Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 04:06:50 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Panicking need help (asm'ing new rig)  (Read 722 times)
afarzin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
June 21, 2011, 04:42:27 AM
 #1

I was just assembling my first mining rig today and things didn't go well. First off, power supply is a corsair 950W and cards are x3 XFX 5830. First question: Is that enough for these cards? CPU is sempron 145, SSD drive, no optical drives.

I hooked everything up, turned it on and noticed that a) nothing showed up on monitor b) power kindda went out. On/off behavior was looking kindda strange and not steady (went off after a while, wouldn't come on for a while etc). Then one of the cards made a popping noise and some sparks shot out. I removed all the cards, put one back in and system seems to behave normally in regards with staying on but there's still nothing on the screen. I tried various output configurations for the monitor (DVI/DVI to VGA/HDMI on my tv)

So how messed up is my equipment right now? Any chance power supply was faulty? or was it just not enough and voltage instability messed something up?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481040410
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481040410

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481040410
Reply with quote  #2

1481040410
Report to moderator
speckman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
June 21, 2011, 05:06:28 AM
 #2

I had to return one of my xfx 5830s because it would prevent any motherboard from starting up properly--nothing would show on the screen, even if a different card were hooked to the monitor.  The fan would spin though.

I don't know about your power but that seems like a lot, 950.  Definitely try all of the cards solo in case one is dead, though it sounds like you have worse problems.  Sad  And I'm not sure if you should keep using that power supply.  I've heard of faulty ones frying everything they're plugged into.  But hopefully someone who knows more will say something.
afarzin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
June 21, 2011, 03:43:13 PM
 #3

What's a typical PSU wattage that's suitable for x3 5830? Anyone?
Kermee
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
June 21, 2011, 04:33:00 PM
 #4

What's a typical PSU wattage that's suitable for x3 5830? Anyone?

I don't have an exact answer but maybe this info will help.

My 'standard' 1.2+ GH/s rig configuration is:

CPU: AMD Sempron 140
Board: MSI 890FXA-GD70
Memory: 1x2GB DDR3 (whatever speed; doesn't matter)
GPU's: 4x5830's clocked to 960/300
PSU: Corsair 950W

Standard draw with Kill-A-Watt per rig is 650W, even with the 5830's OC'ed to 960/300.

There's actually head-room to add one more 5830 for 5x5830's with the Corsair 950 if I used PCIe extenders.

Hope this helps.

I use an 8GB USB flash drive to run Ubuntu 11.04 headless using Catalyst 11.6 and phoenix 1.50.

Cheers,
Kermee

afarzin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
June 21, 2011, 07:37:01 PM
 #5

Quote
GPU's: 4x5830's clocked to 960/300

How do you fit them all in the board? (PCI extenders?) Also do you have any cooling issues?
Bitslizer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 21, 2011, 07:45:13 PM
 #6

spark shooting out is never good Sad
moonboon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
June 21, 2011, 07:45:48 PM
 #7

this site should help you with your psu requirement calculations:

http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp
afarzin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
June 21, 2011, 07:55:17 PM
 #8

this site should help you with your psu requirement calculations:

http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp

I've been there before, but I can't figure out how to plugin x3 graphic cards.
Bitslizer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 21, 2011, 08:06:09 PM
 #9

this site should help you with your psu requirement calculations:

http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp

I've been there before, but I can't figure out how to plugin x3 graphic cards.

Run it for 1 card, then run it for 2 card in Xfire mode, take the difference that's the extra power the 2nd card uses now add that difference to the numbers for the 2card in Xfire, and you have the approximate usage for 3 cards
Kermee
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 05:36:35 AM
 #10

Quote
GPU's: 4x5830's clocked to 960/300

How do you fit them all in the board? (PCI extenders?) Also do you have any cooling issues?

They're not in a case. No extra fans on them but I am using spacers on them (Styrofoam peanuts from Newegg packaging). No cooling issues other than there's AC running in the room to 72F.

Code:
Every 1.0s: DISPLAY=:0 aticonfig --odgt --adapter=all   Tue Jun 21 22:35:18 2011


Adapter 0 - ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
            Sensor 0: Temperature - 71.00 C

Adapter 1 - ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
            Sensor 0: Temperature - 78.00 C

Adapter 2 - ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
            Sensor 0: Temperature - 75.00 C

Adapter 3 - ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
            Sensor 0: Temperature - 64.00 C

Cheers,
Kermee

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!