Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 02:41:36 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Anyone experienced wanna team up for a Super Power Mining ?  (Read 2843 times)
kruman4u
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 06:14:50 AM
 #1

I might be new here, but definitely not new to hosting industry. So if I m gonna do mining I m gonna do it in a very professional manner. I m willing to put up 2 X of the following server 100% dedicated for mining purpose only to start with. If ROI is in a timely manner I can put up more.

So here goes the config (Each of these will cost about $15K which I m ready to buy)

4 Double-Width GPUs:
4x NVIDIA Fermi C2070 GPU Cards (SYS-7046GT-TRF-FC407)
Dual Quad Intel® Xeon® processor 5600 series
Dual Intel® 5520 chipset with QPI up to 6.4 GT/s each
32GB DDR3 1333/1066/800 MHz ECC Registered DIMM
Dual LAN with Intel® 82574L Gigabit Ethernet controller
Redundant 1400W Gold Level high-efficiency power supply

1481424096
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481424096

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481424096
Reply with quote  #2

1481424096
Report to moderator
1481424096
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481424096

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481424096
Reply with quote  #2

1481424096
Report to moderator
1481424096
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481424096

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481424096
Reply with quote  #2

1481424096
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481424096
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481424096

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481424096
Reply with quote  #2

1481424096
Report to moderator
1481424096
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481424096

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481424096
Reply with quote  #2

1481424096
Report to moderator
phorensic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
June 23, 2011, 06:53:34 AM
 #2

Le-sigh.  Nvidia cards are orders of magnitude slower than AMD cards, even if they are the professional class cards.  What exactly are the Dual Quad Xeon's going to help?  And 32GB of RAM?  You know that a celeron and 512MB of DDR could effectively feed a couple of the fastest AMD cards out there, right?  I think you need to do a bit more research on what hardware is necessary for mining rigs.  We aren't building a database server here, nor are we building a Pixar rendering server.  You can use a nice 4u case, a nice motherboard, and put in a nice processor, but seriously, $15k for one rig?  You should be shooting for under $2,000.
vlad84
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1



View Profile
June 23, 2011, 07:21:11 AM
 #3

Most stupid config i cant imagin. Read faqs first!

4 x 5870
LeFBI
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
June 23, 2011, 08:05:56 AM
 #4

the config looks like you oriented on Amazon's EC2 "Cluster GPU Quadruple Extra Large Instance" setup Smiley

4x NVIDIA Fermi C2070 GPU Cards (SYS-7046GT-TRF-FC407)
Don't do that, you will waste your hard earned money! Nvidia cards (even Fermi) are very good for CAD,FEM calculations and simulations but NOT for massively parallelized hashing! For mining you will be better off with ATI cards. Also check prices, it doesn't need to be the latest ATI card to get the best GPU-price/Hashrate ratio.

You can find lists of hashrates on the forum, for example here:
http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=18355.0

And you may also kick those oversized Xeons, focus on the GPUs and don't waste too much money on the CPUs
pengram
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12



View Profile
June 23, 2011, 10:56:01 AM
 #5

having so much RAM and such hungry processor just leads to less profit due to power consumption

ill suggest 4 gigs of ram and 3Ghz quad core processor for 4 videocards, and dualcore for 2 videocards,
you may think it doesn't matter but actually i had 5% mhash/s improvement buying better CPU, and i'm mining only on GPU's.
Vladimir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812


-


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 10:58:19 AM
 #6

I might be new here, but definitely not new to hosting industry. So if I m gonna do mining I m gonna do it in a very professional manner. I m willing to put up 2 X of the following server 100% dedicated for mining purpose only to start with. If ROI is in a timely manner I can put up more.

So here goes the config (Each of these will cost about $15K which I m ready to buy)

4 Double-Width GPUs:
4x NVIDIA Fermi C2070 GPU Cards (SYS-7046GT-TRF-FC407)
Dual Quad Intel® Xeon® processor 5600 series
Dual Intel® 5520 chipset with QPI up to 6.4 GT/s each
32GB DDR3 1333/1066/800 MHz ECC Registered DIMM
Dual LAN with Intel® 82574L Gigabit Ethernet controller
Redundant 1400W Gold Level high-efficiency power supply

Goog luck with that  m8.

-
Opsamk
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 10:59:24 AM
 #7

Powerful system indeed, but that is the worst rig you can possibly use for bitmining.

1FaTKKYFBtrDfn558AbgbVcmgjsV7SLzk9

Feeling generous? Send me some bits Smiley
checkmate
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57



View Profile
June 23, 2011, 11:33:44 AM
 #8

This is funny, because NVIDIA cards suck major dick when it comes to BTC mining  Cheesy

Donate if you plan to finance a future global-troll

1HJHUvfabpVi3hWUxtJMfmfrktfS8vFCCB
pengram
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12



View Profile
June 23, 2011, 10:55:16 PM
 #9

Powerful system indeed, but that is the worst rig you can possibly use for bitmining.
true that. however, good that he posted here Smiley imagine blowing that money for these CPU's instead of amd videocards Smiley
i won't be able to sleep for weeks  Shocked  Roll Eyes  Lips sealed  Tongue for the same price u'd be able to do 14 000 Mhash/s or even more which is about 14 coins per day and that's about 280 usd daily lol not to mention it will become 420 usd daily if btc price goes up to $30, which is expected as difficulty increases
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
June 23, 2011, 11:13:17 PM
 #10

More experienced miners have already built much better mining systems, maximizing GPU power per watt. Read the forum more...




pengram
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12



View Profile
June 23, 2011, 11:20:25 PM
 #11

More experienced miners have already built much better mining systems, maximizing GPU power per watt. Read the forum more...
http://i.imgur.com/ffP1Q.jpg
http://www.secondarymind.com/btc/DSC00114.JPG



u talking to me ? if yes, based on what?
btw am i blind or the second image has only 3x PCI-Express slots connected?

in the case, a newbie tells a newbie to read the forum, but the first newbie speaks only to increase his posts count without providing any useful links/info , which reminds me of 1 word - trolling.
NISMOkwim
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


Do it to it!!!!


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 11:30:42 PM
 #12

More experienced miners have already built much better mining systems, maximizing GPU power per watt. Read the forum more...
http://i.imgur.com/ffP1Q.jpg
http://www.secondarymind.com/btc/DSC00114.JPG



Where in the forum did you find these beauties?
I'd like to see some of the most optimized systems, any links?

Feeling a little tipsy? ---> 18PUkwfK5zEWtm9R7Xb4vmfWafXX5pM9NN
vegaman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 11:37:51 PM
 #13

Where in the forum did you find these beauties?
I'd like to see some of the most optimized systems, any links?

Cablesaurus is designing a chassis and planning to sell it. He also sells the extender cables you see in the photo.
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
June 23, 2011, 11:43:16 PM
 #14

More experienced miners have already built much better mining systems, maximizing GPU power per watt. Read the forum more...

u talking to me ? if yes, based on what?
btw am i blind or the second image has only 3x PCI-Express slots connected?

The 'learn more about mining hardware' is directed at the original poster.

The picture does have a 1x pcie still unconnected to it's card, maybe the builder is waiting for his 1x -> 16x pcie extension cable. Mining GPUs can run off 1x pci express slots nearly as efficiently, they just can't plug in without an adapter or cutting the back of the slot off.

Here's the thread with extension cables so you can do this too: http://forum.bitcoin.org/?topic=6128.0

Here's another optimized ATI GPU machine, Whitepixel http://blog.zorinaq.com/?e=42. It can crack all the 8 letter or less passwords out of a MD5 password file in about two hours.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!