Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2017, 03:38:16 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: cgminer --scrypt: HW errors Beyond Intensity of 13?  (Read 4509 times)
nightengale
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 03:49:37 PM
 #1

I have a 7950 and 7970 and whenever I try to turn intensity up beyond 13, I start getting all sorts of HW errors...

Can anyone tell me what causes this?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508773096
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508773096

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508773096
Reply with quote  #2

1508773096
Report to moderator
1508773096
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508773096

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508773096
Reply with quote  #2

1508773096
Report to moderator
1508773096
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508773096

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508773096
Reply with quote  #2

1508773096
Report to moderator
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
May 09, 2013, 03:56:31 PM
 #2

Low thread concurrency.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
nightengale
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 04:11:58 PM
 #3

But when I try to increase thread concurrency, cgminer won't even start -- I get an error before the hashing screen loads?
Wepp
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 06:27:11 PM
 #4

I had the same problem.

Assuming you are using Windows, press and hold the Windows Key, then press R. to get the Run dialog to show.
In the run dialog, enter this and press OK:

setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100

Note that it must be entered exactly as shown. IT IS CASE SENSITIVE.

You should then be able to increase thread-concurrency, and also your intensity, without getting HW errors.
nightengale
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 06:36:05 PM
 #5

I've added that to the beginning of my .bat file and am tinkering with intensity now   : )

Thank you.
Wepp
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 06:41:00 PM
 #6

I've added that to the beginning of my .bat file and am tinkering with intensity now   : )

Thank you.

You're welcome, and in fact you don't need to do that command each time as part of your batch file. Just once is enough - it is saved as an Environment Variable after the first time you run it and it is remembered, even through system reboots and such.

Radacoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 07:10:59 PM
 #7

Low thread concurrency.

What would be the optimum concurrency setting for a 7970?
scifimike12
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 304



View Profile
May 09, 2013, 07:43:10 PM
 #8

What would be the optimum concurrency setting for a 7970?

8192
rhkazani1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
January 27, 2014, 12:35:22 AM
 #9

I had the same problem.

Assuming you are using Windows, press and hold the Windows Key, then press R. to get the Run dialog to show.
In the run dialog, enter this and press OK:

setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100

Note that it must be entered exactly as shown. IT IS CASE SENSITIVE.

You should then be able to increase thread-concurrency, and also your intensity, without getting HW errors.

Thanks man, you rock!

Another Quick Question, should i set these?

--auto-fan --auto-gpu --gpu-engine 1070 --gpu-memclock 1400?Huh?

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!