Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2017, 02:03:12 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Radeon x1900 hashrate  (Read 2137 times)
Biomech
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204


Anarchy is not chaos.


View Profile
May 15, 2013, 01:47:30 AM
 #1

Hello, this is in the newbie section because it's a dumb newbie question, but I can't seem to find the answer.

I'm strapped. Got no money. But I do have some hardware lying about, and I want to set up a mining rig. It don't need to be fancy, and I don't care about profitability right now, as this is mostly a "getting my feet wet" sort of project.

My question, then, is what the hashrate of a Radeon X1900 might be. I have one lying around, and I figured it's probably a good one to experiment with. So I searched. I found some reference to people using them in the early days of GPU mining, but NO technical information. Maybe I'm searching wrong, but damn!

Anyway, any help or links would be greatly appreciated.


Buy Bitcoins with Paypal, Credit card, or other methods. Send me a PM or a text to 208-451-2665.
1513260192
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513260192

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513260192
Reply with quote  #2

1513260192
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513260192
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513260192

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513260192
Reply with quote  #2

1513260192
Report to moderator
1513260192
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513260192

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513260192
Reply with quote  #2

1513260192
Report to moderator
jamesgarfield
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
May 15, 2013, 03:02:19 AM
 #2

Im sure it will generate a few BTC/LTC its worth it to invest in a better rig tho.

Obama's alt account Smiley
Psyrick
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30



View Profile
May 15, 2013, 03:16:05 AM
 #3

Why not just get it fired up and find out?

BORG 1TA3CQfApBtHafdCRkXAUj2XiaHipPgVA
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
May 15, 2013, 03:28:03 AM
 #4

http://www.amd.com/us/products/desktop/graphics/other/Pages/x1900-specifications.aspx

The radeon x1900 will most likely be Unable to mine bitcoins with any conventional software due to the lack of OpenCL

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
Psyrick
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30



View Profile
May 15, 2013, 03:32:22 AM
 #5

It has 48 shaders and a stock clock speed of 650MHz. This is a rough stab, but I'd figure around 11Mhash/s.

BORG 1TA3CQfApBtHafdCRkXAUj2XiaHipPgVA
scab
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
May 15, 2013, 04:26:49 AM
 #6

Try to get out of newb prison and post in the technical help section.
jamesgarfield
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
May 15, 2013, 04:27:03 AM
 #7

Im not sure was never big into mining.

Obama's alt account Smiley
mowtheface
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 15, 2013, 04:53:11 AM
 #8

It's good for learning to mine, but you probably would lose money on electricity using it.
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092


If you want to walk on water, get out of the boat


View Profile
May 15, 2013, 05:37:31 AM
 #9

0

It does not support OpenCL and it does not even support CAL (what was used to do gpgpu on ATI cards before OpenCL)
toboboto
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
May 15, 2013, 05:59:19 AM
 #10

dinosaur card.
Arkarch
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
May 15, 2013, 08:26:39 AM
 #11


Pretty sure its not going to work.  I got an old 1800 that is not even in the machine.

But its not a waste.  If you decide to invest a bit for an OpenCL card, you may want a secondary card for using your machine during mining.  Intense mining on a GPU that is also used to drive your display generally makes your interface choppy or non-existant.
furuknapps
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 15, 2013, 08:34:31 AM
 #12

dinosaur card.
ha-ha, yes!
zeeshanblc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392



View Profile
May 15, 2013, 08:38:16 PM
 #13

Try mining PowerCoins, this is the most profitable right now. This coin has a very big potential to be great. With your current hashrate you can buy more mining rig if you mine PowerCoin.
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
May 15, 2013, 08:52:20 PM
 #14

Try mining PowerCoins, this is the most profitable right now. This coin has a very big potential to be great. With your current hashrate you can buy more mining rig if you mine PowerCoin.
Uhh, No.
Do not hop onto NEW altcoins. Majority of them are nothing more than a potshot in the dark get rich quick attempt on others misfortune.

Personally i only recognise three coins right now, Namecoin, Litecoin, and Bitcoin.
Namecoin is ONLY on that list because of its frequent Merged Mining advertising

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
zeeshanblc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392



View Profile
May 15, 2013, 09:03:15 PM
 #15

PowerCoins is not just  some ordinary clones. If you know the community backing powercoin its even ten times bigger than bitcointalk. This would be revealed next week. More and more sites will accept this coin.
VPSguy83
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
May 15, 2013, 09:18:57 PM
 #16

Deff need opencl support
NoStr0m0
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
May 15, 2013, 09:41:15 PM
 #17

Of course, you could try... CPU mining. You might get a better hash rate than from the card.

And since we're on the subject, if by any chance you have one of the new CPUs with integrated graphics card, you actually get quite a good hash rate from it. I get about 90MHs from an AMD A10-5800K.

if by some chance someone has made your day better, feel free to pass it forward:
1P8PHirMoc4uZGT48gLnrUCCj7GSgrRynq
scab
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
May 15, 2013, 10:56:14 PM
 #18

CPU mining is very ineffective to say the least...
Biomech
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204


Anarchy is not chaos.


View Profile
May 17, 2013, 12:51:13 AM
 #19

thanks, people.

As I said in the OP, I'm not caring about the profitability right now. Just experimenting. But if it won't even run the software, I'll hold off.

As to the use of intergrated graphics cards, I have an AMD e-450 in this machine, which may be the way to play. Bios reports the thing as an AMD 6320.

Down the line a bit, I'll pop for a decent GPU. Right now I simply can't afford it.

Buy Bitcoins with Paypal, Credit card, or other methods. Send me a PM or a text to 208-451-2665.
Lessaj
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
May 17, 2013, 02:21:01 AM
 #20

I remember my old X1800, good card back in the day, but you would definitely be better off using the integrated and/or CPU to get started. I'm mining litecoin on a GTX 680 and my 3770K (I built my computer for gaming, not mining) just to get my feet wet, but I still have my old board and CPU I'm going to put a 5770 my uncle isn't using to get some more hashing done.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!