Bitcoin Forum
February 22, 2018, 05:30:15 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Biostar TB350-BTC 6x Nvidia GPU  (Read 1097 times)
bensam1231
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1001


View Profile
July 18, 2017, 03:21:46 AM
 #1

Has anyone gotten this board working with 6x Nvidia GPUs? I've tried pretty much all the options. It's funny I switched from a Asus board to this one to specifically avoid this issue, but it seems as though they didn't test this board at all. Particularly the 4th slot (third from the bottom) always fails. It'll detect the GPU and then quickly reset the driver when I start mining in Windows.

I tried 4G decoding, puts the board into a reboot loop. Mining mode doesn't even seem to do anything. Latest bios. Tried moving the cards around, changing risers, hard reseting the board... There aren't any options in the bios to adjust the lane allocation or gen version (funny enough for a mining board).

5x GPUs work fine, but that also worked fine in my x370 Asus board I had before.

I buy private Nvidia miners. Send information and/or inquiries to my PM box.
1519320615
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519320615

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519320615
Reply with quote  #2

1519320615
Report to moderator
1519320615
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519320615

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519320615
Reply with quote  #2

1519320615
Report to moderator
1519320615
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519320615

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519320615
Reply with quote  #2

1519320615
Report to moderator
Automated Bitcoin Fork Extraction Tool WE DO TOUGH WALLETS: BCH | BTG | BCD | SBTC | UBTC | B2X | BCX | BTF Electrum 2FA, Trezor, Ledger, SegWit, Bech32
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1519320615
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519320615

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519320615
Reply with quote  #2

1519320615
Report to moderator
bensam1231
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1001


View Profile
July 20, 2017, 07:15:43 AM
 #2

For future reference, Ryzen isn't completely compatible with W8.1 (and I assume 7). The sixth card was not working properly till I tried it on W10.

I buy private Nvidia miners. Send information and/or inquiries to my PM box.
Elder III
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 254


"Bitcore (BTX) - The Future is Now"


View Profile
July 21, 2017, 06:11:12 PM
 #3

We have 4 Biostar TB350 motherboards, each running 6 NVIDIA GPUs on Windows 10. Other than one DOA riser and a faulty GPU (on separate rigs) the motherboards have been ok for us.

ylpkm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 138
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 22, 2017, 07:54:22 AM
 #4

Just returned 2 boards due to it not being able to run more than 3 cards. Bios version did not matter, Reboot loop on 4g decoding, miner mode or iommu support. Legacy (CSM support) vs uefi made no difference. Used win10 and simpleminingOS. They need to fix these motherboards that are made for mining. So much wasted time and potential income trying to get it to work when it turns out the boards have an internal issue at hand.
duster562
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 17, 2017, 05:00:38 PM
 #5

Hello everyone I have been trying to get my first rig up for about a month now. After 2 other motherboards I landed on this one. I have been emailing Biostar for a couple of week and I have been getting responses in regards to getting more than 4 GPU's working. So I felt compelled to post their responses as it seems like they have put me on the path to getting 6 GPU’s working.

My System: MOBO: TB350-BTC, MEM: 8GB Corsair, CPU: AMD Ryzen 3 1200 (changed from AMD A12-9800e R7 APU), HDD: 1TB Western Digital (changed from Kingstun 120Gb SSD), GPU's: 6xSaphire RX470 4G (removed 1xRX480), OS: Windows 10 64bit, Video Driver: Radion 17.3 newest, BIOS: B35BG512.BSS

My symptoms: Currently the system will boot normal with 5 GPU's (in any order or PCI slot combination on the MOBO) but if I add the 6th GPU I get: -Blue screen after POST –And Blue screens “if” I get into the OS after windows tries to install driver.

Biostar’s Response: Mining mode set motherboard to work with multiple GPU and set video to output in UEFI mode, please make sure to install windows in UEFI mode as well.

Result:So I put BIOS into “Mining Mode = Enabled” and set “Video=UEFI mode” but now system boots directly to BIOS.
Also did some searching about installing windows in UEFI mode and it look like the HDD needs to be formatted in GPT (GUID Partition Table) partition in order to install windows in UEFI mode. Apparently you can get lucky if windows detects UEFI mode and it will work “First Try”.</p>

My Next Question to the form and Biostar:
What are the exact settings in the bios that need to be changed to put the BIOS UEFI mode?
Has anyone tried installing windows in UEFI mode and did that fix multi GUP problem?
akuci
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 212
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 17, 2017, 08:22:19 PM
 #6

You MUST install Windows in UEFI mode to mine with 6 cards.
Elder III
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 254


"Bitcore (BTX) - The Future is Now"


View Profile
August 17, 2017, 09:07:36 PM
 #7

You need to reinstall Windows 10 in UEFI mode. It will not do anything to just change BIOS settings, you need to install it in UEFI mode from scratch. You can select UEFI mode from a USB flash drive with Windows 10 installation kit on it (or a DVD).

Giglio
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 14, 2017, 07:34:02 PM
 #8

Hello, I bought this motherboard, but I can not install the nvidia gtx 1060 drivers, I tried both on windows 10 and on ubuntu.
I only have one video card, I put it in the 16x slot, I do not know if I have to activate any option in the bios. could you help me about this?
thank you
Truthchanter
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 441
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 14, 2017, 08:12:03 PM
 #9

Hello, I bought this motherboard, but I can not install the nvidia gtx 1060 drivers, I tried both on windows 10 and on ubuntu.
I only have one video card, I put it in the 16x slot, I do not know if I have to activate any option in the bios. could you help me about this?
thank you

Using windows update for the driver may fix it
radeone
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
October 14, 2017, 08:17:02 PM
 #10

i have one of these boards running 6 gpus in linux. i prefer it to windows 10. less resources necessary.

ICO IS NOW LIVE    ▐┃▌    1WORLD ONLINE    ▐┃▌    WHITEPAPER
✣ ✣ ✣ ┃ Revolutionizing ONLINE MEDIA with BLOCKCHAIN TECHNOLOGY and incentives for AUDIENCE ENGAGEMENT™ ┃ ✣ ✣ ✣
ANN \ / TELEGRAM \ / FACEBOOK \ / WHATSAPP \ / TWITTER \ / KAKAOTALK
cloudminer1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 27, 2018, 11:00:19 PM
 #11

can only get 4 cards running with this board all 1060's if i try to goto mining mode will not boot to windows same with 4g any tips
cloudminer1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 27, 2018, 11:56:29 PM
 #12

im using a uefi install of win10
cloudminer1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 28, 2018, 05:05:38 AM
 #13

got it
Elder III
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 254


"Bitcore (BTX) - The Future is Now"


View Profile
January 28, 2018, 10:00:45 PM
 #14

Glad to hear it's working for ya. Smiley

JesterBB
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 19, 2018, 04:10:47 PM
 #15

Has anyone gotten this board working with 6x Nvidia GPUs? I've tried pretty much all the options. It's funny I switched from a Asus board to this one to specifically avoid this issue, but it seems as though they didn't test this board at all. Particularly the 4th slot (third from the bottom) always fails. It'll detect the GPU and then quickly reset the driver when I start mining in Windows.

I tried 4G decoding, puts the board into a reboot loop. Mining mode doesn't even seem to do anything. Latest bios. Tried moving the cards around, changing risers, hard reseting the board... There aren't any options in the bios to adjust the lane allocation or gen version (funny enough for a mining board).

5x GPUs work fine, but that also worked fine in my x370 Asus board I had before.

Hi I used X370 pro too but it was a pain in the ass and I had issues when I plugged 5th card on it, I hope Biostar is a better choice. So I am looking for a guidance to adjust bios settings for mining also for CPU OC for ryzen 7 1800x. Whats your bios settings??
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!