320 Mhash/s at 810 MHz
gutschilla
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19



View Profile
September 21, 2011, 11:05:32 PM
 #5

if I understand what's on the wiki correctly, it is not possible to use an ATI "Radeon HD 3650" card for mining, right?

Yep. And buying a new one just for mining currently doesn't seem too profitable. See http://bitcoinx.com/profit/ to calculate costs and income.

My ~700MHash/s give me ~0.4BTC/day. This is currently less than 3$ per day. This is roughly the same amount of money my rig consumes in electricity. I am lucky not to pay for this electriciy but I cannot scale up as this "free" electricity is part of a "fair use" deal and I guess I am already stretching the deal a bit.
worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672



View Profile WWW
September 22, 2011, 12:19:54 AM
 #6

Mine is running about 400 MHash/s each by just adding the flags -v -w128 -f0


if I understand what's on the wiki correctly, it is not possible to use an ATI "Radeon HD 3650" card for mining, right?

Yep. And buying a new one just for mining currently doesn't seem too profitable. See http://bitcoinx.com/profit/ to calculate costs and income.

My ~700MHash/s give me ~0.4BTC/day. This is currently less than 3$ per day. This is roughly the same amount of money my rig consumes in electricity. I am lucky not to pay for this electriciy but I cannot scale up as this "free" electricity is part of a "fair use" deal and I guess I am already stretching the deal a bit.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!