Bitcoin Forum
October 20, 2017, 08:57:53 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Rebranded 5870 (6870) for only $130 on Newegg  (Read 847 times)
SardonicJester
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 174



View Profile
May 09, 2013, 01:37:41 PM
 #1

I posted this in Mining Hardware, but I figured it would probably be more helpful here in the Newbies section.


Someone on this forum showed me this and I figured I would share with the community.

Link: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814202032

These are 6870's that are really just rebranded 5870's.
So they pull over 400 mh/s-kh/s without the need to overclock.
All for $130 ($120 after the mail-in rebate).

That's over 100 mh/s-kh/s more than a typical 6870, for the same price as a used 6870 on Ebay.

Hurry and get yours before the vultures come, buy them all up, and then try to sell them at a ridiculous mark-up.


Fan mail:


Quote
You should learn how to keep your mouth shut and maybe youd be able to make some money in this business. If you tell the world than the short run they are doing on them will be gone in minutes. If only a few people figure it out at a time that allows people who know what there doing to make the money. Anyways a little piece of advice.
This is a hobby for me. I am not in this to get rich. I am here to have fun and support the currency, so I much rather help out others looking to get into mining by spreading this deal while it lasts.

BTC: 16MVAfpw1NCSg2HBYb6ufSXFxVreqPU7KL          LTC: LSBBSTmDQY68bn9DwFDrLwJLU8xqXT6tW2          VTC: Veh8z16JBf83gznnt8riynDgeaqkDP2cJp                     

Reputation Thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=259015.0
1508489873
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508489873

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508489873
Reply with quote  #2

1508489873
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508489873
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508489873

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508489873
Reply with quote  #2

1508489873
Report to moderator
miningusa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
May 09, 2013, 01:58:33 PM
 #2

Interesting but not for me.
SardonicJester
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 174



View Profile
May 09, 2013, 02:15:18 PM
 #3

not at all the same, only has 1 gb ram

Wow, didn't even notice that. But that doesn't affect it's mining capabilities does it?

EDIT: Aren't most 5870's only 1gb of ram???

BTC: 16MVAfpw1NCSg2HBYb6ufSXFxVreqPU7KL          LTC: LSBBSTmDQY68bn9DwFDrLwJLU8xqXT6tW2          VTC: Veh8z16JBf83gznnt8riynDgeaqkDP2cJp                     

Reputation Thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=259015.0
El Cabron
Gnomo
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 840



View Profile
May 09, 2013, 02:32:33 PM
 #4

not at all the same, only has 1 gb ram

Wow, didn't even notice that. But that doesn't affect it's mining capabilities does it?

EDIT: Aren't most 5870's only 1gb of ram???

no

also i think this will use for electric and mine less btc.

also its going to be fail for ltc.

Sorry El Cabron, you are banned from posting or sending personal messages on this forum.
Trolling
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622250.msg7030081#msg7030081
SardonicJester
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 174



View Profile
May 09, 2013, 02:56:22 PM
 #5

not at all the same, only has 1 gb ram

Wow, didn't even notice that. But that doesn't affect it's mining capabilities does it?

EDIT: Aren't most 5870's only 1gb of ram???

no

also i think this will use for electric and mine less btc.

also its going to be fail for ltc.

Hmmm. I guess I will be the guinea pig then.

I have 3 coming and will test them mining LTC.

Since we are in the Newbies section (and I am still pretty much noob), can you explain to me why this would fail for LTC?

My dedicated rig right now is 3 - Barts 6870's (MSI twin Frozr 1gb cards) and they work well for me.
Why wouldn't these, since they are the Cypress (same as 5870s), perform about 100kh/s better than my barts 6870s?

BTC: 16MVAfpw1NCSg2HBYb6ufSXFxVreqPU7KL          LTC: LSBBSTmDQY68bn9DwFDrLwJLU8xqXT6tW2          VTC: Veh8z16JBf83gznnt8riynDgeaqkDP2cJp                     

Reputation Thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=259015.0
tahar
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
May 09, 2013, 03:01:23 PM
 #6


...

Since we are in the Newbies section (and I am still pretty much noob), can you explain to me why this would fail for LTC?

...

I would presume because the Scrypt algorithm method used by LTC mining is more dependant on using Random Access Memory in conjuntion with the GPU processor(s).

Litecoin Kamikaze Game (http://litecoinkamikaze.com/ref/11196)
SardonicJester
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 174



View Profile
May 09, 2013, 03:08:37 PM
 #7

ltc uses scrypt and that needs ram

So you are saying that they will perform the same as my current 6870's just because they both only have 1 gb of ram?

I thought most 5870s were only 1gb and the only one with 2gb was the toxic.

So, everyone with over  ~330kh/s in this table had to be using the 2gb version?
https://github.com/litecoin-project/litecoin/wiki/Mining-hardware-comparison#wiki-ATI_AMD_GPUs

Well if that's the case, damn.  Undecided

Well, like I said, I guess I will be the test subject. If these do/don't produce more, then I will post here and update. (And send the cards back/sell them if they don't)

BTC: 16MVAfpw1NCSg2HBYb6ufSXFxVreqPU7KL          LTC: LSBBSTmDQY68bn9DwFDrLwJLU8xqXT6tW2          VTC: Veh8z16JBf83gznnt8riynDgeaqkDP2cJp                     

Reputation Thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=259015.0
Kennji
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


Mine Litecoins.


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 03:56:24 PM
 #8

not at all the same, only has 1 gb ram

Wow, didn't even notice that. But that doesn't affect it's mining capabilities does it?

EDIT: Aren't most 5870's only 1gb of ram???

no

also i think this will use for electric and mine less btc.

also its going to be fail for ltc.

My 1gb ram 7850 gets about 380khash

Not too bad for 155 bucks.

LTC - LKcrBEAbuW85obSbHnmw7y8XWWufWqjsxx
BTC - 1JseeJ4h2XsShmaj1ci2J3kWA6qhCfj52U
SardonicJester
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 174



View Profile
May 09, 2013, 04:09:41 PM
 #9

Quote
My 1gb ram 7850 gets about 380khash

Not too bad for 155 bucks.

And my Barts 6870's get ~300kh/s.

So if these are in fact using the Cypress (5870) build, I don't see why they would not get ~400kh/s.

BTC: 16MVAfpw1NCSg2HBYb6ufSXFxVreqPU7KL          LTC: LSBBSTmDQY68bn9DwFDrLwJLU8xqXT6tW2          VTC: Veh8z16JBf83gznnt8riynDgeaqkDP2cJp                     

Reputation Thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=259015.0
shaunb
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 04:18:44 PM
 #10

ltc uses scrypt and that needs ram

I have 30x 5870's and they have 1 GB of ram each.  They mine at ~430 kh/s each and don't use any more than 500 MB of their dedicated memory.
notaek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


✔Hire me as a manager http://bit.ly/notaek


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2013, 04:27:34 PM
 #11


...

Since we are in the Newbies section (and I am still pretty much noob), can you explain to me why this would fail for LTC?

...

I would presume because the Scrypt algorithm method used by LTC mining is more dependant on using Random Access Memory in conjuntion with the GPU processor(s).

Depending on what you have your thread concurrency set to, mining will use less or more ram.  In the case of cards with less vram, the optimal thread concurrency values typically end up being in a range that it suitable for the amount of vram the card has.  My 6950s use 500mb and they are the 1gb versions.  Mine at 450khps each.

shaunb
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 04:35:26 PM
 #12

According to https://github.com/litecoin-project/litecoin/wiki/Mining-hardware-comparison the fastest hashing 6870 does only 355 kh/s.

Interested to know what you get out of the ones you ordered.
SardonicJester
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 174



View Profile
May 09, 2013, 04:44:10 PM
 #13

According to https://github.com/litecoin-project/litecoin/wiki/Mining-hardware-comparison the fastest hashing 6870 does only 355 kh/s.

Interested to know what you get out of the ones you ordered.

These are rebranded 5870's. So they are using the Cypress processors. So they should pull the same as a 5870.

*Disclaimer*

I do not own any of these yet. I ordered 3 and will receive them probably on Monday. I am basing this on the Feedback given of the people reporting that this card is identified as a 5800 series Cypress card.

If it is a true, rebranded, 5870 in 6870 clothing - it should produce the same/comparable numbers as a 5870.

BTC: 16MVAfpw1NCSg2HBYb6ufSXFxVreqPU7KL          LTC: LSBBSTmDQY68bn9DwFDrLwJLU8xqXT6tW2          VTC: Veh8z16JBf83gznnt8riynDgeaqkDP2cJp                     

Reputation Thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=259015.0
SardonicJester
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 174



View Profile
May 10, 2013, 05:26:13 PM
 #14

Quote
i dont think you are buying what you think you are buying.

i rejected 6870s as replacements for 5850s

Well I guess we will just have to wait and see. Tracking number says I will get them on Monday.
I will post results.

BTC: 16MVAfpw1NCSg2HBYb6ufSXFxVreqPU7KL          LTC: LSBBSTmDQY68bn9DwFDrLwJLU8xqXT6tW2          VTC: Veh8z16JBf83gznnt8riynDgeaqkDP2cJp                     

Reputation Thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=259015.0
notaek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


✔Hire me as a manager http://bit.ly/notaek


View Profile WWW
May 10, 2013, 05:28:02 PM
 #15

Quote
i dont think you are buying what you think you are buying.

i rejected 6870s as replacements for 5850s

Well I guess we will just have to wait and see. Tracking number says I will get them on Monday.
I will post results.

I'll take bets on it.  This is a 5870

reneg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 05:30:58 PM
 #16

And it's gone...
SardonicJester
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 174



View Profile
May 10, 2013, 05:45:57 PM
 #17

Quote
i dont think you are buying what you think you are buying.

i rejected 6870s as replacements for 5850s

Well I guess we will just have to wait and see. Tracking number says I will get them on Monday.
I will post results.

I'll take bets on it.  This is a 5870

I agree. I am fairly sure also.

If not, that means Newegg AND Sapphire both had mistakes on their websites.

Either way, it doesn't matter to me. I am selling my 3 Barts 6870s to pay for these anyways. So as long as they hit the same or more, I am happy.

I will just be extra happy if they pull about 100 kh/s more  Grin

BTC: 16MVAfpw1NCSg2HBYb6ufSXFxVreqPU7KL          LTC: LSBBSTmDQY68bn9DwFDrLwJLU8xqXT6tW2          VTC: Veh8z16JBf83gznnt8riynDgeaqkDP2cJp                     

Reputation Thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=259015.0
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!