Bitcoin Forum
December 15, 2017, 05:22:50 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: cgminer a bit erratic  (Read 446 times)
fc_flumpker
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 09:40:31 PM
 #1

Running a 7970 in Windows 7/64.  I'm seeing some erratic behavior in cgminer and I'd appreciate some insight.  Randomly, cgminer appears to just stop doing anything.  No errors or anything, it just stops and the screen doesn't move.  This happens with FTC.  I also notice that while it is mining, video performance is spotty (blocks of blank pixels).  I'm not so worried about it since I don't need to use the box for anything else. 

When I tried once to do BTC, it ran for a minute then the video card just went nite-nite knocking out the power supply.  (I have it setup with a Antec 550W Plus psu just powering the video card - the PC is an HP Z400 with its stock psu powering everything else). 


I'm using the following for FTC
cgminer -o http://p2pool.org:9377 -u user -p pass --scrypt --intensity 15 -g 1 -w 256 --thread-concurrency 8192 --gpu-engine 1000 --gpu-memclock 1350

Here is the BTC config I tried:
cgminer -o stratum.btcguild.com:3333 -u user -p pass --intensity 15 -g 1 -w 256 --thread-concurrency 8192 --gpu-engine 1000 --gpu-memclock 1350
Satoshi is no god. He did not come down from the mountain with 10 golden rules engraved in stone for no one to question.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513315370
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513315370

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513315370
Reply with quote  #2

1513315370
Report to moderator
1513315370
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513315370

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513315370
Reply with quote  #2

1513315370
Report to moderator
1513315370
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513315370

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513315370
Reply with quote  #2

1513315370
Report to moderator
JesstersDead
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


I forgot where I put my wallet.dat


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2013, 09:44:45 PM
 #2

With a 7970(I run 4) it has been my experiance that anything above I 13 can cause a lot of hardware errors. Typically this only happened at -g 2, but I did get increased hardware errors with -g 1 as well. Personally I found the sweet spot for my WF 7970's was I 13, -g 2, TC 12000, w 256, and clocks at 1025/1500 w/ vddc @ 1100mv and powertune adjusted for heat/stability.

Cryptsy.com - USD markets coming soon. Go validate your account now!
fc_flumpker
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 11:23:54 PM
 #3

Just changing to I 13 bumped me up to 485Kh/s.  What is the -w for?  I don't think I see that in the --help.
JesstersDead
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


I forgot where I put my wallet.dat


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2013, 11:30:36 PM
 #4

--worksize|-w <arg> Override detected optimal worksize - one value or comma separated list

Cryptsy.com - USD markets coming soon. Go validate your account now!
JesstersDead
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


I forgot where I put my wallet.dat


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2013, 11:32:17 PM
 #5

You should be able to get 650+ out of your 7970 fairly easily. Mine average about 720 kh/s with the above stats. And since the intensity is low the PC's in question are still usable for web browsing etc.

Cryptsy.com - USD markets coming soon. Go validate your account now!
fc_flumpker
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 12:29:24 AM
 #6

I'm at 610Mh/s with:
cgminer -o stratum.btcguild.com:3333 -u user -p x --intensity 13 -g 1 -w 256 --thread-concurrency 12000 --gpu-engine 1025 --gpu-memclock 1500

and the fan is manually set to 70% and the temp is at 73C.
fc_flumpker
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 12:37:44 AM
 #7

That didn't last long.  In about 5 minutes, the video card went out again. 
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!