Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 12:23:23 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Why isn't the hashrate constant on CPUs?  (Read 716 times)
XX55XX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 12:56:27 AM
 #1

For giggles, I decided to mine on my old Pentium M laptop today. The hashrate fluctuates from zero to 0.45 Mhash/s and seems to be constantly connecting and disconnecting. Anyone know why this is the case?

I surmise that it's because blocks are getting finished more quickly than my little Pentium M can finish its share.
1481156604
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481156604

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481156604
Reply with quote  #2

1481156604
Report to moderator
1481156604
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481156604

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481156604
Reply with quote  #2

1481156604
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481156604
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481156604

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481156604
Reply with quote  #2

1481156604
Report to moderator
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
June 23, 2011, 01:06:31 AM
 #2

maybe because there are other processes that use CPU power?

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!