Bitcoin Forum
December 18, 2017, 05:18:59 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Password concern  (Read 280 times)
swampboogiedoug
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
August 31, 2017, 03:47:13 PM
 #1

I have updated my computer to BC 14.2 and run all the chains thru today. I'd like to use/buy bitcoin but I cant remember if I set up the account with a password. My fear is buying 3-4 bc and having them stuck in the wallet because I don't know hat the old password is. Is this a valid concern ?  Is there a way to change the password now ?  Thank you
1513574339
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513574339

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513574339
Reply with quote  #2

1513574339
Report to moderator
1513574339
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513574339

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513574339
Reply with quote  #2

1513574339
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


17kKQppUsngUiByDsce4JXoZEjjpvX9bpR


View Profile WWW
August 31, 2017, 04:15:32 PM
 #2

You can change your passphrase by going to Settings > Change Passphrase. That will have you enter your old passphrase as well so you can check if you remembered correctly. You can even set the new passphrase to be exactly the same as your old one so you don't have to remember a new one.

swampboogiedoug
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
August 31, 2017, 09:51:18 PM
 #3

Thank you.  I went to settings and clicked on change passphrase, but it was grayed out & won't let me access it or make any changes . Would this mean I don't have a password ?   I'm also using Bitcoin Core, is that something different ?
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


17kKQppUsngUiByDsce4JXoZEjjpvX9bpR


View Profile WWW
August 31, 2017, 11:02:40 PM
 #4

Thank you.  I went to settings and clicked on change passphrase, but it was grayed out & won't let me access it or make any changes . Would this mean I don't have a password ?   
Yes, that means that there is no passphrase. You should set one because that means your wallet is unencrypted. To set a passphrase and thus encrypt your wallet, go to Settings > Encrypt Wallet.

I'm also using Bitcoin Core, is that something different ?
No, I am talking about Bitcoin Core.

swampboogiedoug
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
September 01, 2017, 03:55:53 PM
 #5

I have set up password, thank you so much.       Posted this in another thread, can you help here as well, please ?     
     
Re: Found a bitcoin wallet on my old computer, what can I do?
August 31, 2017, 02:57:25 PM
Reply with quote  Edit message  Delete message  #14
I also had an older computer with Bitcoin from 2013 ( maybe 2011). I have updated to BC 14 and run it until its current. I found dat file from 2013 backup ( had 80mb of data) and created a file from this thread to put it in. Restarted Bitcoin.  I can't find that anything transferred of that the dat file was read.  Can someone walk me thru this please ?  THank you
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!