Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 12:13:06 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: More bitcoin client problems  (Read 1370 times)
Icy-
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 06:34:16 PM
 #1

The hell is this? Nothing has changed on my PC since I last used bitcoin, the only thing that has changed is turning my laptop off and back on to move it upstairs.
http://img3.imageshack.us/img3/7657/53214461.gif
1480810386
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480810386

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480810386
Reply with quote  #2

1480810386
Report to moderator
1480810386
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480810386

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480810386
Reply with quote  #2

1480810386
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480810386
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480810386

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480810386
Reply with quote  #2

1480810386
Report to moderator
1480810386
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480810386

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480810386
Reply with quote  #2

1480810386
Report to moderator
Hawkix
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 517



View Profile WWW
June 22, 2011, 06:35:11 PM
 #2

Permissions? File got locked?

Donations: 1Hawkix7GHym6SM98ii5vSHHShA3FUgpV6
http://btcportal.net/ - All about Bitcoin - coming soon!
Icy-
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 06:36:18 PM
 #3

Permissions? File got locked?

Like I said, I haven't changed a thing..  Embarrassed
Jaime Frontero
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 06:37:52 PM
 #4

look at your wallet.dat.

is it still there?

what is the 'last access' timestamp on the file?  does that fit with the last time you accessed it?
Icy-
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 06:40:59 PM
 #5

look at your wallet.dat.

is it still there?

what is the 'last access' timestamp on the file?  does that fit with the last time you accessed it?

yup
Icy-
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 06:42:59 PM
 #6

here is whats in the log
Code:
Bitcoin version 0.3.23-beta
OS version Windows NT 6.1 (build 7600)
System default language is 60 English_United States.1252
Language file locale/en_US/LC_MESSAGES/bitcoin.mo (English (U.S.))
Default data directory C:\Users\Chris\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin
Bound to port 8333
Loading addresses...
dbenv.open strLogDir=C:\Users\Chris\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin/database strErrorFile=C:\Users\Chris\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin/db.log
Loaded 151170 addresses
 addresses              2016ms
Loading block index...
LoadBlockIndex(): hashBestChain=00000000000006f31b4c  height=132216


************************
EXCEPTION: NSt8ios_base7failureE       
CAutoFile::read : fread failed       
C:\Program Files\Bitcoin\bitcoin.exe in AppInit()       



************************
EXCEPTION: NSt8ios_base7failureE       
CAutoFile::read : fread failed       
C:\Program Files\Bitcoin\bitcoin.exe in CMyApp::OnUnhandledException()
Jaime Frontero
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 06:51:37 PM
 #7

hmmm.

i'd try stashing my whole bitcoin client in some other directory, installing a new client, deleting the wallet and block index from the new client, putting the old wallet into it and starting it up.
Capitan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 06:53:20 PM
 #8

I had this error the first few times I tried to run the client. I can't remember what I did to fix it. I think I had to uninstall it, delete the app_data\roaming\bitcoin\ folder, reinstall, and the first time I ran the client after that I left it open long enough for it to download the entire block chain.

Somewhere in those steps I took at least one thing I did appeared to have fixed the problem. It also could have been because the bitcoin client took a long time to open, so I double clicked the icon more than once to see if it would open again. I had several bitcoin.exe processes showing up in task manager. I think one of them was locking one of the files in app_data\roaming\, which caused the error.
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 06:54:16 PM
 #9

is this the original block chain for this data directory or did u import it from another wallet?
Icy-
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 06:54:47 PM
 #10

hmmm.

i'd try stashing my whole bitcoin client in some other directory, installing a new client, deleting the wallet and block index from the new client, putting the old wallet into it and starting it up.

deleting blkindex fixed the problem, but now it has to download all the blocks again

i had a similar problem happen to me before but with a different error

it seems to involve having the client open when you unplug/hard reboot your pc
Jaime Frontero
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 06:55:53 PM
 #11

hmmm.

i'd try stashing my whole bitcoin client in some other directory, installing a new client, deleting the wallet and block index from the new client, putting the old wallet into it and starting it up.

deleting blkindex fixed the problem, but now it has to download all the blocks again

i had a similar problem happen to me before but with a different error

it seems to involve having the client open when you unplug/hard reboot your pc


yeah... databases don't like to be blinked.
Icy-
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 06:57:30 PM
 #12

hmmm.

i'd try stashing my whole bitcoin client in some other directory, installing a new client, deleting the wallet and block index from the new client, putting the old wallet into it and starting it up.

deleting blkindex fixed the problem, but now it has to download all the blocks again

i had a similar problem happen to me before but with a different error

it seems to involve having the client open when you unplug/hard reboot your pc


yeah... databases don't like to be blinked.

i hope they fix that in a future version for the untech savvy people  Sad
Icy-
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 01:29:12 AM
 #13


too bad its what most common users use
genjix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 01:31:28 AM
 #14

Your wallet or blockchain db is probably corrupted. backup wallet, delete folder and see if it works. otherwise use bitcointools to try to recover your wallet if you have no backup
Rodyland
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 499


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 01:37:46 AM
 #15

Have you tried turning it off and on again?

Beware the weak hands!
1NcL6Mjm4qeiYYi2rpoCtQopPrH4PyKfUC
GPG ID: E3AA41E3
Slimquick
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39



View Profile
June 23, 2011, 01:49:14 AM
 #16

Is there any harm in continuing to use a previous version of BitCoin, provided the older version has worked well, in the past? There is nothing in the previous version that would prevent my transactions from being recognized and completed, correct?

Forum members with whom I have completed satisfactory transactions: klamathonsite.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!