Bitcoin Forum
October 19, 2017, 01:12:25 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: ▄▀ [PSA]: Guide to (solo) mining bitbar ▀▄  (Read 8311 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
RustyShackleford1950
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 257



View Profile
May 10, 2013, 06:26:25 AM
 #1

Guide to solo mining bitbar:

All you have to do is follow the steps for other solo mining:

First, download the bitbar qt client:


Set up a username and pass in bitbar.conf

Code:
    server=1
    rpcuser=USERNAME
    rpcpassword=PASSWORD
    rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
    rpcport=9344

Download cgminer (http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/2.11/cgminer-2.11.4-windows.7z) (http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/) {Don't forget the Catalyst drivers and SDK}, then in cgminer input your username and pass, then set the URL in cgminer to http://127.0.0.1:9344

Code:
    cgminer --scrypt -o http://127.0.0.1:9344 -u USERNAME-p PASSWORD

Or create up a custom .bat file (ie minebitbar.bat) and input the above code into the bat file in a text editor. Set your own custom settings for maximum hashrate.

Is solomining viable at this point? Hard to say, if your hashrate is high >2000kh/s, then yes, perhaps. Current difficulty has risen due to the addition of bitbar to coinchoose and to the exchange bter. I would expect difficulty to lower in the coming days, when it does, it would be a great time to solomine if you can spare the hashpower.

Alternatively, join one of the pools! Use similar settings to the above, but with the url and port changed to the pools, and the username and password changed to your workers

https://btb.binarycoins.eu/
http://btb.ltcoin.net/




On keyboard, the big d, rusty shackleford
1508418745
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508418745

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508418745
Reply with quote  #2

1508418745
Report to moderator
1508418745
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508418745

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508418745
Reply with quote  #2

1508418745
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
vlaoou321
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 06:29:44 AM
 #2

OH  YEAH

Reputation https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=198808.new#new
Tip: 1CtNCGTyhVkp6AzRwhTsqjkWgwCqk1vSjA
RustyShackleford1950
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 257



View Profile
May 10, 2013, 07:48:45 AM
 #3

Going through the recent blocks on the block explorer shows that a number of people are successfully solo mining. Very interesting. Grin

On keyboard, the big d, rusty shackleford
tonyback
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280



View Profile
May 10, 2013, 11:44:56 AM
 #4

Going through the recent blocks on the block explorer shows that a number of people are successfully solo mining. Very interesting. Grin
thank you very much

]
RustyShackleford1950
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 257



View Profile
May 10, 2013, 02:08:19 PM
 #5

Forgot to mention one important detail. When solo mining, you need to start the qt program with the -server command.

So for example, create a .bat file again, call it bitbarserver.bat

edit the file in a text editor to contain

Code:
bitbar-qt.exe -server

Then start your cgminer through your other .bat file as in the first post.

Also note that you must have installed and run bitcoin-qt before running bitbar-qt, bitbar-qt appears to depend on one file created by bitcoin-qt.

On keyboard, the big d, rusty shackleford
Invest0r
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112



View Profile
May 10, 2013, 04:06:22 PM
 #6

Will be using this, thanks.

Speculating..
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
May 10, 2013, 04:20:34 PM
 #7

Great guide!

You should expand on this, it's hard to get a single box to have a hashrate of >2MH/s.  If a user has a farm, or >1 computer, they need to be able to connect.

If your local home network is in the 192.168.0.1 range, then add a 2nd line in the conf that is

Code:
rpcallowip=192.168.0.*

and then you can connect other PC's to mine to the single bitbard instance.

sunsofdust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 143


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 04:36:53 PM
 #8

I just checked the bitbar mining calculator on coinwarz (http://www.coinwarz.com/calculators/bitbar-mining-calculator) and it shows it would take about .6 days to generate a block mining solo based on my hash rate, but this is heavily dependent on luck.  

I wonder if it is even worth mining solo given the current hash rate of the network.  It would be I guess if you have a GPU farm.
kimosan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 622


SOHK Accredited Autodidact


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 04:38:19 PM
 #9

Hah, thanks for this guide! 1.2Mh and I found my first block after 10 minutes. Sweet! Probably won't find anything else for the next 7 days but at least it worked.  Grin
RustyShackleford1950
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 257



View Profile
May 11, 2013, 03:35:16 AM
 #10

I just checked the bitbar mining calculator on coinwarz (http://www.coinwarz.com/calculators/bitbar-mining-calculator) and it shows it would take about .6 days to generate a block mining solo based on my hash rate, but this is heavily dependent on luck.  

I wonder if it is even worth mining solo given the current hash rate of the network.  It would be I guess if you have a GPU farm.

Hash rate has gone down recently due to coin hoppers moving away, so it should make it more realistic for the average joe.

On keyboard, the big d, rusty shackleford
RustyShackleford1950
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 257



View Profile
May 11, 2013, 03:35:27 AM
 #11

Hah, thanks for this guide! 1.2Mh and I found my first block after 10 minutes. Sweet! Probably won't find anything else for the next 7 days but at least it worked.  Grin

Good to hear!

On keyboard, the big d, rusty shackleford
ssshhh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
May 11, 2013, 08:24:45 AM
 #12

I just checked the bitbar mining calculator on coinwarz (http://www.coinwarz.com/calculators/bitbar-mining-calculator) and it shows it would take about .6 days to generate a block mining solo based on my hash rate, but this is heavily dependent on luck.  

I wonder if it is even worth mining solo given the current hash rate of the network.  It would be I guess if you have a GPU farm.

Hash rate has gone down recently due to coin hoppers moving away, so it should make it more realistic for the average joe.

Yes.  And what the hoppers might have misunderstood is that the payout will adjust also.  Eyes open  Cheesy
hennessyhemp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


Hempire Loading...


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2013, 03:28:41 PM
 #13

I may need to give this a shot...haven't stretched my wings with cgminer yet...just using reaper.  Can you solo-mine with Reaper?

Please add more BTC here (my son will apprecciate it when he's older): 14WsxbeRcgsSYZyNSRJqEAmB1MKAzHhsCT
RustyShackleford1950
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 257



View Profile
May 12, 2013, 02:39:51 AM
 #14

I may need to give this a shot...haven't stretched my wings with cgminer yet...just using reaper.  Can you solo-mine with Reaper?

You sure can, you just need to set the config file.

On keyboard, the big d, rusty shackleford
RustyShackleford1950
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 257



View Profile
May 15, 2013, 06:53:31 AM
 #15

Looking at the network hash rate it might be time to get back into solo mining bitbar.

On keyboard, the big d, rusty shackleford
pornluver
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


View Profile
May 21, 2013, 10:17:58 AM
 #16

What is reaper? Should I mine with reaper or cgminer?

RustyShackleford1950
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 257



View Profile
May 21, 2013, 10:19:37 AM
 #17

What is reaper? Should I mine with reaper or cgminer?

Depends on your GPU, but generally cgminer

On keyboard, the big d, rusty shackleford
baloo_kiev
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
May 31, 2013, 11:36:48 AM
 #18

Working p2pool for bitbar (Source code + zero-fee public node) https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=217894.0
Please help decentralizing Bitbar!

PGP: 6EC48BA7
Welcome to my p2pool: BTC
Thrash
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 433



View Profile
May 31, 2013, 03:04:22 PM
 #19

I have tried solo mining on BTB once before but was unsuccessful. Well decided to give it another try and have everything setup and running. One of my rigs says its best share has been 1.04M but I did not get a block. I am also seeing some messages that say that pool 0 has become unavailable and the shares are stale. Any ideas?

I have been mining several other coins solo with no issues but this one is eluding me. I have about 9 Mh/s pointed at it right now. Going ot have to go elsewhere if I can't figure out what the problem is.   Huh

GurungBoi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 97


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 02:48:33 PM
 #20

Just to make sure. I got the right stuff and to recap it.
So I do the following :
First, download the bitbar qt client:

Windows zip - http://sourceforge.net/projects/bitbar/files/bitbar-win32.zip/download
Official site for other builds (linux, source code): http://bitbar.biz/downloads

Set up a username and pass in bitbar.conf

Code:
    server=1
    rpcuser=USERNAME
    rpcpassword=PASSWORD
    rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
    rpcallowip=192.168.0.* (home network)
    rpcport=9344

Download cgminer (http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/2.11/cgminer-2.11.4-windows.7z) (http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/) {Don't forget the Catalyst drivers and SDK}, then in cgminer input your username and pass, then set the URL in cgminer to http://127.0.0.1:9344

Run bat file with line  bitbar-qt.exe -server

then
Code:
    cgminer --scrypt -o http://127.0.0.1:9344 -u USERNAME-p PASSWORD

I know it's outdated but I wish to learn how to set up solo mining properly.

Let me know if I am wrong or feel free to quote and bold in red my mistakes.

Thanks!

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!