Bitcoin Forum
May 22, 2024, 07:41:43 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: double spending scenario  (Read 471 times)
kotbi (OP)

Activity: 210
Merit: 100

View Profile WWW
July 22, 2017, 05:36:38 PM

Hello, I'm new to this bitcoin technology. And I have a question about double spending. Can you take a look at the following case and tell me what I am wrong

So let's say my wallet has 5 BTC. First I send a payment of 1 BTC to receiver A. It is verified by a full node and put into the mem pool.
Immediately after that, I send all 5 BTC to B. It is then verified by a different full node and also put into the mem pool. Because I put more transaction fees on the second transaction, the second transaction will mostly likely picked up by a miner faster than the 1st transaction and get 1st confirmation. Thus I did my double spending.

Which part of my logic is wrong?

████→→       ● BitMEX, trade bitcoin and altcoins using 100X leverage   Use this link to sign up and get 10% off fees for 6 months

████→→       ● BitMEX, 100倍杠杆交易比特币和山寨币  设在香港,提供中文支持, 用此链接开户前6个月节省10%的交易费
dothebeats
Legendary

Activity: 3654
Merit: 1353

View Profile
July 22, 2017, 05:43:12 PM

Your logic is correct, however take note that as more confirmations is being made on the first transaction you made, the harder it will be to perform a double-spend. Ideally, you might do double-spending on an unconfirmed transaction since it will just be left out and the one with the higher fee would be accepted regardless of which was registered first in the mempool.
kotbi (OP)

View Profile WWW
July 22, 2017, 05:46:51 PM

Hello, I'm new to this bitcoin technology. And I have a question about double spending. Can you take a look at the following case and tell me what I am wrong

So let's say my wallet has 5 BTC. First I send a payment of 1 BTC to receiver A. It is verified by a full node and put into the mem pool.