Bitcoin Forum
August 20, 2017, 02:35:26 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: PIII  (Read 1205 times)
shakaru
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile WWW
June 23, 2011, 05:49:18 AM
 #1

Ok, Looking in my old tech, I got some dell PIII's. Now I was woundering if I bought some Pci -> PCIe cards from CablesRus, would it run or is the p3 setup just rediculous.

Disregard any argument as to cost, power, or any income factor. Just will it run, and would a 5830 run at full speed?
1503196526
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503196526

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503196526
Reply with quote  #2

1503196526
Report to moderator
1503196526
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503196526

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503196526
Reply with quote  #2

1503196526
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
AngelusWebDesign
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 06:07:03 AM
 #2

I've never used the PCI-->PCIe cables.  But as a matter of fact, I bet few others have either -- Cablesaurus didn't have them even 1 week ago.  So I doubt many people have experience with them.

Generally the problem with PIII computers would be the lack of PCI-E slots. But the CPU could probably handle running a video card, all other things being adequate (PSU, etc.)

Samantha2011
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 08:46:57 AM
 #3

PIII motherboards would only support AGP graphics cards as far as I know.
Zagitta
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 04:57:49 PM
 #4

PIII motherboards would only support AGP graphics cards as far as I know.

Read the topic...

Anyway yes PCI -> PCI-E adaptors work fine Smiley I have a old xeon (P4) server running with an adaptor and a asus 5850 card @ 400mhash/s so overclocking and overvolting works just fine Smiley
the only problem i had was that i needed to short 2 pins on the adaptor because the motherboard wouldn't register the card while also using a 1x extender but otherwise you should be fine
shivansps
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 06:11:07 AM
 #5

PCI to pci-e adapters works fine.

BUT some cards(6xxx) do not work well on old mbs.

I dont recomend to place more than 1 VGA on PCI slots... you may kill the MB, remember that each card still takes 75W from the PCI-E slot.

1NEvmZTwLhqBgr3h7LwZap1sEHsyf3QFuv
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!