Bitcoin Forum
October 20, 2017, 02:16:25 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: My 7990 Malta Results (GigaByte)  (Read 3732 times)
greaterninja
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 01:47:35 AM
 #1

Using catalyst 13.4

gpu @ 1000mhz (stock)
I mine 576mh/s  per core

so 1140 mh/s to 1150mh/s at stock speeds.


gonna try catalyst 13.5 beta

Pros:  hashes over 1 gigahash/s  easy.  1100 is pretty easy to hit.
Uses 375-390 watts for entire card.


Cons:  issue with this card is it gets hot.  
1200mh/s is pushing temps up pretty high.
-  did not come with $400 worth of games like people say online.

future goal:  figure out best settings to overclock this card.
test 13.5 beta drivers, use msi afterburner, use trixx software, try Gigabyte OC Guru Software.
1508465785
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508465785

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508465785
Reply with quote  #2

1508465785
Report to moderator
1508465785
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508465785

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508465785
Reply with quote  #2

1508465785
Report to moderator
1508465785
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508465785

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508465785
Reply with quote  #2

1508465785
Report to moderator
"This isn't the kind of software where we can leave so many unresolved bugs that we need a tracker for them." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508465785
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508465785

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508465785
Reply with quote  #2

1508465785
Report to moderator
notaek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


✔Hire me as a manager http://bit.ly/notaek


View Profile WWW
May 10, 2013, 01:56:24 AM
 #2

Sooooooooo dogie was wrong then

greaterninja
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 02:00:49 AM
 #3

Sooooooooo dogie was wrong then

Although I called him a moron he was wrong and right.

It does do 1+  gigahash easy and will run under 77-80C.  It is quite power efficient as well.

the card runs hot when doing over 1100mh/s , but it still does perform.  I believe if the right cooling solution is put on there it can easily do 1360 to 1500+ mh/s

not having a gaming bundle with it sucks too.

If this 7990 had an aftermarket Sapphire Cooling solution or even water-cooling,  it would probably kick some serious ass.

Delarock
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 241



View Profile
May 10, 2013, 02:08:42 AM
 #4

Have you tried it with scrypt?

Voltage locked?

██
█║█
║║║
║║║
█║█
██

                    ▄██▄
                  ▄██████▄
                ▄██████████
              ▄██████████▀   ▄▄
            ▄██████████▀   ▄████▄
          ▄██████████▀    ████████▄
         ██████████▀      ▀████████
         ▀███████▀   ▄███▄  ▀████▀   ▄█▄
    ▄███▄  ▀███▀   ▄███████▄  ▀▀   ▄█████▄
  ▄███████▄      ▄██████████     ▄█████████
  █████████    ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
   ▀█████▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
     ▀▀▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ▀███████▀      █████████▀
            ▀███▀   ▄██▄  ▀█████▀
                  ▄██████▄  ▀▀▀
                  █████████
                   ▀█████▀
                     ▀▀▀
e i d o o
██


                    ▄██▄
                  ▄██████▄
                ▄██████████
              ▄██████████▀   ▄▄
            ▄██████████▀   ▄████▄
          ▄██████████▀    ████████▄
         ██████████▀      ▀████████
         ▀███████▀   ▄███▄  ▀████▀   ▄█▄
    ▄███▄  ▀███▀   ▄███████▄  ▀▀   ▄█████▄
  ▄███████▄      ▄██████████     ▄█████████
  █████████    ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
   ▀█████▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
     ▀▀▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ▀███████▀      █████████▀
            ▀███▀   ▄██▄  ▀█████▀
                  ▄██████▄  ▀▀▀
                  █████████
                   ▀█████▀
                     ▀▀▀
██
█║█
║║║
║║║
█║█
██
relm9
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840



View Profile
May 10, 2013, 02:10:18 AM
 #5

Didn't come with the games? It should, AMD said so in the product announcement, maybe contact the retailer you bought from.

Thanks for the impressions. I too am curious how it performs mining scrypt, and what the temps are like.

These cards are selling out fast, never see them in stock on Newegg...
greaterninja
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 02:39:14 AM
 #6

Have you tried it with scrypt?

Voltage locked?

Have not tried scrypt, I might try it, but its gonna be after I'm done testing btc mining.

Its not voltage locked in AMD PowerTune / Catalyst.   It is Voltage locked in GigaBytes OC Guru.

Memory will not downclock more than 850 mhz, if you go lower it will bump it back to 1500mhz.


Bitcoin hashing seems to be stable with the card downvolted.   It can do 1120-1150mhash/sec but that puts it 79-85C.

There is literally a 5-6+ C difference between both GPUs when maxing them out bitcoin mining.
fran2k
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


View Profile WWW
May 10, 2013, 06:53:44 AM
 #7

Wooo. Great improvement from 7950/7970s then.
greaterninja
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 06:59:48 AM
 #8

Wooo. Great improvement from 7950/7970s then.




It is a giga hash card... a 1-1.26 giga hash card, however it runs hot and it is pricey.   Its ROI at todays prices would be 7-10 months if mining bitcoin.   Litecoin should be shorter time.   Too long for me to wait really.

Also another update on temps:   gpu1 @ 88C, gpu2@ 79C.     The engineering of the cooler when in closed case is very poor and unbalanced.


I am thinking of getting all sapphire 7950 and sapphire 7970 or sapphire 7870xt now.

I have another sapphire 7990 coming, however I think it will do the same as the gigabyte because it has the same design.

My next step is to test Litecoin mining.
BBQKorv
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280



View Profile
May 10, 2013, 07:40:54 AM
 #9

Wooo. Great improvement from 7950/7970s then.




It is a giga hash card... a 1-1.26 giga hash card, however it runs hot and it is pricey.   Its ROI at todays prices would be 7-10 months if mining bitcoin.   Litecoin should be shorter time.   Too long for me to wait really.

Also another update on temps:   gpu1 @ 88C, gpu2@ 79C.     The engineering of the cooler when in closed case is very poor and unbalanced.


I am thinking of getting all sapphire 7950 and sapphire 7970 or sapphire 7870xt now.

I have another sapphire 7990 coming, however I think it will do the same as the gigabyte because it has the same design.

My next step is to test Litecoin mining.

And my Club3D 7990s do 1.2GHs and stays under 84C with the hotter core. I guess the 3 slot design wasn't that unnecessary after all.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
May 10, 2013, 05:27:53 PM
 #10

Wooo. Great improvement from 7950/7970s then.




It is a giga hash card... a 1-1.26 giga hash card, however it runs hot and it is pricey.   Its ROI at todays prices would be 7-10 months if mining bitcoin.   Litecoin should be shorter time.   Too long for me to wait really.

Also another update on temps:   gpu1 @ 88C, gpu2@ 79C.     The engineering of the cooler when in closed case is very poor and unbalanced.


I am thinking of getting all sapphire 7950 and sapphire 7970 or sapphire 7870xt now.

I have another sapphire 7990 coming, however I think it will do the same as the gigabyte because it has the same design.

My next step is to test Litecoin mining.

And my Club3D 7990s do 1.2GHs and stays under 84C with the hotter core. I guess the 3 slot design wasn't that unnecessary after all.

As much as I hate to say it, I told you so Sad My 3 slot cooler struggles like hell on the hottest 2nd card when overclocked, I shudder to think how that 2 slot is coping. Because of the 3 slot I'm able to hit 1350ish per card without going above stock voltage.

I'm interested to see the scrypt results although I think we're going to see some power (and/or thermal) throttling as it bounces off the edge. Personally I'd be wary about attempting it at all as if the card isn't software limited to 375W then you might damage some of the power regulation on the board, or even worse, on the mobo.

greaterninja
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 06:12:21 PM
 #11

Wooo. Great improvement from 7950/7970s then.




It is a giga hash card... a 1-1.26 giga hash card, however it runs hot and it is pricey.   Its ROI at todays prices would be 7-10 months if mining bitcoin.   Litecoin should be shorter time.   Too long for me to wait really.

Also another update on temps:   gpu1 @ 88C, gpu2@ 79C.     The engineering of the cooler when in closed case is very poor and unbalanced.


I am thinking of getting all sapphire 7950 and sapphire 7970 or sapphire 7870xt now.

I have another sapphire 7990 coming, however I think it will do the same as the gigabyte because it has the same design.

My next step is to test Litecoin mining.

And my Club3D 7990s do 1.2GHs and stays under 84C with the hotter core. I guess the 3 slot design wasn't that unnecessary after all.

As much as I hate to say it, I told you so Sad My 3 slot cooler struggles like hell on the hottest 2nd card when overclocked, I shudder to think how that 2 slot is coping. Because of the 3 slot I'm able to hit 1350ish per card without going above stock voltage.

I'm interested to see the scrypt results although I think we're going to see some power (and/or thermal) throttling as it bounces off the edge. Personally I'd be wary about attempting it at all as if the card isn't software limited to 375W then you might damage some of the power regulation on the board, or even worse, on the mobo.

You told me and the community lots of things most of them were not accurate.  The only thing you might be right about is the temps on the card.  That remains to be determined as it seems you have significantly more cooling on your rigs.
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
May 10, 2013, 06:24:52 PM
 #12

gpu @ 1000mhz (stock)
I mine 576mh/s  per core
Wait, back up. Why are these slower per clock than a typical 7970? 1000MHz should be closer to 600MH/s.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
scifimike12
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 304



View Profile
May 10, 2013, 06:30:41 PM
 #13

Wait, back up. Why are these slower per clock than a typical 7970? 1000MHz should be closer to 600MH/s.

I was thinking the same thing.  Probably has the wrong settings.
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
May 10, 2013, 06:32:49 PM
 #14

Wait, back up. Why are these slower per clock than a typical 7970? 1000MHz should be closer to 600MH/s.
I was thinking the same thing.  Probably has the wrong settings.
How can you have the wrong settings? I"m using 13.4, and the CGMiner defaults get me the best hashrate: -k poclbm -v1 -w64 -g2 -I7.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
scifimike12
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 304



View Profile
May 10, 2013, 06:36:19 PM
 #15

How can you have the wrong settings? I"m using 13.4, and the CGMiner defaults get me the best hashrate: -k poclbm -v1 -w64 -g2 -I7.

Oops, I meant to say that the settings he was using weren't as "efficient" and didn't yield the best results.
greaterninja
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 06:43:45 PM
 #16

How can you have the wrong settings? I"m using 13.4, and the CGMiner defaults get me the best hashrate: -k poclbm -v1 -w64 -g2 -I7.

Oops, I meant to say that the settings he was using weren't as "efficient" and didn't yield the best results.

I am using default settings right now...haven't had too much time to tweak my mining settings yet.  When I find out optimum settings I'll post.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
May 10, 2013, 07:40:17 PM
 #17

You told me and the community lots of things most of them were not accurate.  The only thing you might be right about is the temps on the card.  That remains to be determined as it seems you have significantly more cooling on your rigs.

Like how the card will overheat, is power limited, overpriced and worse than the original partner cards? You mean all those things you've proved right?

greaterninja
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 07:54:28 PM
 #18

You told me and the community lots of things most of them were not accurate.  The only thing you might be right about is the temps on the card.  That remains to be determined as it seems you have significantly more cooling on your rigs.

Like how the card will overheat, is power limited, overpriced and worse than the original partner cards? You mean all those things you've proved right?

As I recall you were saying the card would use over 500 watts, in reality it uses ~375 watts at max load and it still performs as well as the 1st generation 7990 but uses 2/3 the space of the first generation 7990.  You also said it would cost $2000 dollars when it costs $1000-$1100.

You were wrong about power usage, you were wrong about the $2000 price tag, the only thing you were maybe right about is the cooling and that is still for dispute as you use many more fans than I use to ventilate the card.   So all in all you weren't right about much.  You more so blurted out a bunch of nonsense and acted like a huge forum troll...good try at trying to be right.
greaterninja
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 11:40:47 PM
 #19

Update:   Core 1 @ 1100mhz = 637 MH/s   - 83C
Core 2 @ 1050 mhz = 570mh/s     - 82C

= 1187 mh/s  average temp 82-83C.

Core 2 gets hot too easy.  Core 1 I can OC the hell out of it.

One core I can max out, the other core gets hot so I have to leave it down-clocked.

Still am testing out OC settings.
Will try tweaking miner settings next.


These seems to be the stable settings I can get them to.


Unless water cooling is used, the most this card can do would be 1274-13050mh/s
greaterninja
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
May 14, 2013, 10:57:54 PM
 #20

I want to update you guys.   With fan cooling I was able to get ~1200mh/s at 74C - GPU1  and 85c - GPU2  for BTC mining.
For litecoin i was able to hit 700+ kilohashes per gpu.  so 1400+ kilo hashes/sec  
Power was at about 375 watts or less at full hashing speed.


I believe some tweaks can be done to the one GPU that runs hotter such as reapply thermal paste, etc.


Furthermore...My Gigabyte 7990 from newegg had an open box and no game codes, while my 7990 Sapphire seems to have came with the 8 promo codes and is sealed in box.


I am disputing this with newegg and amd right now.  Right now newegg is saying they do not participate in the promo.


This link here shows newegg participates in the 7990 never settle reloaded promo (8 free games):

http://sites.amd.com/us/promo/never-settle/Pages/nsreloaded.aspx

Forgive the grammar and punctuation as I am at work and have to type this very, very fast. Cheesy

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!