Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 03:05:00 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Anyone knows where can i get a 6990 graphic card?  (Read 2811 times)
EnGineer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19



View Profile
June 21, 2011, 09:18:16 PM
 #1

I'm looking to buy an "Gigabyte AMD Radeon HD 6990 (GV-R699D5-4GD-B) 4096MB PCIe x16 Gen 2.1 Eyefinity 6 Edition"
and i can't find anywhere to buy from (OUT OF STOCK).
Perhaps I should go and buy the ATI Radeon HD 5970? Would that give me the same (+/-) Mhash/sec?
+
I'm new to builing a computer - DIY and I was wondering if an "ASUS Socket AM3/AMD 890FX/CrossFireX/SATA 3.0 and USB 3.0/A and GbE/ATX Motherboard Crosshair IV Formula" motherboard is compatible for the 6990 graphic card (I don't really understand the differences between PCI-Express 2.1 x16 And PCI--Express 2.0....etc.).
http://www.amazon.com/CrossFireX-Motherboard-Crosshair-IV-Formula/dp/B003G40Z66/ref=sr_1_7?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1308690889&sr=1-7

tell me what you think? If not compatible so please refer me to any other motherboard that you recommand (for x3 6990's graphic cards crossfire).

thanks

I'm new in the bitcoin community so i need loan pls...
19TxHiRTSa7bcsRMckyAjAos3EpQ165rJE
Thank's
The Bitcoin software, network, and concept is called "Bitcoin" with a capitalized "B". Bitcoin currency units are called "bitcoins" with a lowercase "b" -- this is often abbreviated BTC.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
acesun
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 21, 2011, 10:09:29 PM
 #2

Hi, these are the slots you should be interested in:

3x PCI-Express 2.0 x16, ignore the x8 and the othe PCI slots.

It basically means you can have up to 3 graphics cards connected to your Motherboard. Your new graphics card will be compatible with any motherboard as long as these PCI-Express 2.0 x16 slots are present.

Keep in mind you will also need a high quality power supply for your computer (750W or more), since these high-end cards require:
1. To be connected to motherboard
2. Have 2 "PCI-E Cables" connected from the Power Supply to your card.

Good luck!
EnGineer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19



View Profile
June 21, 2011, 10:34:22 PM
 #3

Hi, these are the slots you should be interested in:

3x PCI-Express 2.0 x16, ignore the x8 and the othe PCI slots.

It basically means you can have up to 3 graphics cards connected to your Motherboard. Your new graphics card will be compatible with any motherboard as long as these PCI-Express 2.0 x16 slots are present.

Keep in mind you will also need a high quality power supply for your computer (750W or more), since these high-end cards require:
1. To be connected to motherboard
2. Have 2 "PCI-E Cables" connected from the Power Supply to your card.

Good luck!
Thanks for replying.

But are you sure the "Gigabyte Radeon HD 6990 4GB" Graphics Card slot is: PCI-Express 2.0 x16 ??
Because i've seen on ebay
( http://cgi.ebay.com/Gigabyte-Radeon-HD-6990-PCIE-4GB-DDR5-Bitcoin-Ready-/270767571412?pt=PCC_Video_TV_Cards&hash=item3f0b0141d4#ht_1392wt_1138 )
something about "Host Interface:   PCI Express 2.1 x16"..... so? which is right?

I'm new in the bitcoin community so i need loan pls...
19TxHiRTSa7bcsRMckyAjAos3EpQ165rJE
Thank's
b1tc01n_wh0r3
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17



View Profile
June 21, 2011, 10:39:52 PM
 #4

why don't you go for 5970's instead? similar hash rate and less power consumption.

19HAcLfGD9FYs2Gt5cXMzmdFa1SQbxj7Mk
EnGineer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19



View Profile
June 21, 2011, 10:50:42 PM
 #5

why don't you go for 5970's instead? similar hash rate and less power consumption.
Actually that's what i was thinking too... but i wasn't sure about it.

But (again), why is the 5970's price is so high? It's price almost the same as the 6990...   Shocked

Do you know when will there be 6990's at stock?  Huh  Maybe I should wait a few weeks?!?!

I'm new in the bitcoin community so i need loan pls...
19TxHiRTSa7bcsRMckyAjAos3EpQ165rJE
Thank's
b1tc01n_wh0r3
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17



View Profile
June 21, 2011, 11:05:26 PM
 #6

why don't you go for 5970's instead? similar hash rate and less power consumption.
Actually that's what i was thinking too... but i wasn't sure about it.

But (again), why is the 5970's price is so high? It's price almost the same as the 6990...   Shocked

Do you know when will there be 6990's at stock?  Huh  Maybe I should wait a few weeks?!?!


Sorry, don't have any info on this.  Undecided

EDIT: but if you're located in the UK you can find 5970 in http://www.scan.co.uk/products/4gb-gigabyte-hd-6990-pci-e-21-(x16)-5000mhz-gddr5-gpu-830mhz-3072-cores-dl-dvi-i-4x-mini-dp


last time I checked they were in stock @£500smth.

19HAcLfGD9FYs2Gt5cXMzmdFa1SQbxj7Mk
b1tc01n_wh0r3
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17



View Profile
June 21, 2011, 11:09:25 PM
 #7

You could also always opt in for a pair of 5870's lower hash rate but way cheaper then those two. Also Longer you wait less BTC you'll generate as the difficulty keeps going up.

19HAcLfGD9FYs2Gt5cXMzmdFa1SQbxj7Mk
EnGineer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 12:12:08 AM
 #8

Thank you so much for your help.

God damn!!  928$ for the 5970 in here: http://www.scan.co.uk/products/4gb-gigabyte-hd-6990-pci-e-21-(x16)-5000mhz-gddr5-gpu-830mhz-3072-cores-dl-dvi-i-4x-mini-dp

You could also always opt in for a pair of 5870's lower hash rate but way cheaper then those two. Also Longer you wait less BTC you'll generate as the difficulty keeps going up.
I prefer to wait a few days and see if i can find my wish card rather then be stuck with a poor graphic card....   Wink   Grin


what about a real good motherboard that supports PCIe 2.1 (I need three 2.1 slots for the crossfire graphic cards)? any suggestions?

I'm new in the bitcoin community so i need loan pls...
19TxHiRTSa7bcsRMckyAjAos3EpQ165rJE
Thank's
Bitslizer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 12:15:51 AM
 #9

I'm looking to buy an "Gigabyte AMD Radeon HD 6990 (GV-R699D5-4GD-B) 4096MB PCIe x16 Gen 2.1 Eyefinity 6 Edition"
and i can't find anywhere to buy from (OUT OF STOCK).
Perhaps I should go and buy the ATI Radeon HD 5970? Would that give me the same (+/-) Mhash/sec?
+
I'm new to builing a computer - DIY and I was wondering if an "ASUS Socket AM3/AMD 890FX/CrossFireX/SATA 3.0 and USB 3.0/A and GbE/ATX Motherboard Crosshair IV Formula" motherboard is compatible for the 6990 graphic card (I don't really understand the differences between PCI-Express 2.1 x16 And PCI--Express 2.0....etc.).
http://www.amazon.com/CrossFireX-Motherboard-Crosshair-IV-Formula/dp/B003G40Z66/ref=sr_1_7?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1308690889&sr=1-7

tell me what you think? If not compatible so please refer me to any other motherboard that you recommand (for x3 6990's graphic cards crossfire).

thanks

Do you need the Eyefinity 6?
EnGineer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 12:20:21 AM
 #10

Do you need the Eyefinity 6?

No, i don't.

I'm new in the bitcoin community so i need loan pls...
19TxHiRTSa7bcsRMckyAjAos3EpQ165rJE
Thank's
b1tc01n_wh0r3
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 12:28:26 AM
 #11

I'm looking to buy an "Gigabyte AMD Radeon HD 6990 (GV-R699D5-4GD-B) 4096MB PCIe x16 Gen 2.1 Eyefinity 6 Edition"
and i can't find anywhere to buy from (OUT OF STOCK).
Perhaps I should go and buy the ATI Radeon HD 5970? Would that give me the same (+/-) Mhash/sec?
+
I'm new to builing a computer - DIY and I was wondering if an "ASUS Socket AM3/AMD 890FX/CrossFireX/SATA 3.0 and USB 3.0/A and GbE/ATX Motherboard Crosshair IV Formula" motherboard is compatible for the 6990 graphic card (I don't really understand the differences between PCI-Express 2.1 x16 And PCI--Express 2.0....etc.).
http://www.amazon.com/CrossFireX-Motherboard-Crosshair-IV-Formula/dp/B003G40Z66/ref=sr_1_7?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1308690889&sr=1-7

tell me what you think? If not compatible so please refer me to any other motherboard that you recommand (for x3 6990's graphic cards crossfire).

thanks

have a look at this website http://bitminer.info/ gives all info about cards, you can see from it that for 5870 and 6990 to pay off is only 0.95 days difference. Is it really worth it to pay $700+ for that GPU then?

Website info from http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=20807.0;topicseen thread.

19HAcLfGD9FYs2Gt5cXMzmdFa1SQbxj7Mk
Zengzang
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 01:00:55 AM
 #12

Try the marketplace theres a few people selling it there...
EnGineer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 01:02:53 AM
 #13

believe me that i already visited the http://bitminer.info/ site and i know about the "Mining hardware comparison".

What about a motherboard recommendations for my graphic card with crossfire link?

I'm new in the bitcoin community so i need loan pls...
19TxHiRTSa7bcsRMckyAjAos3EpQ165rJE
Thank's
EnGineer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 01:04:19 AM
 #14

Try the marketplace theres a few people selling it there...
Sorry for my "newbizem" but where is that marketplace?


Can anyone look and see if the "MSI 890FXA-GD70 AM3 AMD 890FX" Motherboard and the "XFX ATI Radeon HD 5970 (black edition)" are (PCIe - slots) compatible?
Thous are probably the one's i will buy (it depends on what you will answer me).

Thanks

I'm new in the bitcoin community so i need loan pls...
19TxHiRTSa7bcsRMckyAjAos3EpQ165rJE
Thank's
861362
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 02:27:12 AM
 #15

http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?board=5.0
Serge
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 02:35:48 AM
 #16

PCIe 2.x are run from same the same port 

so will be able to run 2.1 on 2.0
SlipperySlope
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686

Stephen Reed


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 05:24:06 AM
 #17

Here is what a review site says about the Radeon HD 6990 ....
Quote
Under the hood, the HD 6990 is nothing more than a pair of HD 6970 Cayman GPU cores that have been binned for low leakage ASICs and downclocked to meet the temperature and power commitments of the card's design. The HD5970 was built to fit into a 300 watt profile while the HD 6990 is designed to fit into a 375 watt profile with the ability to bump up to 450 watts via the AUSUM switch. This switch (used on all HD 69XX series cards) now gets a new function as an overclocking switch that loads a new voltage and clock speed profile. Something the HD 5970 lacked. This one change bumps the core clock speed and voltage up to meet HD 6970 clock speeds of 880MHz from the standard, as delivered HD 6990 clock speed of 830MHz. More changes that include refining the cooling design and voltage circuits promises a new take on the dual GPU, single PCB, video card.

For bitcoin mining purposes, you are better off installing two or more lower grade CPUs on separate cards.  The HD 6990 simply fits too much processing power in a single package and when overclocked, runs very hot and uses lots of power compared to alternative configurations. 

I chose to build three rigs each having 2 HD 5770 GPU cards.  In total they draw 850 watts and deliver 1200 MH/sec.  Because they are six separate cards I can run them in the non-air conditioned crawl space under my house.
masterbitcoin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 01:26:23 AM
 #18

well i just got my 6990 cards =p some forum / ad brought me to it and gave it try since 100% paypal which is safe ^__^ taken two weeks tho till i got it but hey there still sold out pretty much everywhere =p

http://bmedeals.webs.com
catcherintherye
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 02:42:53 AM
 #19

I'm selling a new 5970 for $680, amazon payments. PM me if you're interested.
abyrnes81
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 02:49:57 AM
 #20

Quote
I prefer to wait a few days and see if i can find my wish card rather then be stuck with a poor graphic card....   

The 5870 isn't really a "poor" graphic card, it's pretty good actually.

.
.......
.......
.......
.......
.......
.......
..........
.....
.....
.....
.....
.....
.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!