Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2017, 11:22:02 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can re-flash a bios on a AMD card so it that it does did not patcher any longer?  (Read 174 times)
Justwondering
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
August 14, 2017, 03:46:42 PM
 #1

Hi , Basically , I bought 2 cards from a guy , he never mentioned the bios had already been modded , which is kind of okay but not okay....

Ideally I would of liked to of had a copy of the original bios which the seller no longer has.

My big question is , I have found the original bios online with the correct memory 4GB Hynix , correct brand and model etc...

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/?architecture=AMD&manufacturer=Gigabyte&model=RX+480&interface=&memType=GDDR5&memSize=4096&since=

So if I flashed the bios from the link above , would the card then be suitable for using with all the latest AMD drivers without the need to patch the driver each time ?

Main reason I ask , is that I like the option of reselling the card at a later date perhaps on eBay , but I do not want to have to explain about using a patcher program etc to the future buyer , sounds bad to a novice and would bring the price down.

Help and Advice please....

1511090522
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511090522

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511090522
Reply with quote  #2

1511090522
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511090522
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511090522

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511090522
Reply with quote  #2

1511090522
Report to moderator
1511090522
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511090522

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511090522
Reply with quote  #2

1511090522
Report to moderator
Emoclaw
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile
August 14, 2017, 03:49:01 PM
 #2

Hi , Basically , I bought 2 cards from a guy , he never mentioned the bios had already been modded , which is kind of okay but not okay....

Ideally I would of liked to of had a copy of the original bios which the seller no longer has.

My big question is , I have found the original bios online with the correct memory 4GB Hynix , correct brand and model etc...

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/?architecture=AMD&manufacturer=Gigabyte&model=RX+480&interface=&memType=GDDR5&memSize=4096&since=

So if I flashed the bios from the link above , would the card then be suitable for using with all the latest AMD drivers without the need to patch the driver each time ?

Main reason I ask , is that I like the option of reselling the card at a later date perhaps on eBay , but I do not want to have to explain about using a patcher program etc to the future buyer , sounds bad to a novice and would bring the price down.

Help and Advice please....



Why not try it? Flash it and run the latest drivers unpatched.
Theoretically it should work. As long as it's the original retail signed BIOS image, there will be no problems
Justwondering
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
August 14, 2017, 03:56:09 PM
 #3

Hi , Basically , I bought 2 cards from a guy , he never mentioned the bios had already been modded , which is kind of okay but not okay....

Ideally I would of liked to of had a copy of the original bios which the seller no longer has.

My big question is , I have found the original bios online with the correct memory 4GB Hynix , correct brand and model etc...

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/?architecture=AMD&manufacturer=Gigabyte&model=RX+480&interface=&memType=GDDR5&memSize=4096&since=

So if I flashed the bios from the link above , would the card then be suitable for using with all the latest AMD drivers without the need to patch the driver each time ?

Main reason I ask , is that I like the option of reselling the card at a later date perhaps on eBay , but I do not want to have to explain about using a patcher program etc to the future buyer , sounds bad to a novice and would bring the price down.

Help and Advice please....



Why not try it? Flash it and run the latest drivers unpatched.
Theoretically it should work. As long as it's the original retail signed BIOS image, there will be no problems

Hi Thank you for your reply , I am a bit worried as I can still send the cards back if I like as I bought them on eBay , I would not want to mess the cards up etc , I have flashed and modded my own cards in the past without a issue.

would you say the drivers from Techpowerup are generally the official signed bios image ?

Are the serial numbers of the card part of the bios ? as I guess that would not match up with the download from techpower, would that cause a Issue with the signature ?

Subject to trying , I presume I would simply do the following....

download the techpower bios.

Make a copy of the card bios that is currently on the card as a back up.

flash the bios with polaris .

Uninstall the drivers using driver uninstaller , reboot , reinstall latest drivers Huh

But do I need to do anything for the bios to be considered as Signed , any extra steps ?
QuintLeo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882


View Profile
August 15, 2017, 08:32:10 PM
 #4


My big question is , I have found the original bios online with the correct memory 4GB Hynix , correct brand and model etc...

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/?architecture=AMD&manufacturer=Gigabyte&model=RX+480&interface=&memType=GDDR5&memSize=4096&since=

So if I flashed the bios from the link above , would the card then be suitable for using with all the latest AMD drivers without the need to patch the driver each time ?


 That should work fine.

 AFAIK no BIOS includes a card serial number - that would be a NIGHTMARE for a manufacturer to implament.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!