Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 12:19:45 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: number of GPUs on linux with 11.6?  (Read 1184 times)
CanaryInTheMine
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


between a rock and a block!


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 12:23:49 AM
 #1

Rumor has it that it can handle more than 8 GPUs?

Has anyone tried yet?

| In Default we Trust | Need gold/silver for btc? | Buy bitcoins |
1481458785
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481458785

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481458785
Reply with quote  #2

1481458785
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481458785
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481458785

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481458785
Reply with quote  #2

1481458785
Report to moderator
CanaryInTheMine
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


between a rock and a block!


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 02:15:58 AM
 #2

do want to know

btw anyone got this mobo ? http://imm.io/6H1D

@ $397 it's $49.63 per slot.

GA-990FXA-UD7 is at $250 and has 6 slots which works out to $41.67 per slot...

Hmmmm.... very tempting!!!

| In Default we Trust | Need gold/silver for btc? | Buy bitcoins |
padrino
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 02:28:15 AM
 #3

It's not a good answer but I can confirm 11.6 raises the Windows limit to 8 GPUs so if they made a move on both platforms it's logical they raised the Linux limit. I confirmed it with AMD directly and I currently have 7 in a rig and it recognizes them and I can use them. I do need to dummy plug them still and that is a pain, hoping AMD comes back with something on that as well.

1CPi7VRihoF396gyYYcs2AdTEF8KQG2BCR
CanaryInTheMine
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


between a rock and a block!


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 04:48:35 AM
 #4

It's not a good answer but I can confirm 11.6 raises the Windows limit to 8 GPUs so if they made a move on both platforms it's logical they raised the Linux limit. I confirmed it with AMD directly and I currently have 7 in a rig and it recognizes them and I can use them. I do need to dummy plug them still and that is a pain, hoping AMD comes back with something on that as well.
That's actually a much better answer!!!! OC of 6990s is a little easier under win for me...

| In Default we Trust | Need gold/silver for btc? | Buy bitcoins |
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 01:33:09 PM
 #5

do want to know

btw anyone got this mobo ? http://imm.io/6H1D

@ $397 it's $49.63 per slot.

GA-990FXA-UD7 is at $250 and has 6 slots which works out to $41.67 per slot...

Hmmmm.... very tempting!!!


You can get the GA-890FXA-UD5 that is way cheaper and has 4 long pci-e slots and 2 pci-e x1 slots. Since you are going to have to buy adapters anyway, it does not matter if they have to be x16 to x16 or x1 to x16, and the card is way cheaper.
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 07:35:40 PM
 #6

do want to know

btw anyone got this mobo ? http://imm.io/6H1D

I have this mother board, MSI Big Bang Marshal & i can mine 8 GPU's in Linux Ubuntu 11.04 with 5 nos of 5870 & 3 nos. of 6970 graphics cards(Total 8 cards). But heat is too much 95C+ even with underclocking & also the PSU can't able to power up, needs 3 nos of Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 1200 W PSU.
Parja
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 08:09:01 PM
 #7

will fit only 4 on mobo no ?

Extension cables to the rescue!
Lightspeed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
June 30, 2011, 11:31:43 PM
 #8

It's not a good answer but I can confirm 11.6 raises the Windows limit to 8 GPUs so if they made a move on both platforms it's logical they raised the Linux limit. I confirmed it with AMD directly and I currently have 7 in a rig and it recognizes them and I can use them. I do need to dummy plug them still and that is a pain, hoping AMD comes back with something on that as well.

I'm assuming your using risers yes? if so do your pci-e extenders have the supplemented molex power ? like the ones on cablesaurus?

Overclocking = money? Greatest full time hobby ever!
1AR2eheP4nckS3tuzZHG6ARYndeddxmeDg
CanaryInTheMine
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


between a rock and a block!


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 11:34:15 PM
 #9

It's not a good answer but I can confirm 11.6 raises the Windows limit to 8 GPUs so if they made a move on both platforms it's logical they raised the Linux limit. I confirmed it with AMD directly and I currently have 7 in a rig and it recognizes them and I can use them. I do need to dummy plug them still and that is a pain, hoping AMD comes back with something on that as well.

How's it going with AMD and the dummy plug issue?

| In Default we Trust | Need gold/silver for btc? | Buy bitcoins |
Lightspeed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
June 30, 2011, 11:42:08 PM
 #10

will fit only 4 on mobo no ?

Extension cables to the rescue!
then that increases the cost per slot

if you have 6 slots, but 4 can only be used without extenders, then you need 6 extenders, so $30 for that, then you need something to support the gpus, either you spend a large amount on a prebuilt solution or you ghetto build your own for very little/free

Overclocking = money? Greatest full time hobby ever!
1AR2eheP4nckS3tuzZHG6ARYndeddxmeDg
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!