Bitcoin Forum
December 15, 2017, 09:04:21 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: i7 mining?  (Read 6116 times)
bitDad13
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
September 04, 2017, 04:31:15 AM
 #41

Recently started on my i7-6700K using Claymore CryptoNote CPU Miner v3.5 Beta. Initially started 239 h/s then it went down to 198 h/s stable.
Thank you coinnoob_za for suggesting this to me  Smiley

your hashrate is good
I'm using MinerGate to mine Monero with i5 2500k, very low hashrate ~90H/s with 3/4 cores
you can see my testing video here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fGEA87ogrgw
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513328661
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513328661

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513328661
Reply with quote  #2

1513328661
Report to moderator
1513328661
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513328661

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513328661
Reply with quote  #2

1513328661
Report to moderator
joshuaj
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


IDEX - LIVE Real-time DEX


View Profile
September 05, 2017, 12:50:30 AM
 #42

Recently started on my i7-6700K using Claymore CryptoNote CPU Miner v3.5 Beta. Initially started 239 h/s then it went down to 198 h/s stable.
Thank you coinnoob_za for suggesting this to me  Smiley

your hashrate is good
I'm using MinerGate to mine Monero with i5 2500k, very low hashrate ~90H/s with 3/4 cores
you can see my testing video here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fGEA87ogrgw

I think mainly because i5 2500k only 4 threads.

MA3A
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198

To Hash or not to Hash, that's what the question


View Profile WWW
September 05, 2017, 03:34:26 AM
 #43

Quote
if electricity included and the harmed that it will cause to my computers
- electricity, yes.
 - it wont do any harm unless you will be overclocking or use it outside of specification requirements.

https://www.facebook.com/Qubex-Denver-Data-Recovery-473541326020759/ - accepting coins as payment
www.qubexdatarecovery.info Professional data recovery service: RAID0/RAID5/HYBRID/SSD/HDD/FLASH, ALL OS, up to LEVEL 4, ISO-10 Clean room/ISO-100 hoods, Pro tools and know-how.
bgdmxd
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


Veritas Mining - Sustainable Crypto Mining


View Profile
September 05, 2017, 05:42:41 AM
 #44

Recently started on my i7-6700K using Claymore CryptoNote CPU Miner v3.5 Beta. Initially started 239 h/s then it went down to 198 h/s stable.
Thank you coinnoob_za for suggesting this to me  Smiley

your hashrate is good
I'm using MinerGate to mine Monero with i5 2500k, very low hashrate ~90H/s with 3/4 cores
you can see my testing video here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fGEA87ogrgw

I have been CPU mining Monero using the MinerGate desktop program also. Have you made any withdrawal yet? I have heard some bad comments on withdrawing Monero from MinerGate. My balance has not reach the minimum yet to try it myself.

joshuaj
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


IDEX - LIVE Real-time DEX


View Profile
September 05, 2017, 07:57:51 AM
 #45

Recently started on my i7-6700K using Claymore CryptoNote CPU Miner v3.5 Beta. Initially started 239 h/s then it went down to 198 h/s stable.
Thank you coinnoob_za for suggesting this to me  Smiley

your hashrate is good
I'm using MinerGate to mine Monero with i5 2500k, very low hashrate ~90H/s with 3/4 cores
you can see my testing video here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fGEA87ogrgw

I have been CPU mining Monero using the MinerGate desktop program also. Have you made any withdrawal yet? I have heard some bad comments on withdrawing Monero from MinerGate. My balance has not reach the minimum yet to try it myself.

I have withdrawed XMR from minergate before without any problem. What kind of bad comments?

abudfv2008
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
September 05, 2017, 08:10:46 AM
 #46

your hashrate is good
I'm using MinerGate to mine Monero with i5 2500k, very low hashrate ~90H/s with 3/4 cores
you can see my testing video here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fGEA87ogrgw

I think mainly because i5 2500k only 4 threads.
i5-2500 at 3.6Gh, right miner, 3 threads, clean Win gives 145+h/s
i7 should all give 200-270+ depending on frequency.
antantti
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile
September 05, 2017, 09:31:11 AM
 #47

Any Intel cpu with AES does about 18h/s /Ghz /thread, number of threads is the amount of L3 cache /2. If you are getting less you are doing something (miner, pool, settins) wrong.

Examples (+/-10%):

i3@3GHz 4MB cache so 18x3x2=108 h/s
i5@4GHz 6MB cache so 18x4x3=216 h/s
i7@5GHz 8MB cache so 18x5x4=360 h/s
Xeon@2GHz 44MB cache so 18x2x22= 792 h/s

Easy tool to play with intel cpu + windows:

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/24075/Intel-Extreme-Tuning-Utility-Intel-XTU-

kcopcu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23

.. It is easy to be brave from a safe distance ...


View Profile
September 05, 2017, 09:48:23 AM
 #48

Any Intel cpu with AES does about 18h/s /Ghz /thread, number of threads is the amount of L3 cache /2. If you are getting less you are doing something (miner, pool, settins) wrong.

Examples (+/-10%):

i3@3GHz 4MB cache so 18x3x2=108 h/s
i5@4GHz 6MB cache so 18x4x3=216 h/s
i7@5GHz 8MB cache so 18x5x4=360 h/s
Xeon@2GHz 44MB cache so 18x2x22= 792 h/s

Easy tool to play with intel cpu + windows:

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/24075/Intel-Extreme-Tuning-Utility-Intel-XTU-



Awesome examples , thank you
MA3A
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198

To Hash or not to Hash, that's what the question


View Profile WWW
September 08, 2017, 11:13:54 PM
 #49

Quote
Xeon@2GHz 44MB cache so 18x2x22= 792 h/s
- what model is that?
 and what OS are those hashes are?

 

https://www.facebook.com/Qubex-Denver-Data-Recovery-473541326020759/ - accepting coins as payment
www.qubexdatarecovery.info Professional data recovery service: RAID0/RAID5/HYBRID/SSD/HDD/FLASH, ALL OS, up to LEVEL 4, ISO-10 Clean room/ISO-100 hoods, Pro tools and know-how.
civilufo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
September 09, 2017, 05:43:15 AM
 #50

Any Intel cpu with AES does about 18h/s /Ghz /thread, number of threads is the amount of L3 cache /2. If you are getting less you are doing something (miner, pool, settins) wrong.

Examples (+/-10%):

i3@3GHz 4MB cache so 18x3x2=108 h/s
i5@4GHz 6MB cache so 18x4x3=216 h/s
i7@5GHz 8MB cache so 18x5x4=360 h/s
Xeon@2GHz 44MB cache so 18x2x22= 792 h/s

Easy tool to play with intel cpu + windows:

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/24075/Intel-Extreme-Tuning-Utility-Intel-XTU-



I remember I check with one of my server but with only 200h/s by using Xeon cpu. I can't remember the model, or maybe let me check it again then post my results here.

yugyug
Full Member
***
Online Online

Activity: 238



View Profile
September 09, 2017, 05:54:51 AM
 #51

does anybody try to compare hash rate of i7 vs the hash rate of intel dual xeon e5 ? which of them is more profitable ? or it is much better to buy an intel pentium gxxxx series rig with sinlge 1070 or 1080 8gb gpu.

antantti
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile
September 09, 2017, 07:56:32 AM
 #52

Quote
Xeon@2GHz 44MB cache so 18x2x22= 792 h/s
- what model is that?
 and what OS are those hashes are?

 

*nix, windows. More L3=more threads, it's all about cache.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Intel_Xeon_microprocessors

MA3A
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198

To Hash or not to Hash, that's what the question


View Profile WWW
September 10, 2017, 12:55:47 AM
 #53

Quote
does anybody try to compare hash rate of i7 vs the hash rate of intel dual xeon e5 ? which of them is more profitable ? or it is much better to buy an intel pentium gxxxx series rig with sinlge 1070 or 1080 8gb gpu.

- I'd say go with GPU, unless you have access to cheap electricity and xeons, 7970 does 500-512hs...VEGA64 apparently does about 1000hs(mine/stock/claymore/balanced)-1500hs(some people showed screnshot, here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2162484.msg21653108#msg21653108) i have not tried it on 1080ti yet

https://www.facebook.com/Qubex-Denver-Data-Recovery-473541326020759/ - accepting coins as payment
www.qubexdatarecovery.info Professional data recovery service: RAID0/RAID5/HYBRID/SSD/HDD/FLASH, ALL OS, up to LEVEL 4, ISO-10 Clean room/ISO-100 hoods, Pro tools and know-how.
civilufo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
September 10, 2017, 02:46:30 AM
 #54

does anybody try to compare hash rate of i7 vs the hash rate of intel dual xeon e5 ? which of them is more profitable ? or it is much better to buy an intel pentium gxxxx series rig with sinlge 1070 or 1080 8gb gpu.

I own a i7 machine, and tested with Xeon x5 recently. X5 performed very bad, just about 200h/s, it is much less than i7 in cryptonight algorithm.

MA3A
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198

To Hash or not to Hash, that's what the question


View Profile WWW
September 11, 2017, 06:05:07 PM
 #55

Turns out this little soft knows how to get yourself +10 to +20% in hash rate, without the need to tinker with settings in bios.
https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/24075/Intel-Extreme-Tuning-Utility-Intel-XTU-

https://www.facebook.com/Qubex-Denver-Data-Recovery-473541326020759/ - accepting coins as payment
www.qubexdatarecovery.info Professional data recovery service: RAID0/RAID5/HYBRID/SSD/HDD/FLASH, ALL OS, up to LEVEL 4, ISO-10 Clean room/ISO-100 hoods, Pro tools and know-how.
antantti
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile
September 11, 2017, 07:09:44 PM
 #56

X5 performed very bad, just about 200h/s, it is much less than i7 in cryptonight algorithm.

X5000 series is too old, also some xeons are only rebranded i7's (or other way around). Look at the size of L3 cache, more cache=more threads=more speed.

Turns out this little soft knows how to get yourself +10 to +20% in hash rate, without the need to tinker with settings in bios.
https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/24075/Intel-Extreme-Tuning-Utility-Intel-XTU-

Yep, boost on all active cores does the trick.

compare hash rate of i7 vs the hash rate of intel dual xeon e5 ? which of them is more profitable ? or it is much better to buy an intel pentium gxxxx series rig with sinlge 1070 or 1080 8gb gpu.

Dual xeon mb filled with large cache cpu's and hawaii gpu's gives you most cryptonight hash for the buck. Not saying it's the most profitable way to go but if you have cheap electricity, find those parts cheap and want to mine xmr then why not.

Nvidia gpu's don't shine in cryptonight, their hash earns better in compute heavy algos.
kilobytez
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103

What's Quirky In Life?


View Profile
September 12, 2017, 02:56:56 AM
 #57

You can try using Nicehash (NHEQMINER) to mine equihash with 20 Sol/s per cpu
If you do a combined hashing along with GPU, it will be worth!

░░░░░ Join Bitcoin Asia Network (BAN): https://goo.gl/LCCvy4 ░░░░░
 ░░░░░ COSS Token [Exchange] : https://goo.gl/uTFWbp  ░░░░░ Tips : 0xC8A0eF18f18F19d59CF5603f1777c181BE67205D ░░░░░
joshuaj
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


IDEX - LIVE Real-time DEX


View Profile
September 12, 2017, 05:53:28 AM
 #58

X5000 series is too old, also some xeons are only rebranded i7's (or other way around). Look at the size of L3 cache, more cache=more threads=more speed.

Thanks for your info, I just get to know that L3 cache benefits in threading. I will read about this to compare against CPU later.

funnynuffy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
September 12, 2017, 07:36:41 AM
 #59

Yep - L3 cache is a dealbreaker in Monero mining. Thats why I based all my recent rigs on AMD Ryzen processors - unbeatable in price / performance ratio compared to Intel.
Dont go below 1600 line. But 1600, 1600X, 1700, 1700X - all will be actually profitable and can pay themselves.
All these CPUs can run at 3.8 GHz safely with voltage 1.23V 24/7 while doing really nice hashrates:
Idle system (Win 10): 44 W
1600X @ 3.8 - 540-550 H/s - 95 W at the wall = ca 41 W of power rise against idle - which is really nice, considering its 95W TDP CPU
1700 @ 3.8 - 630 H/s - same wattage as 1600X

You will probably find some GPUs that can match this performance / watt - but most likely they will consume more.
But Monero is overall more "eco-friendly" than ETH. One of my computers with two 1070 and Ryzen 1600X inside is taking 330W while mining ETH+SIA on GPUs and XMR on CPU. But when I switch also the GPUs to XMR - it takes 235W from the wall. Btw 1070 do around 705-710 H/s.

hope it helps guys - even in i7 thread Cheesy

ETH: 0xb5223aa72544a07b8b8f7131ebc97fc5ec114407
antantti
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile
September 12, 2017, 08:39:54 PM
 #60

Thats why I based all my recent rigs on AMD Ryzen processors - unbeatable in price / performance ratio compared to Intel.

If I had to build new rigs with the latest tech I would go ryzen, no question about that.

Opterons are doing pretty well too.

edit: sorry for the OT, i7 thread...
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!