Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 10:46:09 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Overclock/underclock Radeon 5970/5870 Linux outside BIOS Limits?  (Read 9205 times)
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 08:18:30 PM
 #41

Can any one tell how to install 11.6 in Ubuntu 11.04. With Inaba guide i am able to install & mine with Ubuntu 11.04. It has catalyst version 11.5.

Rebuild the box.  That's what I did last night, it only takes 30 minutes of so.  Use the same guide you used to build it the first time, only this time, instead of downloading Catalyst "11.5", download Catalyst "11.6".  Just change the 5 to a 6 in the instructions.  Works great.

I just reinstalled with 11.6 directly on top of 11.5 and it worked fine, I'm not sure what the risk is doing it that way is normally (I assume the recommendation is to uninstall), might b worth a test since it's only a couple of minutes.

Or you can just do this.
http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=22855.msg287536#msg287536

There is NO instruction to download 11.5 in Inaba guide. He wrote to download AMD APP, not catalyst 11.5.
Besides, catalyst 11.5 comes with Ubuntu 11.04 synaptic packages. You are not downloading or installing separately catalyst 11.5.
1481409969
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409969

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409969
Reply with quote  #2

1481409969
Report to moderator
1481409969
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409969

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409969
Reply with quote  #2

1481409969
Report to moderator
1481409969
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409969

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409969
Reply with quote  #2

1481409969
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481409969
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409969

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409969
Reply with quote  #2

1481409969
Report to moderator
1481409969
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409969

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409969
Reply with quote  #2

1481409969
Report to moderator
Rob P.
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile WWW
June 29, 2011, 12:05:05 AM
 #42

There is NO instruction to download 11.5 in Inaba guide. He wrote to download AMD APP, not catalyst 11.5.
Besides, catalyst 11.5 comes with Ubuntu 11.04 synaptic packages. You are not downloading or installing separately catalyst 11.5.

My bad, didn't really pay attention to it being "Inaba guide".  I used a different guide, it had me download Catalyst 11.5.  When I saw 11.6 was out, I just changed the numbers and grabbed 11.6 at the same URL.

--

If you like what I've written here, consider tipping the messenger:
1GZu4CtHa6ai8iWoWiVFxV5VVoNte4SkoG

If you don't like what I've written, send me a Tip and I'll stop talking.
IlbiStarz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 06:20:23 AM
 #43

There is NO instruction to download 11.5 in Inaba guide. He wrote to download AMD APP, not catalyst 11.5.
Besides, catalyst 11.5 comes with Ubuntu 11.04 synaptic packages. You are not downloading or installing separately catalyst 11.5.

My bad, didn't really pay attention to it being "Inaba guide".  I used a different guide, it had me download Catalyst 11.5.  When I saw 11.6 was out, I just changed the numbers and grabbed 11.6 at the same URL.

Could you post the guide you used please?

It's better to be pissed off, than to be pissed on.
BTC : 1UgM1rqL9mFtH4PHF8TgvAaceymaKmhmP         LTC : LgCGw2WrRphr94RYS1qXHj2PUuYrTap4vk
FC : 6jc9PEmqxpMSxydfepHtshE4f2jMom1dAJ
IlbiStarz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 08:16:21 AM
 #44

Guys can you help :O

On that guide, when I go to the Synaptic viewer, only the first two fglrx's have green boxes in front of them. dev and moda are not installed. I try uninstalling the first two, and running the 11.6. After it finishes, i can't sudo aticonfig --initial -f --adapter=all, i just gives me errors. Rebooting locks up my computer at the Ubuntu loading screen Sad

That happened the first time when I tried this. I was using Inaba's guide before, so I had SDK 2.4 already. I tried a fresh install, but the same things happened. I can't get 11.6 to work.

How did you guys install 11.6?

It's better to be pissed off, than to be pissed on.
BTC : 1UgM1rqL9mFtH4PHF8TgvAaceymaKmhmP         LTC : LgCGw2WrRphr94RYS1qXHj2PUuYrTap4vk
FC : 6jc9PEmqxpMSxydfepHtshE4f2jMom1dAJ
Vwlopez3
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile WWW
June 29, 2011, 10:04:51 AM
 #45

Guys can you help :O

On that guide, when I go to the Synaptic viewer, only the first two fglrx's have green boxes in front of them. dev and moda are not installed. I try uninstalling the first two, and running the 11.6. After it finishes, i can't sudo aticonfig --initial -f --adapter=all, i just gives me errors. Rebooting locks up my computer at the Ubuntu loading screen Sad

That happened the first time when I tried this. I was using Inaba's guide before, so I had SDK 2.4 already. I tried a fresh install, but the same things happened. I can't get 11.6 to work.

How did you guys install 11.6?
\
Have you tried booting into recovery mode in the grub menu, then booting into Ubuntu with on of the graphics options then installing 11.6 and rebooting

19G8b28qHHM7yACCwwWfikGv7QimEsHyga
Rob P.
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile WWW
June 29, 2011, 12:40:05 PM
 #46

Could you post the guide you used please?

Sure:  http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=9239.0

--

If you like what I've written here, consider tipping the messenger:
1GZu4CtHa6ai8iWoWiVFxV5VVoNte4SkoG

If you don't like what I've written, send me a Tip and I'll stop talking.
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 09:04:22 PM
 #47

In that he downloaded run file & then converted to deb package & installed.
But Ubuntu 11.04 able to run "run" files with sudo sh
Rob P.
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile WWW
June 29, 2011, 09:51:16 PM
 #48

In that he downloaded run file & then converted to deb package & installed.
But Ubuntu 11.04 able to run "run" files with sudo sh

Not sure I understand what you're saying.

--

If you like what I've written here, consider tipping the messenger:
1GZu4CtHa6ai8iWoWiVFxV5VVoNte4SkoG

If you don't like what I've written, send me a Tip and I'll stop talking.
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 09:23:59 AM
 #49

In that he downloaded run file & then converted to deb package & installed.
But Ubuntu 11.04 able to run "run" files with sudo sh

Not sure I understand what you're saying.

In Ubuntu you don't need to convert run file to deb file.
Make it executable by issuing chmod +x & then run with root access

Code:
chmod +x ati-driver-installer-11-6-x86.x86_64.run
sudo sh ati-driver-installer-11-6-x86.x86_64.run
sudo aticonfig --initial -f --adapter=all
sudo reboot
Rob P.
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile WWW
July 01, 2011, 06:54:31 PM
 #50

In Ubuntu you don't need to convert run file to deb file.
Make it executable by issuing chmod +x & then run with root access

Code:
chmod +x ati-driver-installer-11-6-x86.x86_64.run
sudo sh ati-driver-installer-11-6-x86.x86_64.run
sudo aticonfig --initial -f --adapter=all
sudo reboot

Guess you should point that out to the original OP.  I'll test that the next time I build a box.  However, it creates like 3 .deb packages, I suppose that may make it easier to uninstall them in the future?  Not sure what just running it directly would do from an installation standpoint.

--

If you like what I've written here, consider tipping the messenger:
1GZu4CtHa6ai8iWoWiVFxV5VVoNte4SkoG

If you don't like what I've written, send me a Tip and I'll stop talking.
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
July 01, 2011, 07:58:51 PM
 #51

yes creating .deb package creates 3 files. I tired to install that when i tried in the beginning, but i can't. i am still newbie in Linux. Inaba Ubuntu guide & my above posted method me to mine. so just let it mine for now. Still i want to go back to windows only, as it gives lots of tweaking options & software control & i don't have to remember commands.
Rob P.
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile WWW
July 01, 2011, 09:25:24 PM
 #52

yes creating .deb package creates 3 files. I tired to install that when i tried in the beginning, but i can't. i am still newbie in Linux. Inaba Ubuntu guide & my above posted method me to mine. so just let it mine for now. Still i want to go back to windows only, as it gives lots of tweaking options & software control & i don't have to remember commands.

Of course under Windows people will steal your wallet.dat for clicking on a link on a web page, but to each their own.  Wink

--

If you like what I've written here, consider tipping the messenger:
1GZu4CtHa6ai8iWoWiVFxV5VVoNte4SkoG

If you don't like what I've written, send me a Tip and I'll stop talking.
markabark
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
July 24, 2011, 10:02:49 PM
 #53

Catalyst 11.6 in Linux allows you to bypass the BIOS limits now. 11.5 didn't.

Code:
Adapter 0 - ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    975           300
             Current Peak :    975           300
  Configurable Peak Range : [600-875]     [900-1200]
                 GPU load :    99%

I've tested it on both Sapphire and Gigabyte 5830 cards.

Cheers,
Kermee

Interestingly, glakkeclock (which is an excellent program BTW) can't overclock my 5830, which aticonfig can.

I ran into this with my throttling script where I use glakkeclock to read the card temperature and adjust the core clock to keep the temp at a preset limit. On my 5830, glakkeclock can't get the gpu above 900 MHz but when I substitute aticonfig I can go as high as I like.

I need the auto-throttling because I keep my miner in the garage and it goes above 40C in there in the summer. I reckon it's better to lose a little performance than pay to air condition my 80C cards.
Pages: « 1 2 [3]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!