Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2017, 03:39:56 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 1200WATT PSU KIT FOR AVALON 721 / 741 Question  (Read 740 times)
geobull
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 127


View Profile
August 14, 2017, 12:29:28 PM
 #1

This PSU can only do 1200 watts at 100% efficiency. PSU can never be 100% efficient. so do I  need 1400watt or higher PSU for this Avalon Miner I dont want to lower voltage to -2.  http://www.parallelminer.com/product/1200watt-psu-kit-for-avalon-721-80-platinum-high-efficiency-at-94-120v-240v/

do anyone use This PSU for Avalon 741 Models and it works well without lowering voltage ?     I was going to order but need to know for sure should I order it?
1511149196
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511149196

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511149196
Reply with quote  #2

1511149196
Report to moderator
1511149196
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511149196

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511149196
Reply with quote  #2

1511149196
Report to moderator
1511149196
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511149196

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511149196
Reply with quote  #2

1511149196
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511149196
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511149196

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511149196
Reply with quote  #2

1511149196
Report to moderator
VRobb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


I'm in BTC XTC


View Profile
August 14, 2017, 12:54:51 PM
 #2

Yes you need a higher power rated PSU given your conditions above.

I don't believe in superstition because it's bad luck
In Hotels, I prefer the 13thF1oor6CAwyzyxXPNnRvu3nhhYeqZdc
These aren't the Droids you're looking for: S5 & S7 (Sold), R4B2, R4B4 (RIP), & S9-13.5
geobull
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 127


View Profile
August 14, 2017, 12:59:20 PM
 #3

Yes you need a higher power rated PSU given your conditions above.

Thanks !

here is  2400 W
http://www.parallelminer.com/product/delta-2400watt-platinum-94-efficiency-power-supply-208v240v/

if i buy this and run 1 avalon,  it will consume 2400W? Sad(  or just 1200w as avalon needs.    will I pay more energy using 2400W ?
sorry for such questions I do not understand
HagssFIN
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Electrician. Mining since 2014.


View Profile
August 14, 2017, 01:03:31 PM
 #4

I already gave the answer in your first thread but seems like you have trouble understanding.

And the miner won't consume the nominal power of the power supply but only the power that it needs to run.

You are thinking this too hard.

geobull
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 127


View Profile
August 14, 2017, 01:06:25 PM
 #5

I already gave the answer in your first thread but seems like you have trouble understanding.

And the miner won't consume the nominal power of the power supply but only the power that it needs to run.

You are thinking this too hard.

yes I have bad understanding of Technics  too old maybe lol )) 

so it does not matter in terms of energy cost,  you buy 1200W or 2400W.  Miner will consume power as it will require. so I will go and buy 2400W version which is same price. hope I understand this time )
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
August 14, 2017, 02:44:51 PM
 #6

I already gave the answer in your first thread but seems like you have trouble understanding.

And the miner won't consume the nominal power of the power supply but only the power that it needs to run.

You are thinking this too hard.

yes I have bad understanding of Technics  too old maybe lol )) 

so it does not matter in terms of energy cost,  you buy 1200W or 2400W.  Miner will consume power as it will require. so I will go and buy 2400W version which is same price. hope I understand this time )

correct and do not forget the coupon code


Slush   gets 5% discount

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
fusion0389
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


View Profile
August 14, 2017, 06:29:20 PM
 #7

Coupon code definitely works, plus you can get an additional discount if you pay with BTC. Just tried it out today.
mksmart
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
August 17, 2017, 10:14:18 PM
 #8

i want -10% coupon
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
August 17, 2017, 11:20:41 PM
 #9

i want -10% coupon

 Grin I really  want to be clever  and say a brilliant remark,but  I do not have one for you. Grin

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
August 17, 2017, 11:43:49 PM
 #10

i want -10% coupon
Grin I really  want to be clever  and say a brilliant remark,but  I do not have one for you. Grin
How about, 'And I want to fly and spit diamonds. Don't see that happening either..." from an old CBC show set in Nova Scotia.

-Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats http://bit.ly/1Qjt6lj
-For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself.
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
fusion0389
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


View Profile
August 18, 2017, 01:09:02 AM
 #11

i want -10% coupon

I'd like a 50% off coupon... But hey 5% is better than nothing!
geobull
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 127


View Profile
August 24, 2017, 04:35:37 PM
 #12

I have heard some users here saying 1200 W good PSU, is enough to handle Avalon without any issue?  can someone confirm this as well?
HagssFIN
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Electrician. Mining since 2014.


View Profile
August 24, 2017, 06:59:40 PM
 #13

This answer comes from a man that is an electrician and has had two Avalons, both equipped with own HP 1200W server power supply.
Yes it is enough.

kartala
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
August 24, 2017, 07:43:38 PM
 #14

I've already received my 2400w PSU from paralellminer  and waiting 2 741's so i'll try running them both anyway. I'm living in Bulgaria, so my electricity is 220V. Could you please tell me how to lower the voltage if the PSU is not stable.  What is the command i have to write in the config file? Sorry if it is already written somewhere, but tried to find this really hard and failed.

Kano.is
HagssFIN
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Electrician. Mining since 2014.


View Profile
August 24, 2017, 08:19:51 PM
 #15

I've already received my 2400w PSU from paralellminer  and waiting 2 741's so i'll try running them both anyway. I'm living in Bulgaria, so my electricity is 220V. Could you please tell me how to lower the voltage if the PSU is not stable.  What is the command i have to write in the config file? Sorry if it is already written somewhere, but tried to find this really hard and failed.
At the miner controller configuration page you select the voltage offset to -1 or -2 for example.

rossie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 684


View Profile
August 24, 2017, 08:43:20 PM
 #16

This answer comes from a man that is an electrician and has had two Avalons, both equipped with own HP 1200W server power supply.
Yes it is enough.

Agree with you! I'm running 2x 741 about 3 weeks ago both on own 1200w psu ... no any issue, they are rock  Wink
I'm also tried 120v and 240 too, if you set -2 they running stable around 6.9/7.1T on 120v so the answer is yes
You good with the HP 1200w psu!

http://imgur.com/a/1xGMt
HagssFIN
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Electrician. Mining since 2014.


View Profile
August 24, 2017, 08:45:45 PM
 #17

This answer comes from a man that is an electrician and has had two Avalons, both equipped with own HP 1200W server power supply.
Yes it is enough.

Agree with you! I'm running 2x 741 about 3 weeks ago both on own 1200w psu ... no any issue, they are rock  Wink
I'm also tried 120v and 240 too, if you set -2 they running stable around 6.9/7.1T on 120v so the answer is yes
You good with the HP 1200w psu!

http://imgur.com/a/1xGMt
Thanks. Nice looking setup you got there!  Smiley

200 V --> 240 V area voltage and HP 1200W PSU  with Avalon is the way to go.

rossie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 684


View Profile
August 24, 2017, 08:53:33 PM
 #18

This answer comes from a man that is an electrician and has had two Avalons, both equipped with own HP 1200W server power supply.
Yes it is enough.

Agree with you! I'm running 2x 741 about 3 weeks ago both on own 1200w psu ... no any issue, they are rock  Wink
I'm also tried 120v and 240 too, if you set -2 they running stable around 6.9/7.1T on 120v so the answer is yes
You good with the HP 1200w psu!

http://imgur.com/a/1xGMt
Thanks. Nice looking setup you got there!  Smiley

200 V --> 240 V area voltage and HP 1200W PSU  with Avalon is the way to go.

Exactly, 220v is recommended and don't forget the 14AWG psu cord

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!