Bitcoin Forum
May 25, 2018, 06:05:45 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: GuiMiner - scrypt 3 x 7950 help needed! Bounty :D  (Read 820 times)
unkunku
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 14, 2013, 03:07:59 PM
 #1

Hello everyone Smiley

I've just setted up my Litecoin mining rig consisting of 3 x 7950 GPU's, all connected to the motherboard through 2st 16x and 1st 1x riser.

Now to the problem, two cards are running absolutely fine. However one of the cards ( connected furthest away from mobo, if it makes any difference ), as soon as you press start on GuiMiner - scrypt for that card I get (avg):0.000h/s | Q:7  A:0  R:0  HW:0  E:0%  U:0.0/m and then just shortly thereafter everything freezes for 1 sec and screen blinks and " amd drivers stopped responding and has recovered" pops up. The GPU which has the problem is connected via a 16x riser.

The card is completely useless at this stage, I noticed that one can run the card on low settings for 7950 but then one gets insanely(!) low hashrate of around 50... 

My specs are

Mobo: Gigabyte 990XA-UD3 rev 3.0
PSU: Corsair AX1200W
RAM: 10GB
CPU : Cheapest I could find.
GPU: 3 x 7950 connected with risers.
Afterburner not installed, MSI kombustor installed and running though

Can't really understand why this is happening, started out when I upgraded from 2x 7950 to 3 x 7950. It's one of the old GPU's too that's messing, not the new one I added. I downgraded to drivers 12.8, still same problem ( had initially the latest ) 

Been stuck with this sh*t now for 2 hours. Will give a small bounty of 5 LTC, the solution should work when I go to 4 x 7950 too ( as I've planned with my rig ).

Thanks in advance! 
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1527228345
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527228345

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527228345
Reply with quote  #2

1527228345
Report to moderator
habsrock93
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 14, 2013, 04:42:58 PM
 #2

I had a similar problem when my O/c utility was running at the same time.  Once I closed Afterburner the problem went away...you could also try and diff. pci slot

Rep @ https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=213744.0
habsrock93
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 14, 2013, 04:45:13 PM
 #3

On some mobo's you can't use all the 16x and the 1x at the same time, try shifting the pci x1 to a diff location..thats my best guess

Rep @ https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=213744.0
unkunku
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 14, 2013, 04:52:09 PM
 #4

The GPU which has the problem is connected via a 16x riser, also yes I've also noticed some problems when running with afterburner. However here I haven't even installed afterburner, only MSI kombustor.

Added this info to the thread start
nickwen
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 15, 2013, 06:46:44 AM
 #5

try this
cgminer --scrypt -o URL-u USER -p PASSWORD --thread-concurrency 23040  -w 256 --gpu-powertune 20 --lookup-gap 2  i 16
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!