Bitcoin Forum
April 30, 2017, 11:18:57 AM *
News: If the forum does not load normally for you, please send me a traceroute.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 3x 6990 Rigs  (Read 1212 times)
arashd
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131



View Profile WWW
June 23, 2011, 01:46:57 AM
 #1

Hello all , I am certainly a noob. I have been reading a lot of this forum for the past several weeks so I think I have learned a thing or two. I currently just am mining with a few simple computers churning out a whopping 100 Mhash/sec. I have no confusion about hitting a jackpot here and building a mining rig to retire on, but I do appreciate the entire concept of bitcoin and I want to participate while at the same time find an excuse to buy a bunch of video cards and build computers and participate in this community - we all need hobbies!

I figure if I am going to get in, get in right! I intend to get 3 6990 when they come in stock (i know, super hard to find) and build a decent rig out of those hoping to get to 2 Ghash as an output. I do not pay electric costs. Anyone recommend a good motherboard/PSU/case for this purpose?

Thanks!

Gorgeous Physical Bitcoin - nolacoin.com
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. EWallets are like banks -- a central organization has complete control over your money. You shouldn't put much money in EWallets.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Lea Calot
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7



View Profile
June 23, 2011, 02:41:47 AM
 #2

Hi Arashd,
hey, same here. I just ordered my list of goodies. I went for 2x6950s (and still reserve the option to buy more later) instead of 6990s because the cost-reward factor was still to high. You can get 6950s in my area for 250$, but the 6990s are way up in the 700$-range.

What you need is a board that can host those graphics cards side-by-side. They usually take two slots, so the PCIe slots should be spaced further apart.

This board did it for me: http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3880#ov
You can stick in 4 PCIe x16 graphics cards side-by-side. See the nice little picture in the promo.

Since most of the Bitcoin operations do use the GPU, I bought an AMD Phenom II x2 250, which was on sale. I also stuck in a 4GB DDR3 module.

What you need next is at least a 750W power supply that can power your 3 cards (or in my case later on 4). This one can do and was on sale at my retailer: http://www.ocztechnology.com/ocz-750w-fatal1ty-series-power-supply.html

For the case I recycled an old server case that formerly hosted an old Dual-Xeon server.

I hope it helps. If I were you I wouldn't throw my life savings into the 6690s, at the current bitcoin mining difficulty it'll take quite some time until you get your return on it, even with 2Ghash/sec.

Here are some numbers with $/Mhash figures and more ideas about rigs: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_rig

Feel free to donate some coins to support P2P fault tolerance research: 12RZ1yWi4KT5JU81EePo52HS3mrhSCXswm
matt_b
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 03:11:55 AM
 #3

You can also buy PCIe 16x and/or 1x extenders.

I was able to pick up a few here: http://www.cablesaurus.com/

I'm able to run my cards on a board with 2 PCIe x16 v1.0 slots and
1 PCIe 1x slot.

If you use the extenders you'll have to find an alternative way to
mount/support the cards since they won't be slotted directly into your
motherboard. I built a frame using PVC pipe and hang the cards
from it using zip ties.

Good luck,

Matt
freezed
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 07:58:30 AM
 #4

Note that the 6990 consume about from 375W stock to 415W overclocked.So You'll need a Power supply unit of at least 1200W(if not more!!)to power 3 cards...
NANO
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 09:04:15 AM
 #5

for 3 6990 you need at least 1200W thats true!
Wuked
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile WWW
June 23, 2011, 09:43:58 AM
 #6

plus a way to keep them cool...

3 x 6990 overlocked will be belting out a lof of heat.

DrDeke
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 03:18:22 AM
 #7

Yeah, I'm finding it tough to keep 2x6950 cool even with a ton of case fans; I have no idea how 2 or 3x6990 would work without water cooling.
bal3wolf
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 442



View Profile
June 24, 2011, 03:21:48 AM
 #8

i water cool my 5970 and 5870 they stay nice and cool but let me tell you it dumps a ton of heat into my room.



      ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
     ████████████████████████   ███████████████▀
   ▄███████████████████████▀  ▄███████████████▀
  ████████████████████████   ▄██████████████▀
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████████▀   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
            ▄██████████▀
           ███████████   ▄████████████████
          ███████████   ▄████████████████
        ▄██████████▀   ████████████████▀
       ███████████    ███████████████▀
      ███████████
    ▄███████████████████████████████
   ████████████████████████████████
  ███████████████████████████████▀
▄██████████████████████████████▀



.ZCASH & ETHEREUM BLOCKCHAINS COMBINED.
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
SMART PLATFORM MEETS ZK-SNARKS      SUPERIOR ANONYMOUS TECH






Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!