Bitcoin Forum
December 19, 2018, 08:38:37 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: CPU mining Monero(XMR)  (Read 704 times)
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 503


View Profile
August 31, 2017, 05:00:02 PM
 #1

Bit of a noob question but cant seem to find the answer. What does Monero rely on? The processong speed or the amount of cache the cpu has?

Thanks.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
1545208717
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1545208717

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1545208717
Reply with quote  #2

1545208717
Report to moderator
1545208717
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1545208717

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1545208717
Reply with quote  #2

1545208717
Report to moderator
"Bitcoin: mining our own business since 2009" -- Pieter Wuille
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1545208717
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1545208717

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1545208717
Reply with quote  #2

1545208717
Report to moderator
coinfoundry
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 100

COINFOUNDRY.ORG


View Profile WWW
August 31, 2017, 05:15:50 PM
 #2

Bit of a noob question but cant seem to find the answer. What does Monero rely on? The processong speed or the amount of cache the cpu has?

Thanks.

The only noob question is the one not asked. CryptoNight, the hashing algorithm used by Monero relies on random access to the slow memory. Therefore it's paramount that the cryptonight-scratchpad (a block of memory roughly 2MB) fits into the CPU's L3 cache - which is usually the case with modern CPUs.

coinfoundry
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 100

COINFOUNDRY.ORG


View Profile WWW
August 31, 2017, 05:19:00 PM
 #3

Bit of a noob question but cant seem to find the answer. What does Monero rely on? The processong speed or the amount of cache the cpu has?

Thanks.

The only noob question is the one not asked. CryptoNight, the hashing algorithm used by Monero relies on random access to the slow memory. Therefore it's paramount that the cryptonight-scratchpad (a block of memory roughly 2MB) fits into the CPU's L3 cache - which is usually the case with modern CPUs. So in essence both things matter.

gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 503


View Profile
August 31, 2017, 05:36:03 PM
 #4

Cheers for the reply. So i currently have an i3-7300T on my mining rig and was going to upgrade to an i5-7500T or possibly and i7. Would the hashrate be better because of the processing speed or th fact the i5 has 6mb cache and the i7 has 8mb cache?

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 503


View Profile
September 01, 2017, 05:58:12 AM
 #5

So checked out the monerobenchmarks site and older processors are getting like 100hs my i3 is only doing 63hs  Huh

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!