Bitcoin Forum
April 26, 2018, 05:52:43 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: PIII  (Read 1275 times)
shakaru
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250


QUIFAS EXCHANGE


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 05:49:18 AM
 #1

Ok, Looking in my old tech, I got some dell PIII's. Now I was woundering if I bought some Pci -> PCIe cards from CablesRus, would it run or is the p3 setup just rediculous.

Disregard any argument as to cost, power, or any income factor. Just will it run, and would a 5830 run at full speed?

                             ▄▄▄████████▄▄▄
                         ▄▄██████████████████▄▄
                       ▄███████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███████▄
                     ▄█████▄▄██████████████▄▄█████▄
        ██████  █████████▄████████████████████▄█████
        ██████  ███████▄████████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄████████▄████
                      ▄██████▀████████████▀██████▄████
███████   █████████████████████████████████████████████
███████   █████████████████████████████████████████████
                   ████████████████████████████████████
     ██████████████████████████████████████████████████
     ██████████████████████████████████████████████████
                     █████████████████████████████████
            ██████████▀██████▄████████████▄██████▀████
            ███████████▀████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀███████▄███
                    █████▀████████████████▄▀██████▄
                     ▀█████▀▀██████████████▀██▀██████▄
                       ▀███████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀███████▀▀▀▀▀▀
                         ▀▀██████████████████▀▀
                             ▀▀▀████████▀▀▀
QUIFAS                    
                    ███
 █              ███ ███
 █              ███  █
███          █  ███
███         ███  █
███  █      ███  █
    ███  █  ███  █
    ███ ███  █   █
     █   █   █
     █      
1524765163
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524765163

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524765163
Reply with quote  #2

1524765163
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1524765163
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524765163

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524765163
Reply with quote  #2

1524765163
Report to moderator
1524765163
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524765163

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524765163
Reply with quote  #2

1524765163
Report to moderator
1524765163
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524765163

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524765163
Reply with quote  #2

1524765163
Report to moderator
AngelusWebDesign
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 06:07:03 AM
 #2

I've never used the PCI-->PCIe cables.  But as a matter of fact, I bet few others have either -- Cablesaurus didn't have them even 1 week ago.  So I doubt many people have experience with them.

Generally the problem with PIII computers would be the lack of PCI-E slots. But the CPU could probably handle running a video card, all other things being adequate (PSU, etc.)

Samantha2011
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 08:46:57 AM
 #3

PIII motherboards would only support AGP graphics cards as far as I know.
Zagitta
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 272
Merit: 100


Get Paid to Play your Media on Current


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 04:57:49 PM
 #4

PIII motherboards would only support AGP graphics cards as far as I know.

Read the topic...

Anyway yes PCI -> PCI-E adaptors work fine Smiley I have a old xeon (P4) server running with an adaptor and a asus 5850 card @ 400mhash/s so overclocking and overvolting works just fine Smiley
the only problem i had was that i needed to short 2 pins on the adaptor because the motherboard wouldn't register the card while also using a 1x extender but otherwise you should be fine

shivansps
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 501


The future is your Genome


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 06:11:07 AM
 #5

PCI to pci-e adapters works fine.

BUT some cards(6xxx) do not work well on old mbs.

I dont recomend to place more than 1 VGA on PCI slots... you may kill the MB, remember that each card still takes 75W from the PCI-E slot.


.LET'S CHANGE GLOBAL HEALTHCARE TOGETHER.

JOIN OUR TOKEN CAMPAIGN!


                     ▄▄▄█████████▄▄▄
                 ▄▄████▀▀▀▀     ▀▀▀▀██▄▄
              ▄████▀                   ▀█▄▄
           ▄███▀       ▄████████▄         ▀▀
       ▄▄███▀        ▄███▀                 
    ▄▄███▀          ████   ▄███████▄                  ▄▄
 ▄▄█▀▀▀              ▀███▄       ▀███▄               ▄█▀
▀▀                     ▀███████▀   ████          ▄▄██▀
                                 ▄███▀        ▄▄██▀
               ▄▄          ▀███████▀       ▄██▀▀
                ▀█▄▄                  ▄▄███▀▀
                   ▀███▄▄▄▄    ▄▄▄▄████▀▀
                      ▀▀▀█████████▀▀▀


 ▄███████  ██    ██  ██  ██      ██  ▄███████▄   ▄████▄▄████▄
▐██        ██    ██  ██  ███    ███ ▐██▀   ▀██▌ ▐██   ██   ██▌
 ▀██████▄  ████████  ██  ▀███  ███▀ ▐██     ██▌ ▐██   ██   ██▌
       ██▌ ██    ██  ██    ██████   ▐██▄   ▄██▌ ▐██   ██   ██▌
 ███████▀  ██    ██  ██     ▀██▀     ▀███████▀  ▐██   ██   ██▌



██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
▄█▀        ▀█▄
██▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀ ██
▐█▀▀▀▀▀▀   ▄█▌
 ▀▀█▄▄   ▄█▀▀
     ▀▄█▀▀
   ▄█▀▀ ▀█▄
 ▄█▀ ▄▄▄▄▄██▄
██ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
▐█          █▌
 ▀█▄ ▀▀▀▀▀██▀
   ▀█  ▄▄█▀
    ▄▄█▀
  ▄██▄▄▄▄▀█▄
▄█▀        ▀█▄
██▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀ ██
 ▀▀        ▀▀
TELEGRAM     MEDIUM    WECHAT
DISCORD     ANN THREAD    SLACK
TWITTER     FACEBOOK     REDDIT
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!