Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2017, 07:44:22 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Regarding the Google Captcha added today when logging here  (Read 277 times)
BitcoinSupremo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
August 14, 2017, 10:55:45 AM
 #1

I see there is a captcha I have to do before I can log in. This is a very good security measure but the bad thing is that I see only Google Captcha which many times even when you click correct squares it shows as wrong.

I think that Solvemedia is a much better captcha as one have only to type two words in order to log in.


Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1510947862
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510947862

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510947862
Reply with quote  #2

1510947862
Report to moderator
OmegaStarScream
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106



View Profile
August 14, 2017, 11:17:00 AM
 #2

This got added to the registration page too (+ the old captcha), It should prevent the bots from being created, or at least make it harder. A lot of sites use ReCaptcha from google and I never had issues with it personally, Its possible that you are not clicking the new captcha that appear because after you click some, they start to fade and new ones will appear.

BitcoinSupremo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
August 14, 2017, 11:42:10 AM
 #3

This got added to the registration page too (+ the old captcha), It should prevent the bots from being created, or at least make it harder. A lot of sites use ReCaptcha from google and I never had issues with it personally, Its possible that you are not clicking the new captcha that appear because after you click some, they start to fade and new ones will appear.

I am doing everything correctly. I am clicking images with street signs that do not disappear like the ones you say (usually with cars and roads to click they disappear) , click all these street signs correctly and google gives me error. When it gives me captcha with cars or roads I do them swiftly. Anyway I can live with that although I know that Solvemedia works better.

Ucy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


View Profile
August 14, 2017, 05:52:27 PM
 #4

I agree.  Didn't work for me at all. Only worked on Chrome. Forum isn't that good on the browser unfortunately.
minifrij
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498


Bored.


View Profile WWW
August 14, 2017, 06:08:54 PM
 #5

IIRC SolveMedia can be abused very easily by bots, or at least more than reCaptcha can. I think that reCaptcha is the best solution currently.

          ▄█████▄
        ▄█████████▄
      ▄████▀   ▀████▄
    ▄████▀   ▄ ▄█▀████▄
  ▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▀████▄
▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▄   ▀████▄
█████   ███▀   ▄███   █████
▀████▄   ▀██▄▄███▀   ▄████▀
  ▀████▄   ▀███▀   ▄████▀
    ▀████▄       ▄████▀
      ▀████▄   ▄████▀
        ▀███  ████▀
          ▀█▄███▀
.
|
.
|
          ▄█████▄
        ▄█████████▄
      ▄████▀   ▀████▄
    ▄████▀   ▄ ▄█▀████▄
  ▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▀████▄
▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▄   ▀████▄
█████   ███▀   ▄███   █████
▀████▄   ▀██▄▄███▀   ▄████▀
  ▀████▄   ▀███▀   ▄████▀
    ▀████▄       ▄████▀
      ▀████▄   ▄████▀
        ▀███  ████▀
          ▀█▄███▀
unthy
Joel_Jantsen
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


You heard of Nemesis ?


View Profile WWW
August 14, 2017, 07:02:16 PM
 #6

IIRC SolveMedia can be abused very easily by bots, or at least more than reCaptcha can. I think that reCaptcha is the best solution currently.
Technically,there are no solutions,just precautions.In the coming days,Google Captcha will be solved by the bots anyway.
The feature is good on the security side but makes the process irritating that you have to put captcha everytime you log out of the account.I wonder when is the new forum coming into practice if the developments are still continued on this one.











.BitDice.               ▄▄███▄▄
           ▄▄██▀▀ ▄ ▀▀██▄▄
      ▄▄█ ▀▀  ▄▄█████▄▄  ▀▀ █▄▄
  ▄▄██▀▀     ▀▀ █████ ▀▀     ▀▀██▄▄
██▀▀ ▄▄██▀      ▀███▀      ▀██▄▄ ▀▀██
██  ████▄▄       ███       ▄▄████  ██
██  █▀▀████▄▄  ▄█████▄  ▄▄████▀▀█  ██
██  ▀     ▀▀▀███████████▀▀▀     ▀  ██
             ███████████
██  ▄     ▄▄▄███████████▄▄▄     ▄  ██
██  █▄▄████▀▀  ▀█████▀  ▀▀████▄▄█  ██
██  ████▀▀       ███       ▀▀████  ██
██▄▄ ▀▀██▄      ▄███▄      ▄██▀▀ ▄▄██
  ▀▀██▄▄     ▄▄ █████ ▄▄     ▄▄██▀▀
      ▀▀█ ▄▄  ▀▀█████▀▀  ▄▄ █▀▀
           ▀▀██▄▄ ▀ ▄▄██▀▀
               ▀▀███▀▀
        ▄▄███████▄▄
     ▄███████████████▄
    ████▀▀       ▀▀████
   ████▀           ▀████
   ████             ████
   ████ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ████
▄█████████████████████████▄
██████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████████
████                   ████
████                   ████
████                   ████
████                   ████
████                   ████
████▄                 ▄████
████████▄▄▄     ▄▄▄████████
  ▀▀▀█████████████████▀▀▀
        ▀▀▀█████▀▀▀
▄▄████████████████████████████████▄▄
██████████████████████████████████████
█████                            █████
█████                            █████
█████                            █████
█████                            █████
█████                     ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
█████                   ▄█▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█▄
█████                   ██          ██
█████                   ██          ██
█████                   ██          ██
██████████████████▀▀███ ██          ██
 ████████████████▄  ▄██ ██          ██
   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀ ██          ██
             ██████████ ██          ██
           ▄███████████ ██████▀▀██████
          █████████████  ▀████▄▄████▀
[/]
dothebeats
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274


Hire me as your Morty!


View Profile WWW
August 14, 2017, 07:20:43 PM
 #7

I see there is a captcha I have to do before I can log in. This is a very good security measure but the bad thing is that I see only Google Captcha which many times even when you click correct squares it shows as wrong.

I think that Solvemedia is a much better captcha as one have only to type two words in order to log in.



+1. I'm using Opera Mini on my mobile earlier this morning but apparently I can't complete the captcha given by Google. Solvemedia is better since it also works on browsers that doesn't support flash (like the version of Opera Mini I'm using). But anyways, everything is alright in Google Chrome and Mozilla. A nice addition to the forum to further decrease bots that creates spam threads in several boards.

audaciousbeing
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


View Profile
August 14, 2017, 09:23:26 PM
 #8

I really dont have any issue with the captcha and even after I read the Administrator explanation, I know its for the betterment of the forum but the concern here is the difficulty I faced login in from a mobile which was even not possible right from the longer time it took for the captcha to load, down to the error messages after doing it correctly, I would subscribe to the Solvemedia where you just have to solve a simple mathematics or anything related to that in other to gain access.

Coin-Keeper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476



View Profile
August 14, 2017, 09:45:18 PM
 #9

TOR bundle users:  If you have your security settings set on HIGH you cannot access the captcha.  By dropping the setting to one position lower, and since this site is https, the capthca will pass through TOR with no issues.  I suspect there are lots of tor users here, so if you are reading without being signed in this fixed it easily for me.

BTC: 1PYSBbuKM3kW19xe9TXJQfq64rPhd8XorF
Staked and Verified: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=996318.msg17102755#msg17102755
freebutcaged
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


https://gexcrypto.io


View Profile
August 14, 2017, 09:59:10 PM
 #10

Recently there are many newbie accounts shilling for some new shitcoins, same coins claiming to be better than Bitcoin while they are ICO tokens.

If it was up to me I'd add 5 recaptchas for every login, that will also reduce the attacks.

               ███
     ▄▄▄▄▄     ▀▀▀
  ▄█████████▄
 ███▀     ▀███▄
███         ███
███         ███
 ███▄     ▄████
  ▀████████████
     ▀▀▀▀▀  ███
            ███
███▄       ▄███
 ▀███▄▄▄▄▄███▀
   ▀▀█████▀▀
gexcrypto
E X C R Y P T O

Global Trading Corp.
████
████
████
████
████  ████
████  ████
████  ████
████  ████
████  ████
      ████
      ████
      ████
      ████
YOUR COMPREHENSIVE CRYPTO TRADING PLATFORM
|       WHITEPAPER       |       FACEBOOK       |       TWITTER       |       ANN THREAD       |
████
████
████
████
████  ████
████  ████
████  ████
████  ████
████  ████
      ████
      ████
      ████
      ████
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!