Bitcoin Forum
May 22, 2018, 10:00:28 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Electrum 1.7.3 connects to many different IP addresses on startup. Why?  (Read 2198 times)
DigitalHermit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150
Merit: 100


Thank you! Thank you! ...


View Profile
May 14, 2013, 04:53:25 PM
 #1

Hello,

  This is a basic question about Electrum security. I run my own electrum server and have configured electrum to only connect to it (no looking for random other servers if my server is unavailable). So, that being the case, why does electrum need to connect to a bunch of other IP addresses on startup?

So far I've logged the following (in IP:port format):

204.232.175.78:80
190.93.243.195:80
141.101.112.196:80

Before I get out my proxy server and start pouring over the source code to figure out what it is trying to do, anyone know why electrum would need to connect to all these different IP address? It seems to be chatty for no apparent reason.

Thanks!

p.s. none of these IP addresses is my electrum server btw.
1527026428
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527026428

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527026428
Reply with quote  #2

1527026428
Report to moderator
1527026428
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527026428

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527026428
Reply with quote  #2

1527026428
Report to moderator
The forum strives to allow free discussion of any ideas. All policies are built around this principle. This doesn't mean you can post garbage, though: posts should actually contain ideas, and these ideas should be argued reasonably.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Tuxavant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1000

Bitcoin Mayor of Las Vegas


View Profile WWW
May 14, 2013, 04:57:10 PM
 #2

One is probably looking for updates at github to tell you of a new updates, another is to look up the exchange rate. Not sure what the 3rd might be.

flatfly
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1002


View Profile
May 14, 2013, 05:30:31 PM
 #3

the 3rd is the connection to electrum.org to download the blockchain headers

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
DigitalHermit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150
Merit: 100


Thank you! Thank you! ...


View Profile
May 14, 2013, 05:45:37 PM
 #4

Thanks for the explanation(s)!

I always thought that the client was downloading blockchain headers from the electrum server but obviously my assumption was incorrect. Doesn't that make all electrum clients vulnerable to the shutdown of the electrum.org site then? Seems fragile at the least.

The other two queries (new version check and currency exchange rate check) seem like they could be made optional (with a command line option of some sort). Perhaps if I have time I'll fork a version that has that feature.

p.s. The reason I noticed these is that the electrum gui failed to come up sometimes (seemingly randomly) and so I started troubleshooting the network - turns out my network was being spotty.
ThomasV
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1899
Merit: 1007



View Profile WWW
May 14, 2013, 05:54:34 PM
 #5

Thanks for the explanation(s)!

I always thought that the client was downloading blockchain headers from the electrum server but obviously my assumption was incorrect. Doesn't that make all electrum clients vulnerable to the shutdown of the electrum.org site then? Seems fragile at the least.
if you install Electrum for the first time, it will try to download the headers from electrum.org.
if this fails, it will query them from the servers.
this is in order to reduce the load on the servers.


Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
DigitalHermit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150
Merit: 100


Thank you! Thank you! ...


View Profile
May 14, 2013, 10:06:11 PM
 #6

In case anyone reading this thread with electrum installed on linux wants to prevent these connections without altering electrum source code directly, this shell script did the trick (assuming you have admin access to your linux box):

Code:
#!/bin/sh

# Block outbound access temporarily
sudo iptables -A OUTPUT -d 204.232.175.78 -j DROP
sudo iptables -A OUTPUT -d 190.93.243.195 -j DROP
sudo iptables -A OUTPUT -d 141.101.112.196 -j DROP

# Run electrum
/usr/local/bin/electrum

# Unblock outbound access
sudo iptables -D OUTPUT -d 204.232.175.78 -j DROP
sudo iptables -D OUTPUT -d 190.93.243.195 -j DROP
sudo iptables -D OUTPUT -d 141.101.112.196 -j DROP
Jaxkr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 17, 2013, 04:22:40 AM
 #7

One is probably looking for updates at github to tell you of a new updates, another is to look up the exchange rate. Not sure what the 3rd might be.
The third is probably the Electrum servers themselves.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!