Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 01:18:23 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: PSU Problem  (Read 244 times)
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728


View Profile
July 07, 2017, 05:34:40 PM
 #1

So ive just got some risers and installing them, move my rig about and sort out cables and now it wont fire up.

The psu clicks on and the processor fan spins a couple of times and then it stops. Only thing i have plugged in is the mobi 24pin and the CPU 8pin. Nothing else is plugged in (no hdd or gpus. Riseds are even unplugged. Literally the 24pin and 8pin power is connected from the psu. Only other cables attached is the VGA to the screen.

Anyone have any ideas?

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
1513473503
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513473503

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513473503
Reply with quote  #2

1513473503
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513473503
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513473503

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513473503
Reply with quote  #2

1513473503
Report to moderator
Vann
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


View Profile
July 07, 2017, 05:39:15 PM
 #2

You also need memory installed. Make sure the CPU is on the compatible list for the motherboard on the manufacturer's support page.
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728


View Profile
July 07, 2017, 05:49:15 PM
 #3

Its been running for days. Just unplugged everything to move it around so i can mount the gpus on risers and now it doesnt fire up.

Got a 24pin breakout board i just tried on its own and it wont switch on with that either. Does that mean the PSU is dead now?

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
Vann
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


View Profile
July 07, 2017, 05:54:20 PM
 #4

Its been running for days. Just unplugged everything to move it around so i can mount the gpus on risers and now it doesnt fire up.

Got a 24pin breakout board i just tried on its own and it wont switch on with that either. Does that mean the PSU is dead now?

If nothing else has changed, it could be or the motherboard. Try another PSU if you have one. Is it a Corsair AX series PSU?
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728


View Profile
July 07, 2017, 06:05:32 PM
 #5

Nothing was connected to the mobo. Just tried the 24pin breakout board with a multimeter attached and got a brief 12v which sooned dropped to 0.

Just found a really old (10plus years) psu and connected the 24pin and the mobo fired up. Didnt get anything out the screen but it hasnt got an 8pin connector. Hopefully i havent done any damage but still it stayed on for a few seconds until i switched it off.

So looks like the XFX XTS 520w fanless psu is dead. I did have a fan ontop of it and it was only running 170w while it was mining.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
Vann
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


View Profile
July 07, 2017, 06:19:03 PM
 #6

Nothing was connected to the mobo. Just tried the 24pin breakout board with a multimeter attached and got a brief 12v which sooned dropped to 0.

Just found a really old (10plus years) psu and connected the 24pin and the mobo fired up. Didnt get anything out the screen but it hasnt got an 8pin connector. Hopefully i havent done any damage but still it stayed on for a few seconds until i switched it off.

So looks like the XFX XTS 520w fanless psu is dead. I did have a fan ontop of it and it was only running 170w while it was mining.

The PSU is the most important component in a rig. If it goes down so does the whole rig. You need a good gold or platinum rated PSU that can handle the load and has all the connectors you need. I would stick with EVGA or Corsair, though BBT has reported having multiple bad Corsair AX series brand new PSU's.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PXoPFPqU3Y8&feature=youtu.be&t=3798
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728


View Profile
July 07, 2017, 06:40:09 PM
 #7

It was what i had left over from a small btc rig of gekko sticks etc. It has worked fine until i switched it off and then reassembled the rig in its new orientation and tried to boot up. Ive got a pico psu and waiting on a custom cable to power it from a 6pin connector as ive got a 1200w hp server platinum psu with gekkoscience (sidehack) breakout board which will power everything.

Just need someone to confirm that it is the psu thats dead seeing as the old psu i found in a cupboard switched the mobo on.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
andylittleton
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
July 07, 2017, 06:41:58 PM
 #8

I have had similar issues where it would power on and power off after a couple of seconds, Happened on two power supply's.  So i knew it was probably something with the motherboard,  Happened to be a loose heatsink on the north/southbridge since I was rough handling the motherboard.  Finally got it to work after fixing the heatsink mounting on the north/south port bridges
blakegrr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 122



View Profile
July 07, 2017, 06:44:16 PM
 #9

I have had similar issues where it would power on and power off after a couple of seconds, Happened on two power supply's.  So i knew it was probably something with the motherboard,  Happened to be a loose heatsink on the north/southbridge since I was rough handling the motherboard.  Finally got it to work after fixing the heatsink mounting on the north/south port bridges

This should fix your problem. Heatsink must be fitted well because if not it might harm your units. And I think it is the reason why your psu if failing.

gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728


View Profile
July 07, 2017, 06:48:57 PM
 #10

Thanks for the replies guys. But that wiuldnt expain why connecting the psu to an ATX breakout board only would produce the same results. Switch on, click, lack of power.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728


View Profile
July 07, 2017, 09:13:08 PM
 #11

So turns out it was the PSU afterall. Managed to jerry rig my pico and server PSU together and get my mini rig up and running again.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!