Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2017, 05:51:27 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: May 15 omg what do I do?  (Read 2067 times)
Primrose
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
May 14, 2013, 11:34:25 PM
 #1

HELP

15th May has arrived and I haven't yet done anything cos I didn't get chance.
What shall I do so I can receive bitcoins?
I am not tech savvy so I dunno what I am doing.

Thanks
1512971487
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512971487

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512971487
Reply with quote  #2

1512971487
Report to moderator
1512971487
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512971487

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512971487
Reply with quote  #2

1512971487
Report to moderator
1512971487
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512971487

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512971487
Reply with quote  #2

1512971487
Report to moderator
"Bitcoin: mining our own business since 2009" -- Pieter Wuille
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1512971487
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512971487

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512971487
Reply with quote  #2

1512971487
Report to moderator
1512971487
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512971487

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512971487
Reply with quote  #2

1512971487
Report to moderator
gmaxwell
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2366



View Profile
May 14, 2013, 11:43:52 PM
 #2

If you're not running Bitcoin-qt or Bitcoind, do nothing.

If you're running Bitcoin-qt or Bitcoind version v0.8 or later (0.8.0 or 0.8.1), do nothing.

If you're running Bitcoin-qt or Bitcoind prior to v0.8 (0.7.2, 0.6.1, 0.3.24, etc), upgrade to 0.8.1 (or if you feel adventurous the 0.8.2 RC)

If you're running Bitcoin-qt or Bitcoind, apply the workaround on the may 15 page or use a backport.

If your hair is on fire: Call 911. This isn't the right place for getting help with actual emergencies.

Bitcoin will not be compromised
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


✪ NEXCHANGE | BTC, LTC, ETH & DOGE ✪


View Profile
May 14, 2013, 11:46:21 PM
 #3

15th May has arrived and I haven't yet done anything cos I didn't get chance.

Are you referring to the May 15th hard fork?

You don't need to do anything if you are using the Bitcoin-Qt/bitcoind client software v0.8.x or higher.

If you are using an older version of the client, you simply need to be using a version that supports more transactions per block.  This means v0.7.3 instead and other v0.7.x you might be using.  Or just go to v0.8.1.

Upgrading is simply installing the new client.  It will not erase your existing wallet, so there's no wallet migration or anything like that.

You will want to make sure you have a current backup before upgrading (well, you always want to make sure you have a current backup).


So is that what you meant about "May 15th"?


Primrose
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
May 15, 2013, 12:54:16 AM
 #4

Hi and thanks

I am running qt version 4.8.3.
I just downloaded and installed 0.8.1 and when I went into it, it still showed it to be version 4.8.3.

As I am installing it on 15th May, and therefore late for the deadline before 15th May, will I have difficulty receiving bitcoin and be out of sync, as described in here http://bitcoin.org/may15.html..

Please could someone help thanks again I really appreciate it.

deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512



View Profile WWW
May 15, 2013, 01:08:59 AM
 #5

Additionally, you may also remove your hash power from any pools that do not have a stated policy of limiting blockchain bloat and let them know why.

This won't affect any user until a miner/pool creates a block big enough to break older clients again and repeat the fork. It is very easy for a pool to say "We don't need to manually alter the default 250k blocksize of Bitcoin again to purposefully create big blocks".
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


✪ NEXCHANGE | BTC, LTC, ETH & DOGE ✪


View Profile
May 15, 2013, 01:16:11 AM
 #6

will I have difficulty receiving bitcoin and be out of sync, as described in here http://bitcoin.org/may15.html..

Yes, as soon as there is a block that exceeds the max (expect it sooner rather than later), then your 0.4.8 will no longer take blocks.

You can also use v0.4.9 backport:
 - http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=199699.0

Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


✪ NEXCHANGE | BTC, LTC, ETH & DOGE ✪


View Profile
May 15, 2013, 01:19:15 AM
 #7

I am running qt version 4.8.3.

Sanity check.   Qt is the framework.  Bitcoin-Qt is an application.

You can see the version of Bitcoin-Qt by Help -> About Bitcoin.  [Edited, thanks Cyberdyne]

Cyberdyne
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
May 15, 2013, 01:23:03 AM
 #8

I am running qt version 4.8.3.

Sanity check.   Qt is the framework.  Bitcoin-Qt is an app.

You can see the version of Bitcoin-Qt by Help -> About.


I don't know about other versions, but in 0.8.0, there is no Help -> About.

There is only:

Help -> About Bitcoin
and
Help -> About Qt

Obviously, choose the first one.
gmaxwell
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2366



View Profile
May 15, 2013, 02:07:17 AM
 #9

Yes, as soon as there is a block that exceeds the max (expect it sooner rather than later), then your 0.4.8 will no longer take blocks.
As an aside, — the failure is not quite deterministic. It's possible that there will be some large blocks that trigger the failure in some nodes and not others. (This was one of the reasons that sticking with the 0.7 behavior was not acceptable, and also why the 0.8.1 temporary protective rule had to be so low).  Not that it matters for this thread, but later you may find yourself confused if you hear mixed reports and don't know this.

Bitcoin will not be compromised
justmyname
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
May 18, 2013, 04:29:59 PM
 #10

If you open up your Bitcoin client and click on "Help" you will get "About Bitcoin" and "About Qt".   If I click on "About Qt I get 4.8.3 version. But if I click on "About Bitcoin" I get v0.8.1-beta.

I Assume I am already updated.


You might lose your coins by leaving them on some site with crooks . Or you may lose your coins by some computer mistake or problem. I'm not sure what is the bigger risk? 
krudkeeper
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


YOU set the price to advertise with us!


View Profile WWW
May 20, 2013, 11:46:25 PM
 #11

HELP

15th May has arrived and I haven't yet done anything cos I didn't get chance.
What shall I do so I can receive bitcoins?
I am not tech savvy so I dunno what I am doing.

Thanks

You could always visit free bitcoin sites, lol!  Grin Sorry, I couldn't resist.

esadee
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95



View Profile
May 22, 2013, 09:28:03 PM
 #12

Remember Remember the Fifteenth of May-vember?
louisBSAS
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89



View Profile
June 01, 2013, 10:24:19 PM
 #13

I updated from .07x to 0.8.1 on the 15th.

Bitcoin-qt starts, begins to re-index, and then locks up my Ubuntu 10.04LTS box - this machine has never locked up before, runs 24/7 - months on end.

I saw a post from another 10.04 user in one of my local lists saying he had the same issue- another member said, "update to 0.8.2...?

I updated to 0.8.2 - same thing. 

Anyone?


bnjmnkent
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 04:53:19 AM
 #14

Normally you provide the output of lines like

$ dmesg > bitcoin_qt_error.txt
$ cat /var/log/syslog >> bitcoin_qt_error.txt

or its contents to the developers. It is best to gather the information
closest to your incident. If you cannot figure out your problem by yourself,
you could try to reach the developers via sourceforge.net.
louisBSAS
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89



View Profile
June 12, 2013, 04:18:49 PM
 #15

bitcoin-qt doesn't record an error, it just locks up my machine.

After 10 or so tries, the blockchain download was complete.  Importing my wallet.dat (copied into the .bitcoin folder) gave me an error "wallet corrupt" upon starting bitcoin-qt (0.8.2)

Then I opened the same wallet file with bitcoin0.6.3 and it loaded fine - I exported my private key and changed over to Electrum.

I have a lot of money tied up in bitcoin and can't have 'bugs'.  Really disappointed in developers who messed things up, i.e. a mandatory update that kills functionality (they needed only to correct the block size).

kodo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
June 12, 2013, 10:48:32 PM
 #16

All you gotta do is download the new version and transfer your wallet.dat

Just A Guy Interested In Bitcoins
louisBSAS
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89



View Profile
June 20, 2013, 07:52:07 PM
 #17

All you gotta do is download the new version and transfer your wallet.dat

Importing my wallet.dat (copied into the .bitcoin folder) gave me an error "wallet corrupt" upon starting bitcoin-qt (0.8.2)

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!