Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2017, 07:48:08 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: *Urgent*No luck with MSI Z270 SLI PLUS motherboard *Help Needed*  (Read 515 times)
aj911
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
July 11, 2017, 02:06:58 PM
 #1

I've been setting up some rigs using the MSI Z270 SLI PLUS motherboard but it's having serious issues starting up with more than 2 GPU's.

Using Powercolor 570 rx 4gb Hynix x 6
Rig 2 is MSI armor 4GB x 6 - Looks like its having the same issues
I do have experience setting up rigs so I go through the normal motions of trying all the combinations of settings.

- We have new risers, switched out for older version risers which we know are working but that didn't solve it.
- PEG Enabled
- 4G decoding
- PCI Speed- Auto/Gen 1 work, Gen 2 doesnt work, miner would crash.
- Mixed Drivers
- ATI patch
- Latest Bios Flashed
- Windows Updated
- Tried PCI speed latency 92, not working


Sometimes on start up we get 1 out of the three cards with a yellow triangle in device manager. I have got them to miner successfully but not more than 1 card.

I also had major issues using simple miner, it would get stuck on boot up.

Processor: G4400
Mem, Corsair LPX 3000MHZ
SSD: Sandisk 120GB/ 3.0 Sandisk Ultra Flair, both not successful.
PSU - 1000W EVGA GQ.

Getting desperate now as we have equipment for 7 new rigs. I would tip substantially for a working solution.

I'm starting to think it's the motherboard. Although we made a rig last month on this board and it worked, just not with M2 slots.
1513280888
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513280888

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513280888
Reply with quote  #2

1513280888
Report to moderator
1513280888
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513280888

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513280888
Reply with quote  #2

1513280888
Report to moderator
1513280888
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513280888

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513280888
Reply with quote  #2

1513280888
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513280888
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513280888

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513280888
Reply with quote  #2

1513280888
Report to moderator
1513280888
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513280888

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513280888
Reply with quote  #2

1513280888
Report to moderator
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728


View Profile
July 11, 2017, 02:15:03 PM
 #2

I did a fresh install of win 10 last night on my rig and kept tge old drivers for my 1060's when windows updated. Been spot on and stable since. Before it would crash,restart,not recognise gpus.

Maybe try a fresh install of the OS and keep the software basic, claymore or whatever and an appropriate OC program. Your settings look fine i.e. 4g decoding enabled, gen 1 pcie etc.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
aj911
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
July 11, 2017, 02:31:16 PM
 #3

I've tried formatting now twice. Both with and without windows 10 support in the BIOS.

Starting to think this is a chipset issue maybe. I'm not getting any display when I have PEG with graphics cards enabled, when I do get a display its because ive hit the restart switch like 4-5 times.


Sent an email to MSI.

The worst thing is that I have 7 of these boards :/

 
Ambros
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 622

pool.sexy co-founder


View Profile
July 11, 2017, 02:56:13 PM
 #4

I've read that MSI has relased some new BIOS for motherboards that should help miner with those kind of problems.

I do not have any MSI mobo, so I cannot test it, but I hope that it will help you
aj911
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
July 12, 2017, 01:12:25 AM
 #5

I solved the issue.

When you have to constantly restart due to no display. The bios settings in the mobo eventually change without warning. 4G was disabled by the mobo/windows 10 in order to get back into boot.

I re-enabled this and got 6 GPU's working.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!