Bitcoin Forum
December 18, 2017, 01:58:08 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Electrum unable to access to the main menu  (Read 208 times)
pierreL
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
August 31, 2017, 05:31:14 AM
 #1

Hi,
I'm a beginer with BTC and Electrum.
Few days ago I've installed Electrum and create a wallet with a password.
I'm not able to open it because the password is wrong (I dont know why).
I wanted to regenerate the wallet (that is empty for the moment) from the seed, or create a new one, but : when I open Electrum, I have a small popup windows asking me the password for this wallet (or chose another the wallet).
How can I open Electrum bypassing this windows to access directly to the main menu ?
Sorry for this beginner question !
thanks !
1513605488
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513605488

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513605488
Reply with quote  #2

1513605488
Report to moderator
1513605488
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513605488

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513605488
Reply with quote  #2

1513605488
Report to moderator
1513605488
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513605488

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513605488
Reply with quote  #2

1513605488
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513605488
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513605488

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513605488
Reply with quote  #2

1513605488
Report to moderator
Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1582



View Profile WWW
August 31, 2017, 06:02:12 AM
 #2

Use the command line switch with a new name for your new wallet file:

https://bitcoinelectrum.com/frequently-asked-questions/#how-do-i-open-a-different-wallet

Then follow the instructions here:

https://bitcoinelectrum.com/restoring-your-standard-wallet-from-seed/

pierreL
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
August 31, 2017, 07:00:07 AM
 #3

Thank you. I'm on Windows 10 and cannot access to the file menu of Electrum as the only think I have when a launch electrum.exe is the window asking for the password and choice of wallet. But I have only one wallet to open (as I don't have yet created others) and lost the password on the wallet.
How can I open Electrum without having to open this wallet ?
Thanks
HCP
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
August 31, 2017, 10:28:17 AM
 #4

You'll need to move or delete the wallet file that it is attempting to open, and that will then force it into the "wallet creation" wizard... Which will let you restore from your seed

On Windows 10, your wallet file will be in:

C:\Users\YOURUSERNAME\AppData\Roaming\Electrum\wallets

If you can't see "AppData" you'll need to "show hidden files and folders"

Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1582



View Profile WWW
September 02, 2017, 01:05:35 AM
 #5

Thank you. I'm on Windows 10 and cannot access to the file menu of Electrum as the only think I have when a launch electrum.exe is the window asking for the password and choice of wallet. But I have only one wallet to open (as I don't have yet created others) and lost the password on the wallet.
How can I open Electrum without having to open this wallet ?
Thanks


Use the command line switch like i told you above. Do you understand? I believe if you press windows key + r you will get the command prompt in windows. Then you can navigate to the electrum directory in program files and use the command line switch. Read my previous post again.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!