Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 03:58:26 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Overclock/underclock Radeon 5970/5870 Linux outside BIOS Limits?  (Read 9189 times)
Rob P.
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile WWW
June 23, 2011, 05:25:22 PM
 #21


Fail:  "2) Use it to create a FreeDOS bootable thumb drive."

This thread is about doing it from Linux, natively.

--

If you like what I've written here, consider tipping the messenger:
1GZu4CtHa6ai8iWoWiVFxV5VVoNte4SkoG

If you don't like what I've written, send me a Tip and I'll stop talking.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480780706
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480780706

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480780706
Reply with quote  #2

1480780706
Report to moderator
1480780706
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480780706

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480780706
Reply with quote  #2

1480780706
Report to moderator
Vwlopez3
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile WWW
June 24, 2011, 08:49:17 AM
 #22

Catalyst 11.6 in Linux allows you to bypass the BIOS limits now. 11.5 didn't.

Code:
Adapter 0 - ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    975           300
             Current Peak :    975           300
  Configurable Peak Range : [600-875]     [900-1200]
                 GPU load :    99%

I've tested it on both Sapphire and Gigabyte 5830 cards.

Cheers,
Kermee
Yess thank you

19G8b28qHHM7yACCwwWfikGv7QimEsHyga
Rob P.
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile WWW
June 24, 2011, 12:16:02 PM
 #23

Catalyst 11.6 in Linux allows you to bypass the BIOS limits now. 11.5 didn't.

Code:
Adapter 0 - ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    975           300
             Current Peak :    975           300
  Configurable Peak Range : [600-875]     [900-1200]
                 GPU load :    99%

I've tested it on both Sapphire and Gigabyte 5830 cards.

Cheers,
Kermee

... Goes to download Catalyst 11.6 ...

Downloaded and installed on my new rig.  Confirmed, allowed me to set GPU and RAM outside of the listed ranges.

SUCH good news.

--

If you like what I've written here, consider tipping the messenger:
1GZu4CtHa6ai8iWoWiVFxV5VVoNte4SkoG

If you don't like what I've written, send me a Tip and I'll stop talking.
Vwlopez3
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile WWW
June 24, 2011, 05:18:28 PM
 #24

now if we could just figure out how to adjust voltage outside bios limit we would be golden.

19G8b28qHHM7yACCwwWfikGv7QimEsHyga
Rob P.
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile WWW
June 24, 2011, 06:19:32 PM
 #25

now if we could just figure out how to adjust voltage outside bios limit we would be golden.

Yea, that appears to still require RBE from DOS and a BIOS Flash.  Sigh.

--

If you like what I've written here, consider tipping the messenger:
1GZu4CtHa6ai8iWoWiVFxV5VVoNte4SkoG

If you don't like what I've written, send me a Tip and I'll stop talking.
padrino
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1260



View Profile
June 25, 2011, 01:09:21 AM
 #26

now if we could just figure out how to adjust voltage outside bios limit we would be golden.

I started using Radeonvolt on both my 5970 and 5870 cards with no issue, only working on reference designs though.

1CPi7VRihoF396gyYYcs2AdTEF8KQG2BCR
Folax
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 25, 2011, 02:46:03 PM
 #27

This is great news, if Catalyst 11.6 can get my non-reference card past its limits!

I'm running Linuxcoin and need to de-install the current drivers and download and install the new ones, which I will try and post here how to do it.

My GF thinks I'm useless, if you think otherwise and can proof it to her, please do so and donate:
14wG6u2bAD9q1nLmLL9MST1ZzbTE9Pt8nG
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 01:12:43 PM
 #28

Can any one tell how to install 11.6 in Ubuntu 11.04. With Inaba guide i am able to install & mine with Ubuntu 11.04. It has catalyst version 11.5.

How to install 11.6 in to Ubuntu 11.04?
Help is much appreciated as 11.5 don't allow to reduce memory clock which is increasing temperature too much.
I tried with AMD site & got this file ati-driver-installer-11-6-x86.x86_64.run.
Don't know exactly what to do next.
detroit
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 02:03:05 PM
 #29

I wish I could be more helpful, but had a hard time getting 11.6 installed properly after having ubuntu installed ATI drivers.
However, if you go to the AMD driver download page and look through the release notes link, it has instructions on how to uninstall the old drivers and install the new ones.  I wound up deactivating the ubuntu-installed ATI drivers under SYSTEM, HARDWARE DRIVERS and running the general 11.6 install.  It wouldn't run aticonfig because I think the ubuntu install sets unusual file structures in place that the ATI  generic install doesn't undo, somehow.  Eventually, I went back to activating the ubuntu-installed ATI drivers and got my overclocks, so I was content.
I should have tried searching more.  Here's a wiki that details how to get 11.6 on 11.04, including a section on how to remove the ubuntu-installed driver config:
http://wiki.cchtml.com/index.php/Ubuntu_Natty_Installation_Guide

Tradehill.com referral code: TH-R1494
Please consider using it if I've said something useful!
Folax
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 02:34:19 PM
 #30

I messed up trying to uninstall 11.5 and install 11.6 somehow and am now waiting for Linuxcoin 0.2b which has 11.6 setup.

My GF thinks I'm useless, if you think otherwise and can proof it to her, please do so and donate:
14wG6u2bAD9q1nLmLL9MST1ZzbTE9Pt8nG
stellan0r
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


Medical Translations for Bitcoins


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 02:41:44 PM
 #31

I can confirm that with Ubuntu 11.04 and Catalyst 11.6 you can OC/UC beyond the limits.


I can go higher with the Core MHz, but last time two of my mining instances froze after some time, so I'm using the lower MHz right now until I find the sweetspot.



$ aticonfig --odgc --adapter=all

Adapter 0 - ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    900           300
             Current Peak :    900           300
  Configurable Peak Range : [600-900]     [900-1300]
                 GPU load :    99%

Adapter 1 - AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    1000           1150
             Current Peak :    1000           300
  Configurable Peak Range : [775-1000]     [1150-1250]
                 GPU load :    99%

Adapter 2 - AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    1000           1150
             Current Peak :    1000           300
  Configurable Peak Range : [775-1000]     [1150-1250]
                 GPU load :    99%


And this is the simple script that allows for easy OC with my cards (just put that adjusted for your gpus in any .sh file):

aticonfig --odsc=900,300 --adapter=0
aticonfig --odsc=1000,300 --adapter=1
aticonfig --odsc=1000,300 --adapter=2

And if you do, take a look at my signature please Smiley

Allgemeine Gesundheitsberatung gegen Bitcoin-Zahlung. Bei Fragen einfach eine PM schicken!
If you want to send a thank you: BTC "1PZJvKvarRviQRQWejpvXW2j4e1xbT8MZb" / Doge "DHtN2YEFg1obv2VFps8RwQSL6xL1RRYyXN"
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 05:50:08 PM
 #32

I wish I could be more helpful, but had a hard time getting 11.6 installed properly after having ubuntu installed ATI drivers.
However, if you go to the AMD driver download page and look through the release notes link, it has instructions on how to uninstall the old drivers and install the new ones.  I wound up deactivating the ubuntu-installed ATI drivers under SYSTEM, HARDWARE DRIVERS and running the general 11.6 install.  It wouldn't run aticonfig because I think the ubuntu install sets unusual file structures in place that the ATI  generic install doesn't undo, somehow.  Eventually, I went back to activating the ubuntu-installed ATI drivers and got my overclocks, so I was content.
I should have tried searching more.  Here's a wiki that details how to get 11.6 on 11.04, including a section on how to remove the ubuntu-installed driver config:
http://wiki.cchtml.com/index.php/Ubuntu_Natty_Installation_Guide


Please check this, i wrote step by step guide after it worked for me.
http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=22855
Rob P.
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile WWW
June 26, 2011, 09:15:25 PM
 #33

I can go higher with the Core MHz, but last time two of my mining instances froze after some time, so I'm using the lower MHz right now until I find the sweetspot.

I believe this is because we cannot, yet, easily change the voltages.  So we can't overclock too high, or the card needs more voltage than the core is providing.

--

If you like what I've written here, consider tipping the messenger:
1GZu4CtHa6ai8iWoWiVFxV5VVoNte4SkoG

If you don't like what I've written, send me a Tip and I'll stop talking.
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 06:54:21 AM
 #34

I can go higher with the Core MHz, but last time two of my mining instances froze after some time, so I'm using the lower MHz right now until I find the sweetspot.

Adapter 0 - ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    900           300
             Current Peak :    900           300
  Configurable Peak Range : [600-900]     [900-1300]
                 GPU load :    99%

Adapter 1 - AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    1000           1150
             Current Peak :    1000           300
  Configurable Peak Range : [775-1000]     [1150-1250]
                 GPU load :    99%

Adapter 2 - AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    1000           1150
             Current Peak :    1000           300
  Configurable Peak Range : [775-1000]     [1150-1250]
                 GPU load :    99%

I confirm, again AMD fucked us.
You can under clock memory of 5870 cards, but not 6970 cards.
Even i under clocked memory to 300 mhz, it still runs on 1375 mhz only causing high temperature. But in 5870 it runs at 300 mhz.
FU*K U AMD

You can clearly see in the quoted post as 5800 series current clocks of memory is 300 mhz, while 6800 series current clocks of memory is 1150 mhz, even though current peak is 300 mhz.
same happening to me, with 6900 series current clock of memory is 1375, while current peak is 300 mhz only
stellan0r
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


Medical Translations for Bitcoins


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 08:25:38 AM
 #35

i didn't realize that.. explains why my hashrate didn't change much ^^

Allgemeine Gesundheitsberatung gegen Bitcoin-Zahlung. Bei Fragen einfach eine PM schicken!
If you want to send a thank you: BTC "1PZJvKvarRviQRQWejpvXW2j4e1xbT8MZb" / Doge "DHtN2YEFg1obv2VFps8RwQSL6xL1RRYyXN"
stellan0r
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


Medical Translations for Bitcoins


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 08:57:42 AM
 #36

can this be a "problem" with powerplay or something like that?

i have my clock settings (5870: 960/300 ;6870: 1000/300) persistent and after reboot it looks like this (screen attached to Adapter 0):


Adapter 0 - ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    157           300
             Current Peak :    960           300
  Configurable Peak Range : [600-900]     [900-1300]
                 GPU load :    0%

Adapter 1 - AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    300           300
             Current Peak :    1000           300
  Configurable Peak Range : [775-1000]     [1150-1250]
                 GPU load :    0%

Adapter 2 - AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    300           300
             Current Peak :    1000           300
  Configurable Peak Range : [775-1000]     [1150-1250]
                 GPU load :    0%

(you can see the memory clocks in powerplay mode idle (if i can call it that) is 300 as supposed to be with my settings)


As soon as I start my miner, it looks like this:


Adapter 0 - ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    960           300
             Current Peak :    960           300
  Configurable Peak Range : [600-900]     [900-1300]
                 GPU load :    99%

Adapter 1 - AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    1000           1150
             Current Peak :    1000           300
  Configurable Peak Range : [775-1000]     [1150-1250]
                 GPU load :    99%

Adapter 2 - AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    1000           1150
             Current Peak :    1000           300
  Configurable Peak Range : [775-1000]     [1150-1250]
                 GPU load :    98%

Core clocks rise as expected, but mem clock @ 6870  goes to default.
I also was not able to change this with AMDOverdriveCtrl.

We need to find the switch for that powerplay feature!

Allgemeine Gesundheitsberatung gegen Bitcoin-Zahlung. Bei Fragen einfach eine PM schicken!
If you want to send a thank you: BTC "1PZJvKvarRviQRQWejpvXW2j4e1xbT8MZb" / Doge "DHtN2YEFg1obv2VFps8RwQSL6xL1RRYyXN"
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 10:18:43 AM
 #37

Yes, AMD again screwed up. They want those who bought AMD graphics cards MUST go crazy as before many gone crazy due to BSOD from Windows.
It's really BS to allow 5000 series to under clock memory & dis allow 6000 series to under clock memory.
I better ask in AMD forumn.

To those who want to ASK AMD directly, you can. Go to,
http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/AMDCatalyst116ReleaseNotes.aspx

Look for "Catalyst™ Crew Driver Feedback" in bottom.
Direct link is http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D27E29B0E3

Also here http://forums.amd.com/game/categories.cfm?catid=279

ASK much as you can.


padrino
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1260



View Profile
June 28, 2011, 02:27:31 AM
 #38

Yes, AMD again screwed up. They want those who bought AMD graphics cards MUST go crazy as before many gone crazy due to BSOD from Windows.
It's really BS to allow 5000 series to under clock memory & dis allow 6000 series to under clock memory.
I better ask in AMD forumn.

To those who want to ASK AMD directly, you can. Go to,
http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/AMDCatalyst116ReleaseNotes.aspx

Look for "Catalyst™ Crew Driver Feedback" in bottom.
Direct link is http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D27E29B0E3

Also here http://forums.amd.com/game/categories.cfm?catid=279

ASK much as you can.




One would assume the screw up is letting any cards outside of their bios limits, as the manufacturer they want to listen to their partners settings in standard tools and leave non standard to API hooks,

1CPi7VRihoF396gyYYcs2AdTEF8KQG2BCR
Rob P.
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile WWW
June 28, 2011, 12:04:20 PM
 #39

Can any one tell how to install 11.6 in Ubuntu 11.04. With Inaba guide i am able to install & mine with Ubuntu 11.04. It has catalyst version 11.5.

Rebuild the box.  That's what I did last night, it only takes 30 minutes of so.  Use the same guide you used to build it the first time, only this time, instead of downloading Catalyst "11.5", download Catalyst "11.6".  Just change the 5 to a 6 in the instructions.  Works great.

--

If you like what I've written here, consider tipping the messenger:
1GZu4CtHa6ai8iWoWiVFxV5VVoNte4SkoG

If you don't like what I've written, send me a Tip and I'll stop talking.
padrino
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1260



View Profile
June 28, 2011, 12:20:34 PM
 #40

Can any one tell how to install 11.6 in Ubuntu 11.04. With Inaba guide i am able to install & mine with Ubuntu 11.04. It has catalyst version 11.5.

Rebuild the box.  That's what I did last night, it only takes 30 minutes of so.  Use the same guide you used to build it the first time, only this time, instead of downloading Catalyst "11.5", download Catalyst "11.6".  Just change the 5 to a 6 in the instructions.  Works great.

I just reinstalled with 11.6 directly on top of 11.5 and it worked fine, I'm not sure what the risk is doing it that way is normally (I assume the recommendation is to uninstall), might b worth a test since it's only a couple of minutes.

1CPi7VRihoF396gyYYcs2AdTEF8KQG2BCR
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!