Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 08:51:02 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: miner crunching numbers but not connecting to pool?  (Read 1727 times)
DullJack
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 20, 2011, 11:01:18 PM
 #1

Hey I am very new to the world of bitcoin (and fairly new to linux for that matter) and found the entire concept pretty interesting so I was thinking about setting up a "hobby rig" for mining. Right now I am just using my CPU (dev 0) as proof of concept until I get it figured out, will probably invest in a decent GPU if I can ever get this to work...

Apologies in advance, I know that this has probably been covered a million times but I tried searching around the forums and couldn't find anything helpful.




I am running Ubuntu, I used this guide http://forum.bitcoin.org/?topic=7514.0 to set up my miner. Install seemed to go flawlessly. Using poclbm to mine.

I have created an acct on Deepbit and entered the command below into terminal, username and password has been redacted, of course.


 sudo ./poclbm.py --frames=1 --worksize=128 --host=deepbit.net --port=8332 --user=<username> --pass=<password> --device=0


My processor then revs up wide open and begins cranking out hashes.


deepbit.net:8332 20/06/2011 17:33:01, Setting pool <username> @ deepbit.net:8332
deepbit.net:8332 20/06/2011 17:33:12, Using new LP URL /listenChannel
deepbit.net:8332 20/06/2011 17:33:12, LP connected to deepbit.net:8332
deepbit.net:8332 2358 khash/s



Although when I log into my deepbit acct to check my totals, this is what I get

<username>*
Workers not connected

0.00000000 BTC
Balance is updated once per hour

0.00 MH/s
Average speed in last 5 minutes



I let the miner run in terminal for a few hours today but still get nothing when I check my account on deepbit.

Any thoughts?

Want to try Triplemining? Active miners that sign up here are eligible to win a jackpot exclusive to members of my minipool, in addition to Triplemining's already generous weekly giveaway!
1481403062
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481403062

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481403062
Reply with quote  #2

1481403062
Report to moderator
1481403062
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481403062

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481403062
Reply with quote  #2

1481403062
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481403062
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481403062

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481403062
Reply with quote  #2

1481403062
Report to moderator
1481403062
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481403062

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481403062
Reply with quote  #2

1481403062
Report to moderator
1481403062
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481403062

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481403062
Reply with quote  #2

1481403062
Report to moderator
speckman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
June 20, 2011, 11:04:02 PM
 #2

is the terminal output showing "share accepted" and some numbers?  Not an expert but part of the problem might be that the difficulty is so high that your CPU isn't getting any shares in before the pool moves on.  But if you're seeing strings of numbers with "accepted", then that's not the problem.
bitdriller
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
June 20, 2011, 11:07:27 PM
 #3

How long have you been mining for? I have a 100 Mhash mining rig and when I connect it takes quite a while before the average speed according to deepbit matches my speed. (it starts at like 5 mhash and then goes up to full over the next hour or so). Wait an hour and see if you are still having the same problem.
fascistmuffin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 20, 2011, 11:08:00 PM
 #4

is the terminal output showing "share accepted" and some numbers?  Not an expert but part of the problem might be that the difficulty is so high that your CPU isn't getting any shares in before the pool moves on.  But if you're seeing strings of numbers with "accepted", then that's not the problem.

You are correct about the cpu speeds being too slow to get any shares in. I have a backup connection from my gpu pointing to deepbit running at 3.5Mh/s, and I only get in one or two shares per hour with those speeds.
Akeeru
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
June 20, 2011, 11:15:29 PM
 #5

is the terminal output showing "share accepted" and some numbers?  Not an expert but part of the problem might be that the difficulty is so high that your CPU isn't getting any shares in before the pool moves on.  But if you're seeing strings of numbers with "accepted", then that's not the problem.

You are correct about the cpu speeds being too slow to get any shares in. I have a backup connection from my gpu pointing to deepbit running at 3.5Mh/s, and I only get in one or two shares per hour with those speeds.

Well it should still show as stale and the speed recorded.
I get that sometimes when I am not connected to the internet or the pool is down. It states that work is being done, but actually its just resting. Easy way to check is: Check your temps. if they are idle temps. then there is probably some problem with your connection?
DullJack
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 20, 2011, 11:34:58 PM
 #6

I am not seeing "shares accepted". It does occasionally say something along these lines.

deepbit.net:8332 20/06/2011 09:00:38, long poll: new block 00000fbafaf988c8


Sometimes it displays

"Communicating with bitcoin RPC 0 2"



Other than what I posted previously and this, I have seen no other output.


The longest single instance of running the miner has been between 2-3 hours. My deepbit account still says that no workers are connected after all that time.

Is there another pool where a slow cpu miner like mine would have better luck catching a share?

I haven't checked my temps but each of my processor's 4 cores rev up to ~90% capacity when the miner is running, as opposed to ~10% when it is not.


 Like I said, I would like to eventually invest in something like an ATI 6950 but can't justify making that purchase if I am not certain that I will be able to connect to a pool and do work. I guess I could just start playing more PC games if it doesn't work out haha.

Want to try Triplemining? Active miners that sign up here are eligible to win a jackpot exclusive to members of my minipool, in addition to Triplemining's already generous weekly giveaway!
speckman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
June 21, 2011, 10:56:14 PM
 #7

You'll definitely be able to do some work with a good ATI card.  That output looks to me like it keeps getting updated on the new block, but it never got a chance to finish a share and submit it to get it accepted or rejected.  Makes sense because of the very low Mh/s.  It's not that hard to get it to work--go for it. Smiley
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!