Bitcoin Forum
September 23, 2018, 01:32:54 PM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining proxy?  (Read 3820 times)
kingcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 261
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 21, 2013, 05:55:30 PM
 #1

Are there any simple to set up mining proxy's available?

Is it possible to use a plain web proxy like squid for mining?
1537709574
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537709574

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537709574
Reply with quote  #2

1537709574
Report to moderator
1537709574
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537709574

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537709574
Reply with quote  #2

1537709574
Report to moderator
1537709574
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537709574

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537709574
Reply with quote  #2

1537709574
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537709574
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537709574

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537709574
Reply with quote  #2

1537709574
Report to moderator
1537709574
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537709574

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537709574
Reply with quote  #2

1537709574
Report to moderator
01BTC10
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 21, 2013, 05:57:28 PM
 #2

https://github.com/cdhowie/Bitcoin-mining-proxy
kingcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 261
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 21, 2013, 06:57:07 PM
 #3


That's what I had in mind when I said "simple to set up". Full blown Apache, MySQL and PHP is not exactly simple to set up. I was hoping for something more light weight. However, if that's the only miner proxy available then I just have to give it a try...

kramble
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 377
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
May 21, 2013, 07:28:08 PM
 #4

Hmm, from the readme at https://github.com/cdhowie/Bitcoin-mining-proxy  ...

Quote
Requirements

Apache (2.2 or newer recommended).
PHP 5.3 or newer.
MySQL (5.1 or newer recommended for best performance).

Instead I'd suggest https://github.com/slush0/stratum-mining-proxy which just needs python-dev on linux (and would appear to run stand-alone on windows according to the readme).


Github https://github.com/kramble BLC BkRaMaRkw3NeyzsZ2zUgXsNLogVVkQ1iPV
kingcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 261
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 21, 2013, 08:41:37 PM
 #5

Hmm, from the readme at https://github.com/cdhowie/Bitcoin-mining-proxy  ...

Quote
Requirements

Apache (2.2 or newer recommended).
PHP 5.3 or newer.
MySQL (5.1 or newer recommended for best performance).

Instead I'd suggest https://github.com/slush0/stratum-mining-proxy which just needs python-dev on linux (and would appear to run stand-alone on windows according to the readme).



Thanks. I'll look into that, even though "python-dev" is probably some Ubuntu or other distro related package. Hopefully it should be possible to install the individual packages locally rather than changing the global installation...
01BTC10
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 21, 2013, 08:44:13 PM
 #6


That's what I had in mind when I said "simple to set up". Full blown Apache, MySQL and PHP is not exactly simple to set up. I was hoping for something more light weight. However, if that's the only miner proxy available then I just have to give it a try...


A LAMP setup is pretty straight forward imo but maybe I'm too geeky. There is even a WINLAMP installer for Windows fans.
kramble
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 377
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
May 21, 2013, 09:06:45 PM
 #7

Thanks. I'll look into that, even though "python-dev" is probably some Ubuntu or other distro related package. Hopefully it should be possible to install the individual packages locally rather than changing the global installation...
It just runs on python, but the setup script downloads a bunch of packages (eg twisted). There was a recent thread https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=194472.0;all where someone was having problems with the install due to not running apt-get update and apt-get install python-dev. This is just FYI as you're clearly pretty clued-up with linux stuff.

Github https://github.com/kramble BLC BkRaMaRkw3NeyzsZ2zUgXsNLogVVkQ1iPV
kingcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 261
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 22, 2013, 09:46:35 AM
 #8

The system I have in mind is somewhat limited so I would prefer a small application. I will not use the install scripts, but rather try to install the required Python packages below a plain user $HOME directory.
kingcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 261
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 22, 2013, 11:11:33 AM
 #9

Not simple to set up though...
kingcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 261
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 22, 2013, 12:48:07 PM
 #10

Well, maybe not that bad: cloning a couple git repo's and adding them using sys.path.append and then it was at least running.
af_newbie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442
Merit: 1069



View Profile
May 22, 2013, 08:12:01 PM
 #11

Hmm, from the readme at https://github.com/cdhowie/Bitcoin-mining-proxy  ...

Quote
Requirements

Apache (2.2 or newer recommended).
PHP 5.3 or newer.
MySQL (5.1 or newer recommended for best performance).

Instead I'd suggest https://github.com/slush0/stratum-mining-proxy which just needs python-dev on linux (and would appear to run stand-alone on windows according to the readme).



Thanks. I'll look into that, even though "python-dev" is probably some Ubuntu or other distro related package. Hopefully it should be possible to install the individual packages locally rather than changing the global installation...

tiktoc wrote nice step by step instructions here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=162788.0


kingcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 261
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 09:09:31 AM
 #12


tiktoc wrote nice step by step instructions here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=162788.0


Thanks! Looks good. I should be able to pick up some configuration examples from there.
kingcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 261
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 26, 2013, 08:02:35 AM
 #13

Actually it was quite simple to install under a local $HOME directory. I simply added the file $HOME/.pydistutils.cfg with the following contents:

Code:
[easy_install]

install_dir = /home/proxy/python/python-libs

and all the installed files appeared under /home/proxy/python/python-libs.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!