Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 01:36:33 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Rig Freezing when mining  (Read 1271 times)
mbcebrian
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
July 18, 2017, 08:51:38 AM
 #1

Hello. One of my rig is randomly freezing. Mouse and keyboard wont work. I have to do hard reset every time it happens.
I'm using claymore 9.7.

When I don't mine, the rig runs flawlessly. It doesn't hang or freeze. I checked the claymore log and there is nothing there. I'm not sure what is causing the error.

Would reinstalling the OS help? Do i need to upgrade the ram to 8GB? Is there any windows log I can check why its happening?

This is my specs:
Motherboard: Biostar TB250-BTC
PSU: Corsair HX1200
GPU: 6x Galax GTX 1060 6GB
Memory: 4GB 2400Mhz
Memory: Intel Celeron
OS: Windows 10

Any help pls. I've been on this problem for a week now. Sad

Edit: I'll be glad to reward (btc) whoever can point me to right direction to resolve the issue. I'm tired already.
1513474593
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513474593

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513474593
Reply with quote  #2

1513474593
Report to moderator
1513474593
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513474593

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513474593
Reply with quote  #2

1513474593
Report to moderator
1513474593
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513474593

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513474593
Reply with quote  #2

1513474593
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513474593
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513474593

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513474593
Reply with quote  #2

1513474593
Report to moderator
1513474593
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513474593

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513474593
Reply with quote  #2

1513474593
Report to moderator
HardFireMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
July 18, 2017, 08:59:29 AM
 #2

If you are running MSI afterburner, close it (using the "X") after the miner starts, I have a rig of 1060 and afterburner caused my rig to freeze, also, if you run less than 4 GPU's, try using EVGA Precision XOC.

Advertise Here (Beta)
[PM]
adaseb
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1442



View Profile
July 18, 2017, 09:00:32 AM
 #3

Its either your overclock settings, undervolt settings, or your risers are bad or your PSU is dying/cheap.

Could be anything really.

Too bad your rig freezes and halts. Most crashes usually cause a system reboot and you can auto-restart the mining but not when it hangs like this.

FORTUNEJACK.COM[
                            
5 BTC WELCOME PACK FOR 1ST 5 DEPOSITS
FREE 1,000 mBTC daily for LuckyJack winners
[
          
]
Za1n
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


View Profile
July 18, 2017, 09:02:58 AM
 #4

Mining stresses a rig in many ways, so just because it doesn't freeze up when not mining doesn't mean there is a problem.

I would start by shutting it down completely, re-seating all video cards, the RAM and reconnecting all cables to eliminate a loose connection somewhere. I would also check to make sure there is not dust or dirt build up and that the cpu heat-sink is secure to rule-out common heat trouble spots. Turn it back on and monitor it for awhile to make sure a GPU is not overheating causing the rig to lock up.

If it passes all this and you are still having issues, the next thing would be to try and remove and reinstall the video graphics drivers.

After doing all of the above, the next things to try would be removing one card and seeing if the rig runs well, repeating until you either found the problem card or eliminated them as the cause. You may need to let the rig run for a day or two in-between these steps, I am not sure how often your rig was freezing up before, so wait at least that long, and maybe double it to be sure.
mbcebrian
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
July 18, 2017, 09:04:03 AM
 #5

If you are running MSI afterburner, close it (using the "X") after the miner starts, I have a rig of 1060 and afterburner caused my rig to freeze, also, if you run less than 4 GPU's, try using EVGA Precision XOC.

My first rig with 6x Palit GTX 1060 3GB works fine even with the afterburner running.
I also already tried running without the afterburner and without undervolting and overclocking but still the same issue.
mbcebrian
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
July 18, 2017, 09:06:03 AM
 #6

Its either your overclock settings, undervolt settings, or your risers are bad or your PSU is dying/cheap.

Could be anything really.

Too bad your rig freezes and halts. Most crashes usually cause a system reboot and you can auto-restart the mining but not when it hangs like this.

I already tried running the miner without undervolting and overclocking. Still got the same issue. My PSU is brand new. The rig is only less than two weeks.
mbcebrian
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
July 18, 2017, 09:09:53 AM
 #7

Mining stresses a rig in many ways, so just because it doesn't freeze up when not mining doesn't mean there is a problem.

I would start by shutting it down completely, re-seating all video cards, the RAM and reconnecting all cables to eliminate a loose connection somewhere. I would also check to make sure there is not dust or dirt build up and that the cpu heat-sink is secure to rule-out common heat trouble spots. Turn it back on and monitor it for awhile to make sure a GPU is not overheating causing the rig to lock up.

If it passes all this and you are still having issues, the next thing would be to try and remove and reinstall the video graphics drivers.

After doing all of the above, the next things to try would be removing one card and seeing if the rig runs well, repeating until you either found the problem card or eliminated them as the cause. You may need to let the rig run for a day or two in-between these steps, I am not sure how often your rig was freezing up before, so wait at least that long, and maybe double it to be sure.

Only thing I've done so far is change the risers and resintall the video graphics driver. I've tried to dowgrade/use the latest driver but still didn't resolve the issue. I'll try to reconnect the cables again and see.

Any idea if there is windows log when the OS freezes?


mbcebrian
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
July 18, 2017, 09:11:06 AM
 #8

It may also be worth mentioning that sometimes the rig runs as long as 10hours+ before it hangs/freezes.
Most of the time its about 15-20mins.

This is the log.

ID   Date   Content
6764   18.07.2017 17:00:03   Miner: PJCoinPH2 Offline more than 2 minutes!
6746   18.07.2017 16:09:02   Miner: PJCoinPH2 Offline more than 2 minutes!
6742   18.07.2017 15:58:02   Miner: PJCoinPH2 Offline more than 2 minutes!
6724   18.07.2017 15:27:02   Miner: PJCoinPH2 Offline more than 2 minutes!
6675   18.07.2017 14:32:02   Miner: PJCoinPH2 Offline more than 2 minutes!
6632   18.07.2017 13:29:02   Miner: PJCoinPH2 Offline more than 2 minutes!
6617   18.07.2017 13:10:03   Miner: PJCoinPH2 Offline more than 2 minutes!
6609   18.07.2017 12:29:02   Miner: PJCoinPH2 Offline more than 2 minutes!
6600   18.07.2017 11:09:02   Miner: PJCoinPH2 Offline more than 5 minutes!
6596   18.07.2017 10:36:02   Miner: PJCoinPH2 Offline more than 5 minutes!
6440   18.07.2017 00:05:03   Miner: PJCoinPH2 Offline more than 5 minutes!
HardFireMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
July 18, 2017, 09:16:00 AM
 #9

If you are running MSI afterburner, close it (using the "X") after the miner starts, I have a rig of 1060 and afterburner caused my rig to freeze, also, if you run less than 4 GPU's, try using EVGA Precision XOC.

My first rig with 6x Palit GTX 1060 3GB works fine even with the afterburner running.
I also already tried running without the afterburner and without undervolting and overclocking but still the same issue.


Also, I use ethminer version for 1060, got it from here http://cryptomining-blog.com/8852-new-optimized-ethminer-for-nvidia-geforce-gtx-1060-gpus/ . It gives me +6% hashrate more than Claymore.

Advertise Here (Beta)
[PM]
HardFireMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
July 18, 2017, 09:18:03 AM
 #10


Only thing I've done so far is change the risers and resintall the video graphics driver. I've tried to dowgrade/use the latest driver but still didn't resolve the issue. I'll try to reconnect the cables again and see.

Any idea if there is windows log when the OS freezes?




Right-click or tap and hold the Start icon. Choose Event Viewer.
The Event Viewer appears.
On the left, choose Event Viewer, Custom Views, Administrative Events.
It may take a while, but eventually you see a list of notable events.

Advertise Here (Beta)
[PM]
tamdc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 158



View Profile
July 18, 2017, 11:22:25 AM
 #11

If you are running MSI afterburner, close it (using the "X") after the miner starts, I have a rig of 1060 and afterburner caused my rig to freeze, also, if you run less than 4 GPU's, try using EVGA Precision XOC.

My first rig with 6x Palit GTX 1060 3GB works fine even with the afterburner running.
I also already tried running without the afterburner and without undervolting and overclocking but still the same issue.


Also, I use ethminer version for 1060, got it from here http://cryptomining-blog.com/8852-new-optimized-ethminer-for-nvidia-geforce-gtx-1060-gpus/ . It gives me +6% hashrate more than Claymore.

Can you tell me the speed 1060 3GB can hash? Thank you!
Alternative
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
July 18, 2017, 11:54:00 AM
 #12

If you are running MSI afterburner, close it (using the "X") after the miner starts, I have a rig of 1060 and afterburner caused my rig to freeze, also, if you run less than 4 GPU's, try using EVGA Precision XOC.

My first rig with 6x Palit GTX 1060 3GB works fine even with the afterburner running.
I also already tried running without the afterburner and without undervolting and overclocking but still the same issue.

Also, I use ethminer version for 1060, got it from here http://cryptomining-blog.com/8852-new-optimized-ethminer-for-nvidia-geforce-gtx-1060-gpus/ . It gives me +6% hashrate more than Claymore.

Can you tell me the speed 1060 3GB can hash? Thank you!

About 22 MH/s on Ethereum and 300 sols/s on ZCash. A pretty good card if you can manage to get the hand on one that is not overpriced due to the mining crazyness.

mbcebrian
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
July 18, 2017, 01:43:03 PM
 #13

So I just checked the windows log and found loooooooooooots of this error.
It's like every 5 seconds this log is generated.  Huh Huh


Code:
A corrected hardware error has occurred.

Component: PCI Express Root Port
Error Source: Advanced Error Reporting (PCI Express)

Bus:Device:Function: 0x0:0x1C:0x6
Vendor ID:Device ID: 0x8086:0xA296
Class Code: 0x30400

I'm still trying to search how to fix it. Hopefully I get something useful.
tamdc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 158



View Profile
July 19, 2017, 04:01:15 AM
 #14

If you are running MSI afterburner, close it (using the "X") after the miner starts, I have a rig of 1060 and afterburner caused my rig to freeze, also, if you run less than 4 GPU's, try using EVGA Precision XOC.

My first rig with 6x Palit GTX 1060 3GB works fine even with the afterburner running.
I also already tried running without the afterburner and without undervolting and overclocking but still the same issue.

Also, I use ethminer version for 1060, got it from here http://cryptomining-blog.com/8852-new-optimized-ethminer-for-nvidia-geforce-gtx-1060-gpus/ . It gives me +6% hashrate more than Claymore.

Can you tell me the speed 1060 3GB can hash? Thank you!

About 22 MH/s on Ethereum and 300 sols/s on ZCash. A pretty good card if you can manage to get the hand on one that is not overpriced due to the mining crazyness.
Thank you, today I will try. I used EWBF only 26x H/s
sidog
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
July 19, 2017, 05:02:10 AM
 #15

while it's mining, press ctrl-alt-delete and look at the 'system interrupts' process.   that process should only taking 1-0.5% of your cpu time.   If it hovers at 5-20%, you have a problem w/ either your GPU or your riser.

I also use a program called LatencyMon to check the latency of devices that are talking to the CPU.   A good way to pin down the culprit is by running 5 cards at a time (instead of 6), until you find the combo that is stable (low system interrupts).   The card that is not running whilst the system is stable is probably the culprit. 

I've built several rigs and have been troubleshooting the same for the last few weeks.  PM me if you need more help.
godanubiz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
August 21, 2017, 07:51:28 PM
 #16

So I just checked the windows log and found loooooooooooots of this error.
It's like every 5 seconds this log is generated.  Huh Huh


Code:
A corrected hardware error has occurred.

Component: PCI Express Root Port
Error Source: Advanced Error Reporting (PCI Express)

Bus:Device:Function: 0x0:0x1C:0x6
Vendor ID:Device ID: 0x8086:0xA296
Class Code: 0x30400

I'm still trying to search how to fix it. Hopefully I get something useful.


Was this resolved? i have the same issue
Wotan Wipeout
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66


View Profile
August 21, 2017, 09:12:25 PM
 #17

Set the Pagefile to 20.000.
(Systems)
Phantoms001
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
November 28, 2017, 02:35:50 AM
 #18

...
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!