Bitcoin Forum
September 25, 2018, 10:23:40 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Block Less Than A Kilobyte In Size? - block just contains coinbase - 476754  (Read 733 times)
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1134
Merit: 1104


View Profile
July 20, 2017, 09:50:15 PM
 #1

https://blockchain.info/block/00000000000000000133b1f5f05d1be6582b3f10e5fdb940d8896b85525a32ec

Does this mean the mempool has officially decreased to a very small amount that these can be sent or is this an error either of the network or of blockchain.info?

1537871020
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537871020

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537871020
Reply with quote  #2

1537871020
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537871020
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537871020

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537871020
Reply with quote  #2

1537871020
Report to moderator
1537871020
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537871020

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537871020
Reply with quote  #2

1537871020
Report to moderator
1537871020
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537871020

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537871020
Reply with quote  #2

1537871020
Report to moderator
nibor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 390
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 20, 2017, 10:02:55 PM
 #2

These are quite common - look it was mined very soon after a block had just been mined.

Issue is that after a block has been mined the mining pool has to get details of a new block - this involves verifying the last block was OK, removing all the transactions that were in the last block from the memory pool, select new ones, building the merkel tree and then the header to mine with. This takes some time (should be less than a second).
So during that second a lot of pools just create an empty block - this will always be valid - with the last block has as the previous block - some do not even validate the old block - especially as in this case as they mined it, and send that header to the miners to mine.

If they did not do this the miners would be idle for a short period of time every time there was a new block.

Mining an empty block for 12.5 btc is better than doing nothing...

You can see there was plenty in the mempool here:
http://statoshi.info/dashboard/db/memory-pool
chiller
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 129
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 21, 2017, 01:18:21 AM
 #3

And it might mean that the current difficulty is too low or that increase in difficulty will be adjusted (increased) soon™

amaclin1
Full Member
***
Online Online

Activity: 434
Merit: 208


View Profile
July 21, 2017, 05:31:39 AM
 #4

https://blockchain.info/block/00000000000000000133b1f5f05d1be6582b3f10e5fdb940d8896b85525a32ec

Does this mean the mempool has officially decreased to a very small amount that these can be sent or is this an error either of the network or of blockchain.info?
OMG! Hero member question in "Development & Technical Discussion"!
Move it to "Newbies & help" asap
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1134
Merit: 1104


View Profile
July 21, 2017, 05:51:05 PM
 #5

These are quite common - look it was mined very soon after a block had just been mined.

Issue is that after a block has been mined the mining pool has to get details of a new block - this involves verifying the last block was OK, removing all the transactions that were in the last block from the memory pool, select new ones, building the merkel tree and then the header to mine with. This takes some time (should be less than a second).
So during that second a lot of pools just create an empty block - this will always be valid - with the last block has as the previous block - some do not even validate the old block - especially as in this case as they mined it, and send that header to the miners to mine.

If they did not do this the miners would be idle for a short period of time every time there was a new block.

Mining an empty block for 12.5 btc is better than doing nothing...

You can see there was plenty in the mempool here:
http://statoshi.info/dashboard/db/memory-pool

I assumed these blocks would normally be orphaned. But it is faster just to mine the header and not the entire block, it is not an efficient way to do it - you don't get the TX fee of individual transactions if there aren't any on a block).
And it might mean that the current difficulty is too low or that increase in difficulty will be adjusted (increased) soon™

Luck can also be the case in mining a fast block.

chiller
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 129
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 21, 2017, 09:49:46 PM
 #6

Luck can also be the case in mining a fast block.

Or this. It would be interesting to get some statistic on such fast blocks ( lets say 10 seconds or less). I know there's a lot of luck involved in solving block puzzles. Call me dumb but I still believe that there's some space for low power/hashing power bitcoin solo mining nodes  cheap to hash a block in a lifetime even in this exohash magnitude difficulty times if you are lucky:)

jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1134
Merit: 1104


View Profile
July 22, 2017, 10:33:13 AM
 #7

Luck can also be the case in mining a fast block.

Or this. It would be interesting to get some statistic on such fast blocks ( lets say 10 seconds or less). I know there's a lot of luck involved in solving block puzzles. Call me dumb but I still believe that there's some space for low power/hashing power bitcoin solo mining nodes  cheap to hash a block in a lifetime even in this exohash magnitude difficulty times if you are lucky:)

I think this was the purpose of the Antminer R1. If you push 1 chip at a solo pool you may eventually get something (and it was a router anyway so, if you didn't, you had something to extend your internet connection).

While it's really unlikely to get a block this way, if you don't pay for electricity it's worth a try on an old computer.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!