Bitcoin Forum
April 26, 2024, 05:41:16 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [YAC]: YaCoin Information Thread  (Read 20749 times)
rbdrbd (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 12, 2013, 02:07:08 PM
 #41

All updated.
You get merit points when someone likes your post enough to give you some. And for every 2 merit points you receive, you can send 1 merit point to someone else!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714153276
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714153276

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714153276
Reply with quote  #2

1714153276
Report to moderator
fishboy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 12, 2013, 02:17:23 PM
 #42

Please add this faucet:
http://yac-faucet.tk/

nice faucet Smiley very unique Smiley

bitdwarf
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250


The cryptocoin watcher


View Profile
May 12, 2013, 03:09:24 PM
 #43

I've written a throttling script for Linux to tune down yacoin-qt when core temperature is too high:

Thread: http://yacointalk.com/index.php/topic,34.0.html

Code:

Code:
#!/bin/bash
while true
do
t=$(sensors|grep Core|awk '{print $3}'|cut -b2,3|awk '{if (NR==1) print $1}');
brake=$(ps -e|grep cpulimit);
if [[ $t > 65 && ! $brake ]]; then
cpulimit -e yacoin-qt -l 99 -b > /dev/null 2>&1;
echo "Temperature is $t. Throttling down...";
sleep 15;
elif [[ $t < 65 && $brake ]]; then
killall cpulimit;
echo "Temperature is $t. Throttling up...";
sleep 5;
else
sleep 3;
fi
done

You may need to install first cpulimit.

When you finish it with Ctrl+C it may leave cpulimit running, you'll have to kill it afterwards.

Modifications are welcome.

𝖄𝖆𝖈: YF3feU4PNLHrjwa1zV63BcCdWVk5z6DAh5 · 𝕭𝖙𝖈: 12F78M4oaNmyGE5C25ZixarG2Nk6UBEqme
Ɏ: "the altcoin for the everyman, where the sweat on one's brow can be used to cool one's overheating CPU" -- theprofileth
biaka
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 12, 2013, 10:12:20 PM
 #44

Please add this faucet:
http://yac-faucet.tk/

Done~
jomay
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 167
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 12, 2013, 10:37:20 PM
 #45

I was under the impression PPCoin's PoS was not really working yet, and that nobody else had done any development on it...

Update after reading some code:
  • Nfactor is only used for memory allocation size - so it has no actual effect on the implementation; in other words, N is not dynamic
  • The code is quite messy, and even something as simple as the memory allocator is broken (it pretty much ignores the size of the allocation request)

I think this one gets a "scamcoin" classification...

Luke-Jr, interesting comment. I had a brief go at the code as well, but can't confirm your findings. Maybe you were a bit quick shouting "scamcoin", eh?
  • Yes, the scrypt codebase is ugly. #define's and #ifdefs everywhere. Is this a copy of the original scrypt?
  • The scrypt romix code in scrypt-jane-romix-template.h (function called SCRYPT_ROMIX_FN) does use N (i.e. Nfactor) looping from 1 to N, in addition to increasing the mem size by N. I don't know enough about the underlying crypto, but I believe complexity scales at least by O(N2).
  • The allocate and free methods are totally fine. You have tripped over an #ifdef:
Code:
#if defined(SCRYPT_TEST_SPEED)
// jomay: I left out the test code - this is the one you've read.
// It works fine in practice as well, but makes the scrypt() function non re-entrant.
#else
// jomay: here goes the real deal - fully functional, no mem leak, fine.
static scrypt_aligned_alloc scrypt_alloc(uint64_t size) {
    static const size_t max_alloc = (size_t)-1;
    scrypt_aligned_alloc aa;
    size += (SCRYPT_BLOCK_BYTES - 1);
    if (size > max_alloc)
        scrypt_fatal_error("scrypt: not enough address space on this CPU to allocate required memory");
    aa.mem = (uint8_t *)malloc((size_t)size);
    aa.ptr = (uint8_t *)(((size_t)aa.mem + (SCRYPT_BLOCK_BYTES - 1)) & ~(SCRYPT_BLOCK_BYTES - 1));
    if (!aa.mem)
        scrypt_fatal_error("scrypt: out of memory");
    return aa;
}

static void scrypt_free(scrypt_aligned_alloc *aa) {
    free(aa->mem);
}
#endif
[/li][/list]

BTC 1NoV8NFSB7eiuK2aABFtBTdUdXhbEdG7Ss
LTC LaFyWSfzKY7CKwwmbxhyf8S2iJvfT7JFtL YAC YKKwR5B64Z9ww971J42vEGVPaema623Tz6
saudibull
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0



View Profile
May 12, 2013, 10:44:23 PM
 #46

A lot of pumpin and dumpin going on at bter...
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186



View Profile
May 13, 2013, 01:09:06 AM
 #47

I was under the impression PPCoin's PoS was not really working yet, and that nobody else had done any development on it...

Update after reading some code:
  • Nfactor is only used for memory allocation size - so it has no actual effect on the implementation; in other words, N is not dynamic
  • The code is quite messy, and even something as simple as the memory allocator is broken (it pretty much ignores the size of the allocation request)

I think this one gets a "scamcoin" classification...

Luke-Jr, interesting comment. I had a brief go at the code as well, but can't confirm your findings. Maybe you were a bit quick shouting "scamcoin", eh?
  • Yes, the scrypt codebase is ugly. #define's and #ifdefs everywhere. Is this a copy of the original scrypt?
  • The scrypt romix code in scrypt-jane-romix-template.h (function called SCRYPT_ROMIX_FN) does use N (i.e. Nfactor) looping from 1 to N, in addition to increasing the mem size by N. I don't know enough about the underlying crypto, but I believe complexity scales at least by O(N2).
  • The allocate and free methods are totally fine. You have tripped over an #ifdef:
Code:
#if defined(SCRYPT_TEST_SPEED)
// jomay: I left out the test code - this is the one you've read.
// It works fine in practice as well, but makes the scrypt() function non re-entrant.
#else
// jomay: here goes the real deal - fully functional, no mem leak, fine.
static scrypt_aligned_alloc scrypt_alloc(uint64_t size) {
    static const size_t max_alloc = (size_t)-1;
    scrypt_aligned_alloc aa;
    size += (SCRYPT_BLOCK_BYTES - 1);
    if (size > max_alloc)
        scrypt_fatal_error("scrypt: not enough address space on this CPU to allocate required memory");
    aa.mem = (uint8_t *)malloc((size_t)size);
    aa.ptr = (uint8_t *)(((size_t)aa.mem + (SCRYPT_BLOCK_BYTES - 1)) & ~(SCRYPT_BLOCK_BYTES - 1));
    if (!aa.mem)
        scrypt_fatal_error("scrypt: out of memory");
    return aa;
}

static void scrypt_free(scrypt_aligned_alloc *aa) {
    free(aa->mem);
}
#endif
This isn't the code I saw (yacoin's github master branch).
Where did it come from?

jomay
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 167
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 13, 2013, 08:21:55 AM
 #48

I was under the impression PPCoin's PoS was not really working yet, and that nobody else had done any development on it...

Update after reading some code:
  • Nfactor is only used for memory allocation size - so it has no actual effect on the implementation; in other words, N is not dynamic
  • The code is quite messy, and even something as simple as the memory allocator is broken (it pretty much ignores the size of the allocation request)

I think this one gets a "scamcoin" classification...

Luke-Jr, interesting comment. I had a brief go at the code as well, but can't confirm your findings. Maybe you were a bit quick shouting "scamcoin", eh?
  • Yes, the scrypt codebase is ugly. #define's and #ifdefs everywhere. Is this a copy of the original scrypt?
  • The scrypt romix code in scrypt-jane-romix-template.h (function called SCRYPT_ROMIX_FN) does use N (i.e. Nfactor) looping from 1 to N, in addition to increasing the mem size by N. I don't know enough about the underlying crypto, but I believe complexity scales at least by O(N2).
  • The allocate and free methods are totally fine. You have tripped over an #ifdef:
Code:
#if defined(SCRYPT_TEST_SPEED)
// jomay: I left out the test code - this is the one you've read.
// It works fine in practice as well, but makes the scrypt() function non re-entrant.
#else
// jomay: here goes the real deal - fully functional, no mem leak, fine.
static scrypt_aligned_alloc scrypt_alloc(uint64_t size) {
    static const size_t max_alloc = (size_t)-1;
    scrypt_aligned_alloc aa;
    size += (SCRYPT_BLOCK_BYTES - 1);
    if (size > max_alloc)
        scrypt_fatal_error("scrypt: not enough address space on this CPU to allocate required memory");
    aa.mem = (uint8_t *)malloc((size_t)size);
    aa.ptr = (uint8_t *)(((size_t)aa.mem + (SCRYPT_BLOCK_BYTES - 1)) & ~(SCRYPT_BLOCK_BYTES - 1));
    if (!aa.mem)
        scrypt_fatal_error("scrypt: out of memory");
    return aa;
}

static void scrypt_free(scrypt_aligned_alloc *aa) {
    free(aa->mem);
}
#endif
This isn't the code I saw (yacoin's github master branch).
Where did it come from?

YACoins scrypt-jane master branch: https://github.com/pocopoco/yacoin/blob/master/src/scrypt-jane/

scrypt_alloc is at lines 86-129. As clearly stated above, the posted code simply leaves out the SCRYPT_TEST_SPEED #ifdef branch: https://github.com/pocopoco/yacoin/blob/master/src/scrypt-jane/scrypt-jane.c

SCRYPT_ROMIX_FN is defined here: https://github.com/pocopoco/yacoin/blob/master/src/scrypt-jane/code/scrypt-jane-romix-template.h

Where did you look at?

BTC 1NoV8NFSB7eiuK2aABFtBTdUdXhbEdG7Ss
LTC LaFyWSfzKY7CKwwmbxhyf8S2iJvfT7JFtL YAC YKKwR5B64Z9ww971J42vEGVPaema623Tz6
Shevek
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 13, 2013, 08:48:28 AM
 #49

Yet Another cryptocoin that does not address the main problem of bitcoin: the recentralization via pools.

A lot of effort to discourage GPUs and ASICs, but pools are still an option.

Bad, bad, bad...

Proposals for improving bitcoin are like asses: everybody has one
1SheveKuPHpzpLqSvPSavik9wnC51voBa
sairon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250


One does not simply mine Bitcoins


View Profile
May 13, 2013, 08:59:24 AM
 #50

Yet Another cryptocoin that does not address the main problem of bitcoin: the recentralization via pools.

A lot of effort to discourage GPUs and ASICs, but pools are still an option.

Bad, bad, bad...

I don't see any problem with pools, especially if it's p2pool.

GPG key ID: 5E4F108A || BTC: 1hoardyponb9AMWhyA28DZb5n5g2bRY8v
frediiii
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 335
Merit: 100



View Profile
May 13, 2013, 09:06:09 AM
 #51

I don't see any problem with pools

in a world without profit and greed I wouldn't see a problem as well...
ehmdjii
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 351
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 13, 2013, 09:21:15 AM
 #52

is there a mining pool that works over port 80?

BTC: 1LsD5HpnX1Kfyti7CnHiVB1rjUEXGqmR2H
LTC: LQbpdMZmYyJa9bJG6NweBNxkSTfgZorkrG
Shevek
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 13, 2013, 09:35:35 AM
Last edit: May 13, 2013, 01:11:26 PM by Shevek
 #53

Yet Another cryptocoin that does not address the main problem of bitcoin: the recentralization via pools.

A lot of effort to discourage GPUs and ASICs, but pools are still an option.

Bad, bad, bad...

I don't see any problem with pools,


Pools are ways to recentralize a distributed network. Instead of a lot of independent nodes, you have a few of important nodes, easily attackable.

See what happens in BTC with BTCGuild and later with DeepBit.

especially if it's p2pool.

A significative advance of YAC would have been a reward system that internally acts as p2pool does. If p2pool is only an option among others (these eventually more attractive because of less variance), it is no advance towards avoiding recentralization.

Proposals for improving bitcoin are like asses: everybody has one
1SheveKuPHpzpLqSvPSavik9wnC51voBa
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186



View Profile
May 13, 2013, 11:50:28 AM
 #54

Yet Another cryptocoin that does not address the main problem of bitcoin: the recentralization via pools.

A lot of effort to discourage GPUs and ASICs, but pools are still an option.

Bad, bad, bad...

And how would you fix that? There is no way to prevent 3rd parties from pointing hashpower to one node and use that node as miner connected to network.
Something similar to p2pool (but not exactly) could be integrated to Bitcoin in such a way that it makes centralized pooling infeasable.

Shevek
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 13, 2013, 01:20:35 PM
 #55

Yet Another cryptocoin that does not address the main problem of bitcoin: the recentralization via pools.

A lot of effort to discourage GPUs and ASICs, but pools are still an option.

Bad, bad, bad...

And how would you fix that? There is no way to prevent 3rd parties from pointing hashpower to one node and use that node as miner connected to network.

I follow this subforum, with the hope a new cryptocurrency comes with a solution to this matter, which would be IMHO a major break in crytocurrency development. But no chance...

In fact, I have my own ideas on how design a new CC with PoW where parallelization AND pools are severely discouraged. Perhaps in other thread.


Any sort of pool is centralization point. If I connect to P2Pool, my miner depends on data sent by that pool so I don't see where is the "improved decentralization" part of story.

You didn't catch the idea behind p2pool, did you? p2pool is a network of nodes, not a central server to where you call for getwork and send shares.

Proposals for improving bitcoin are like asses: everybody has one
1SheveKuPHpzpLqSvPSavik9wnC51voBa
rbdrbd (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 13, 2013, 04:05:20 PM
 #56

OP updated. Added pool http://yac.ltcoin.net
relm9
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 13, 2013, 05:21:36 PM
 #57

OP updated. Added pool http://yac.ltcoin.net

No, no, no, don't do it! Guy behind the pool is a proven scammer!

Yep, I remember his FTC pool that never paid out.
rbdrbd (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 14, 2013, 11:02:32 AM
 #58

OP updated. Added pool http://yac.ltcoin.net

No, no, no, don't do it! Guy behind the pool is a proven scammer!

Yep, I remember his FTC pool that never paid out.

Thanks, I removed this pool. Also added the first p2pool.
cebb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 545
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 15, 2013, 12:42:28 AM
 #59

Where can i find Network hashrate for YAcoin?
leadnor
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119
Merit: 10


For the Community! By the Community!


View Profile WWW
May 17, 2013, 12:56:00 PM
 #60

I have to say I ran yac.ltc pool for a day and he did manage to pay me out.


www.bitcoinza.com
BitCoin : 15e1QneZebxTZKwexnGmQMN9VzwR9DCsTf
LiteCoin : LcCKETJgjCVYoBc8Ep4JuaZKrPoQvZz6Vp
YAC - YL8SrYKDeS8NXAj7gQsLXTP5dXFgy63Txz - Yacoin Forum Moderator
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!