Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2017, 11:33:07 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Vircurex Functioning... any news on Cryptostocks?  (Read 1131 times)
rlh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 775


View Profile
May 13, 2013, 04:39:49 PM
 #1

Ok, so I am well aware of the Vircurex/Cryptostocks outage.  I've seen the bulletins and I've been following Kumala.  Still, I can't seem to find any non-generic information on Cryptostocks, which is still down.

Has anyone heard any info that I might have missed?  Specifically, why has been Vircurex been back online for over a day now, and Cryptostocks is a completely gone with no message on the front-page?!

I manage a security and I'd like to hear "something" so that I can post info on my securities blog.

A Personal Quote on BTT from 2011:
"I'd be willing to make a moderate "investment" if the value of the BTC went below $2.00.  Otherwise I'll just have to live with my 5 BTC and be happy. :/"  ...sigh.  If only I knew.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513035187
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513035187

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513035187
Reply with quote  #2

1513035187
Report to moderator
1513035187
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513035187

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513035187
Reply with quote  #2

1513035187
Report to moderator
1513035187
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513035187

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513035187
Reply with quote  #2

1513035187
Report to moderator
Theraty
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
May 14, 2013, 05:33:41 AM
 #2

Cryptostocks is back online.
rlh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 775


View Profile
May 14, 2013, 11:03:41 AM
 #3

I had a discussion with someone about this the other day.  It appears that some people can get to Cryptostocks, while others can't.

This morning I was able to finally connect to cryptostocks, but I had to first load it from a browser that I never use (Safari).  After doing that, I was able to load the page in my typical browser (Chrome.) 

What does this mean?  Well, I'm guessing the admins had to move their web server to a different IP and something was incorrectly cached on my computer and some routing table that Chrome didn't update.  The bottom line is, if you are still having trouble, try clearing your browser cache first (I didn't try this, but I suspect it would have worked.)  If that doesn't work, and you are using Chrome, then try using a different browser.  Preferably one that comes with your OS.

A Personal Quote on BTT from 2011:
"I'd be willing to make a moderate "investment" if the value of the BTC went below $2.00.  Otherwise I'll just have to live with my 5 BTC and be happy. :/"  ...sigh.  If only I knew.
jonytk
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106



View Profile
May 14, 2013, 04:45:32 PM
 #4

Cryptostock is back online.

But i got a question for kumala,

what was the vulnerability and was it fixed??....

i mean, really, everything back to normal in 2 days?

sure everything is secure ??

Trance104
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 209


View Profile WWW
May 17, 2013, 08:10:34 PM
 #5

Strange. I still can't get in... Even after trying what you suggested.

Can't stop the Trance! Dance!! DANCE!!!
www.youtube.com/pixelfixgaming
Kumala
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 525



View Profile
May 18, 2013, 09:27:22 AM
 #6

Dear all,  our apologies, although we had brought up the site last weekend and updated the DNS resolution.   What we had overlooked is that we had a very old DNS service still running (dnsever.com) and forgot to update that DNS resolution service. Hence some people were able to login while others not, even worse sometimes it worked, other times it did not.

We have now deleted this "old" DNS service and all should be well.

If you cant access the site via the domain name then feel free to access it via the IP address for the time being until the DNS service has propagated the latest changes.

https://198.211.105.133


Hacked Account! Don't send any money.
BTC_USER_014
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
May 21, 2013, 07:26:10 PM
 #7

Yes, its full working now. Thanks Kumala!  Grin
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!